We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From another time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Inn
15281 Lakeshore Rd, Lakeside, MI 49116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lakeside
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“From another time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The details....stayed Friday Oct 18th, off-season, 3rd floor room, paid $115. We're in our mid 40
's, well traveled, from Chicago, Detroit and NY so have been around.

This is an older Inn, it is not young, it is not pretentious, it is well worn, small in places, expansive in others, therein lies its appeal. If you are looking for them you will find flaws like fading paint, tired furniture, outdated fixtures but in the essentials of security, comfort, friendliness and charm it is a winner.

Of course it's creaky and dark it's over 100 years old and loves itself so you can too! Chill out people!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, DE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There was one person who ran the Inn, and they were present between 10am and 10pm. If you needed anything outside of those hours, you are out of luck.

The floors were wood. Not hardwood, just wood. They creaked, loudly, whenever you walked. I heard everything that everyone else was doing and saying, and it kept me up all night.

The room contained a double bed, a 1950s radio, two rocking chairs, and a dresser. Nothing else. I mean NOTHING. For example, there was no shampoo, conditioner, lotion, hair dryer, NO MIRROR, iron, ironing board, cell phone service, and alarm clock (or any clock). A train passed at about 5:30am, and leaned on the whistle for a while. Around 7am, there were squirrels fighting in the wall of my room, so that woke me up, and I didn't sleep too late.

The bathroom (which had a shower stall, not a bath) was tiny, and I couldn't sit on the toilet facing forwards because the room was too small.

There is "rustic" and then there's just cheap. This was way beyond rustic. I have stayed at hostels that were nicer than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakeside hotels

krixster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Me and my husband went here for our "minimoon" right after we got married in August. We stayed in the Treetop room for 3 nights and it was amazing. The private beach access is really the best part. We watched the sunset over Lake Michigan every night, had fires on the beach at night, swam and relaxed all day...it was awesome. The Inn itself was great. Not super fancy but comfortable, quiet and relaxing. The wi-fi is definitely slow, however, and there are no TVs in the rooms, so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: The Treetop Room is where it's at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Extremely outdated small room..very dark and old...slanted roof made it difficult to stand up straight..I just wanted to go to sleep and forget about where I was...the reason we choose the Lakeside Inn was because of its proximity to Lake Michigan..we have been to many inns and hotels bed and breakfast
S but this one was the worst

Room Tip: Great location but not an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having read all of the tripadvisor reviews we knew exactly what to expect when we stayed here, and that's exactly what we got. This building is like a well-loved piece of furniture that has seen better days but that you can't help loving for the nostalgia of it. We stayed in room 28 which was a very good size with a comfy king bed (nice soft cotton sheets, decent pillows) and a refrigerator (many rooms are smaller with smaller beds and no frig, so check the descriptions). None of the rooms have an actual view of the lake in the summertime (maybe some do in winter), but that was OK with us. The room had A/C provided through a wall unit which was a little noisy but worked well. The inn does serve breakfast but it is not included in the room price -- although prices are very reasonable and the food (french toast, fresh fruit, yogurt) was quite good. The inn was not serving lunch or dinner while we were there, but we were there to attend a wedding and the inn's catering company did an excellent job -- the food was great. The inn provides complimentary coffee and tea all day until 6pm. You can also get beach towels at the front desk although if you want a nice plush one you should bring your own or buy one there (they do sell them at the front desk). One thing to note: the inn does not serve alcohol, so if you want to enjoy a beer or a glass of wine, bring your own. Also, do not bother asking for an early check-in or late checkout, they absolutely do not accommodate them under any circumstances. The walk to and from the beach was not as big a deal as we had been led to believe -- yes there are about 100 stairs, but the path is paved, there's a hand railing, and it's through the woods -- and when you get to the beach it's absolutely gorgeous with virtually no people on it. We got to see an incredible sunset one night, and the walk back up to the inn was not difficult for anyone who is capable of climbing a few flights of stairs. It's fun to sit on the front porch in one of the rocking chairs and chat with friends over coffee in the morning. So yes, the floors do creak, and yes the bathrooms have some of the original fixtures and the towels are getting a bit frayed, but we would come back in a heartbeat if we were in the area. There's just something about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

While there is some rustic charm, there is a lot of broken-down-ness to the Inn and the house of 11 gables next door. In a house that supposedly sleeps 10, we tried to sleep well with 7 people and it was tough. There are antiquated springy mattresses on the very small beds. One out of two toilets hardly worked (after having maintenance work on it twice) and the other one was not great. The shower has mold.

While the dining room has a beautiful copper table, the kitchen is pretty crummy and the living room is hard surfaces--a rattan couch, and wood rockers. Cute, but not comfortable.

I suspect there are lots of nicer places to stay near New Buffalo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Rockers on the porch and swings for relaxing, lodge like atmosphere, definitely a throw back to a time of no tv, internet, or cell phone usage. 150 steps to the water down a pretty steep hill.
Didn't learn that the toilet in our room was broken until 9:30 ish pm when we settled in for the night. Nothing gross, it just overflowed. We called the front desk and got a recorded message. So we went downstairs to the front desk and saw a post it note that said to call #103 or see the night manager in room #3. No one was in room #3, no one answered the phone at #103 except again a recorded message. There was a book in our room that gave some 'alternative' phone numbers. Called a couple of times then when we finally reached someone, he was huffy but said he would be there in 15 minutes. Around 10:30 I had two elderly gentlemen crammed in our tiny bathroom violently plunging. One of them kept flushing making water run all over the floor. There was definitely comic relief in the conversation we listened to for half an hour but after a day of travel and the beach, humor was fading. We inquired as to just moving to another room but received a harsh 'be patient it is only 8 pm' from the eldest man. I glanced at the watch on his wrist which had been put on upside down. It was 10:45. The other gentleman said they were booked and there were no other rooms. So we waited, more thrashing, then finally one of the men emerged sloshing mop and bucket. The oldest gentleman was still flushing the toilet over and over commenting on needing a plumber. We received instructions that a plumber would come at 10 am the next morning and given the plunger. We asked if it was usable tonight, the eldest gentleman said yes and proceeded to flush it again. Yup it flushed without spilling over, we thanked them and they left. The pictures attached are of the dried toilet paper stuck to the floor discovered the next morning. Also, our view less room and the dark hallways.
After a long night on a hard full size bed that passed it's prime decades ago with ancient polyester filled pillows and 100 count hole ridden sheets we were packed and out by 8 am.
I don't mind quirky or rustic but too many things have been unchecked at what probably was a grand resort once upon a time. Now it is in need of basic amenities and at $180 a night, we really over paid.

Room Tip: Can only speak for room #31. Didn't eat in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 15281 Lakeshore Rd, Lakeside, MI 49116
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lakeside
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Lakeside
Lakeside Inn Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lakeside Inn to your Saves list