We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Lansing West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Lansing West to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 West Saginaw Highway, Lansing, MI 48917-1104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Lansing
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We decided to stay at the West Lansing location because it seemed closer to the highway.

The front staff wasn't super friendly, but it was later at night, so she may have been tired. The room was clean enough, but we didn't put any of our luggage on the floor because the carpet didn't appear to be in the best shape.

There was plenty of hot water and the beds were good enough to get a good night sleep. The morning staff were very friendly and were quick to make fresh coffee when notified they were running out.

For the price, I felt we got the value of our money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Lansing West location. I'm happy to hear you were happy with your stay. I will be sure share this with my staff. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
13
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpena, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed at this location many times over the years, and they never disappoint. The people are great and go out of the way to make you feel like family. The guests are the same way, everyone is so friendly! Room is cheap and clean!

Room Tip: Get a second floor room, they are always better, and less used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Lansing West location. We really appreciate the great comments, I will be sure to share them with my team. We truly thank you for your repeat business, and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel has gone down the hill. First room did not have working air conditioning. There were stains on bedspread in both rooms. People partying and cars coming and going at 4:30am. It appreared that some people were living there with their children. Children were begging for money for the candy machine. I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing Red Roof Inn, I'm very sorry you had a bad experience with us. I can assure you that the issues mentioned will be address immediately. This location is normally very quiet. Thank you again, and please contact me personally next time you are in the area, and I will assure you a great, quiet, clean room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottville, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The property was cleanboth outside as well as my room. The manager and her staff went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable and all staff memebers I ran into on the property made a point to greet me. This is one of my favorite places to stay when I am in the Lansing Area for business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband, two children and I stayed at the Red Roof Inn for four nights. The rooms were in excellent condition and were clean. The hotel is in a quiet location, so sleeping was no problem. The location is great as there are lots of restaurant and fast food places nearby. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I'm glad to hear you had a good stay, and enjoyed your room. I'll be sure to share the review with the rest of the team. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here from April 10 to the 12th of 2013. Before we even arrived for our stay, I had found out my credit card was charged for more than what the internet invoice quoted me. I had to call the hotel to have that corrected. After our arrival my friend and I were very upset in the cleanliness of the room and the lobby. From black fingerprints on walls, hairs in tub, filthy bedspreads, and floors not well vacummed, to the lobby looking like the floor hadn't been attended to in days, it was really disgusting. I did not report it to the person behind the desk because it seemed that the events going on with the employee/family member was more important than my stay. I have stayed here before and had a very clean room, clean lobby, and great staff attention. I did take pictures that I have decided not to show in fairness to the manager whom after I did a Red Roof survey, made it right. I also waited to write this review because I wanted to be fair. I do not know if I will stay at this Red Roof again because it was just that bad. I have stayed at many others that have been worth the price for the night. If everything had been better I would have written that the price at about $60 per night was good. I guess to be fair if your room is not clean and the staff ignores your presence, make yourself known and lodge the complaint. I will say this manager seems to care and after finding out about my stay, did make things right.

Room Tip: Check your invoices and your room before you stay!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I'm glad I was able to assure you about my genuine care and appathy to your situation. I have made some changes since April and hope you will give us another try! Please contact me directly and I'd be more than happy to make sure your next stay is 100%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing mi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

the desk clerks have a great knowledge of the area and what activies were going on during our stay,nice places to eat ,around the area,the housekeepers need alittle more work on cleaness for each room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Lansing West location. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Lansing West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lansing West

Address: 7412 West Saginaw Highway, Lansing, MI 48917-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lansing West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Red Roof Inn is 100% Smoke-Free and conveniently located just 6 miles from Capital City Airport, 10 minutes from downtown Lansing and 15 minutes from Michigan State University. The Inn is located near a wide variety of restaurants and plenty of local shopping and offers free Wifi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms. Recently renovated in July of 2012 with all new carpet, beds, and top of the line linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lansing West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lansing West Hotel Lansing
Lansing Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Lansing West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.