We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great zoo for the younger kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Potter Park Zoo

Potter Park Zoo
1301 S. Pennsylvania Avenue, Lansing, MI 48912
517-483-4222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 41 Attractions in Lansing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit more than 100 species of animals, many of which are endangered, including Black Rhinos, Siberian Tigers, Red Pandas and Snow Leopards.
Lapeer, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great zoo for the younger kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

So I was trying to decide where to take our kids for a zoo- trip, narrowed between Detroit zoo and Potter park. 3 kids aged 4, 7, and 9 and I, checked prices on-line.....chose Potter Park much less costly. $5 to park, non-resident of Lansing. Cost under $25.00 for the 4 of us for admission. Great exhibits, animals were quite active and present. Great zoo for my kid's age group. Took about 3 hours to stroll leisurely, lunch of hotdogs and popcorn and a trip to the gift shop. Whole trip cost under $100. Great day trip to the zoo.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    72
    24
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I've been to most of the big zoos in Michigan and i feel safe in saying that this is the second best i have been too. The animals are really cool and it is a stereotypical zoo with tons of flowers and cool animals. Animals such as Lions,Rhinos, Red pandas,and lemurs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

What a wonderful zoo! All of the flowers were in bloom. All of the animal habitats looked so natural and comfortable. I would say that if I was an animal in captivity I would want to live at Potter Park Zoo! We had 2 young children in tow and the oldest said "best day ever!" Our favorite was the canary and cockatiel enclosure. You get to be right in with the birds! For $1 you can feed them with seed sticks and they are really eager! At our local zoo the have a similar "attraction" but we rarely get a bird to eat our stick. The birds were relaxed and the kids were soo thrilled that we actualy spent $10!! Feeding the birds haha. This was a beautiful park and they had a wonderful playground outside the zoo along with pavilions. Had we known all of that we would have packed a picnic. There is a petting farm and exotic animals. The bathrooms could use a remodel and possibly a few more added. The one we finally came across didnt even have a changing table in it. We will be back! We spent gour hours here. It was worth ebery penny! The reptile house and aviary were great Nd they had another building where you could get up close to the big cats.LOVE THIS PLACE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“they are trying, but....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

They are a small zoo and you can tell they are trying to do their best, but the animals are obviously unhappy. In the spider monkey area one of the monkeys just kept going around in circles as there was nothing else for him to do. The lions and tigers also didn't have anything to play with and just sat there staring into space. I've been to other zoos where the animals have toys like balls and they looked much happier. The theme of not having anything to interact with was the same for almost every exhibit here. I understand they want to conserve as many animals as possible, but sometimes more is not better and this is one of them.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Potter Park Zoo is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been to the Potter Park Zoo, several time, during the past few years. There is something for everyone. There is a barnyard, as well as some less common animals that we don't usually see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potter Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Potter Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potter Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.