We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently renovated rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Lansing West

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Lansing West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7412 West Saginaw Highway, Lansing, MI 48917-1104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Lansing
Yardley, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recently renovated rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband, two children and I stayed at the Red Roof Inn for four nights. The rooms were in excellent condition and were clean. The hotel is in a quiet location, so sleeping was no problem. The location is great as there are lots of restaurant and fast food places nearby. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I'm glad to hear you had a good stay, and enjoyed your room. I'll be sure to share the review with the rest of the team. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
12
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here from April 10 to the 12th of 2013. Before we even arrived for our stay, I had found out my credit card was charged for more than what the internet invoice quoted me. I had to call the hotel to have that corrected. After our arrival my friend and I were very upset in the cleanliness of the room and the lobby. From black fingerprints on walls, hairs in tub, filthy bedspreads, and floors not well vacummed, to the lobby looking like the floor hadn't been attended to in days, it was really disgusting. I did not report it to the person behind the desk because it seemed that the events going on with the employee/family member was more important than my stay. I have stayed here before and had a very clean room, clean lobby, and great staff attention. I did take pictures that I have decided not to show in fairness to the manager whom after I did a Red Roof survey, made it right. I also waited to write this review because I wanted to be fair. I do not know if I will stay at this Red Roof again because it was just that bad. I have stayed at many others that have been worth the price for the night. If everything had been better I would have written that the price at about $60 per night was good. I guess to be fair if your room is not clean and the staff ignores your presence, make yourself known and lodge the complaint. I will say this manager seems to care and after finding out about my stay, did make things right.

Room Tip: Check your invoices and your room before you stay!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I'm glad I was able to assure you about my genuine care and appathy to your situation. I have made some changes since April and hope you will give us another try! Please contact me directly and I'd be more than happy to make sure your next stay is 100%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing mi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

the desk clerks have a great knowledge of the area and what activies were going on during our stay,nice places to eat ,around the area,the housekeepers need alittle more work on cleaness for each room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Lansing West location. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

First off, I got a great night's sleep here (which is important when I travel for work). Nice & quiet. The room was a little cramped, but not too bad.

The bad: Stayed 6 nights - got the room cleaned once. After a couple of nights without service, I had to get more clean towels from the front desk, and mentioned that we hadn't gotten our room cleaned. Didn't get a cleaning the rest of the stay, and on a hectic schedule, so i didn't have the time or energy to keep begging for service. Also, the "breakfast" is next to nothing, with one tiny table in front of the check-in desk to eat. On 2 of the mornings, there was no regular coffee. They don't start making more until someone mentions that the pot is empty, and business travelers just don't have time to wait. At other hotels, you can make a cup or 2 in your room, but this place doesn't have that, so you're at the mercy of the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Lansing West location. I'm glad you enjoyed the quiet area. I'm sorry to hear about your housekeeping experience, I will be sure to address this issue! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, and it's upsetting to hear when we have an issue. Also, we are working on getting coffee pots in all of our room, currently we only have them in our All Inclusive King rooms. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was traveling with someone and they did the check in, check out so no comment on that.

There is a Motel 6 next door but for the extra few dollars we decided to get a ‘nice’ room. The motel is the typical Red Roof layout, the rooms are nothing special, but the beds, bedding, etc would meet the standards of the Holiday Inn (I think). Even for someone as cheap as me, it was well worth the price of the room to have a nice bed and a good nights sleep.

No pictures on this one, the other person had their stuff laying all over the room by the time I got there.

No breakfast or pool, I like that. I am only paying for what I am using.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I will be sure to share your review with the rest of my team. We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our new beds. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed one night at this property after winning it on Priceline. I was impressed at the quality of the new furnishings for a budget hotel. The room was clean and the bed was especially comfortable. The staff member at the check-in desk was especially friendly. For a low-priced accommodation, I would be inclined to stay with Red Roof Inn in the future based on this experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to provide a great room at a low cost! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and was happy with what I found! If you want a place to stay during the week for under $60 a night this place is good. My room was updated, clean and nice. The bed was amazing and the sheets and towels were all clean. I dealt with 3 employees during my stay and all were very helpful and nice. The outside does need some updates but I see from a previous post this is going to be addressed this summer. The room was small but comfy. There is no massive breakfast spread and no pool but if your looking for a place to sleep that is clean and safe and do not want to spend $100+ a night I would check this place out. I have to be in Lansing again next month and plan to return for three more nights!

My only minor complaint was the noise from outside. I was on the lower floor and everyone walking by could be heard and those walking by smoking smelled like they were in my room! I never asked to change floors/rooms so my fault for not asking. The outside door was old, thin, and did not close "airtight." I imagine this will be addressed this spring with exterior remodel items. If you're a light sleeper maybe ask for an upstairs room!

Overall very happy with my stay for what I paid! Thanks

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Lansing West location. We always strive to provide the very best for a reasonable price. As spring slowly approaches we are very excited to get outside and do some updates! Thank you again for the review, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Lansing West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lansing West

Address: 7412 West Saginaw Highway, Lansing, MI 48917-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lansing
#8 Business Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lansing West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Red Roof Inn is 100% Smoke-Free and conveniently located just 6 miles from Capital City Airport, 10 minutes from downtown Lansing and 15 minutes from Michigan State University. The Inn is located near a wide variety of restaurants and plenty of local shopping and offers free Wifi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms. Recently renovated in July of 2012 with all new carpet, beds, and top of the line linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lansing West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lansing West Hotel Lansing
Lansing Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Lansing West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.