We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Champps Americana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Champps Americana
2800 Preyde Blvd, Lansing, MI 48912
517-267-9306
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 392 Restaurants in Lansing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Champps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I like going to Chammps and oftentimes have meetings with clients there because the establishment is spacious and they have a banquet room for use during the day. The service is always good when you first walk in.
My favorite meals are any of the salads. The beverages are great and bartender, Danny. The manager Justin is also fantastic always making sure that your meal is just right. The edition of new items and drinks to the menu also helps keep it fresh.
During sports events on television, don't expect to have a nice quiet dinner. Nights are noisy. They cater to the sports crowd and have plenty of televisions to watch them on.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Noisy, but I like the salads.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I don't go here often as it is often noisy and crowded. I usually order one of their specialty salads which are tastey. There is a "banquet room" that is great to accomodate small parties and have been to several in that room. Also, our office sometimes meets for happy hours and share appitizers. It's casual and convenient location just outside Eastwood Towne Center.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Has improved over past few years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I went here a long time ago and wasn't impressed. It was like a bigger T.G.I.Friday's. But I went with our family and then back again with some friends over the past couple of years and was impressed by the changes. Service was better, menu was revamped, and pricing did not increase. I think this is a fun place to grab a good, well-priced dinner and beer when you want a casual night out or want to keep one eye on the game. It's also not a bad place to bring kids.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another favorite has emerged...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Good daily specials and variety on menu. Especially love the battered cod sandwich

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ok sports bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I'm part of a group of co-workers who meet every Friday for happy hour. We tried Champps to watch basketball, have snacks and drinks. It was okay. One of the giant TV's had a couple of blank spaces so you could never really watch the game completely. The food was fine. Drinks were a little pricey. Our waitress was kind of rude, complained to us about the people next to us sitting in the aisle and trying to rush us out after about 45 min. We'll probably go somewhere else next time that has a more welcoming feel.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Americana also viewed

 

Been to Champps Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champps Americana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.