We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dimitri's Restaurant

Dimitri's Restaurant
6334 West Saginaw Hwy, at Creyts, Lansing, MI 48917
517-323-6867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 366 Restaurants in Lansing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Family Fare, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: “In Delta Township, Dimitri's atmosphere has transformed into a casual space where frazzled professionals find a quiet retreat, families gather to celebrate graduations, or grown children treat their parents to a relaxing dinner with no cleanup.” It's expanded menu and dinner service offer a little more refinement versus the old days, but you'll still find your favorite menu items (and more) to fill your body with the energy it needs from a great meal.
East Lansing
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Best breakfast ever! Best hashbrowns I've ever had! Soooo miss going to breakfast there all the time when they were downtown. Now that they've moved to the West side of Lansing can't get there nearly as often as we'd like to! :(

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak, Alaska
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on the West Side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This place isn't really anything fancy. Just a classic mom and pop diner. They always have great service and good food though. Very comfortable atmosphere. The food isn't anything too extravagant, but it is always good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Breakfast Champion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We found ample breakfast choices with a few uncommon options, eg., sweet potato tater tots. Portion sizes were more than enough for the three of us. Service was informal, yet attentive and prompt; the owner stopped by to check on our satisfaction and invited us to return. The food items were successfully prepared to our specification. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Still as Good as Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dimitri's new location on Saginaw St. carries over the terrific Detroit-style coneys that they're famous for, and has some additional items on the menu. I used to frequent their downtown location for lunch when I worked nearby. It was a cafeteria type setup at the time. The new location is a sit-down, order from the menu, family restaurant. Now that I'm retired, I still occasionally drive the 60 miles or so to have a couple of their coney island hot dogs. Their coney sauce is like no other, and their chili cheese fries are to die for (although, I can't reconcile them to my weight-loss diet, unfortunately). Dimitri is always on hand to greet his regulars. Great place for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greek omelette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spinach, tomato and feta .... excellent. Try the homemade rice pudding as well. And what a welcoming atmosphere. Dimitri was born to host!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dimitri's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dimitri's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimitri's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.