We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location with private beach and great history, interesting non chain quirks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Inn
Save
You added Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
15281 Lakeshore Rd, Lakeside, MI 49116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Thorne Bay, Alaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely location with private beach and great history, interesting non chain quirks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel has a great location with a beautiful private beach on Lake Michigan. I generally dislike chain hotels and love going local - this inn had great historical charm. Negatives did include nothing fancy for the base room price - while charming, the bed and linens were nothing special and the shower was showing mold along the grouting that while didn't stop me from showering, it was enough that this foreign hostel surfing girl noted it. While there is a private beach, note also that it is down a trail across the street from the inn. Additional positives were neat vintage touches in the room, and everyone that worked there was SUPER nice and accommodating. Also very close to the local wineries.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
14
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was our second trip to the Lakeside Inn. I love that it is set back in a quiet neighborhood with lovely private beach access. We had Room #4 this time, ground floor room with a spa tub. While the room itself was clean, and the bathroom was okay, the tub looked dingy and I did not feel comfortable taking a bath in it. There was some caked dust on the telephone, tables, lamps, etc., but for the most part, the room was clean and tidy. (We were there just before the start of the high season, so perhaps they had not done a deep clean in a while?)

The staff was VERY personable and pleasant, ready to answer questions about the surrounding area, things to do, restaurants, etc. The lobby and ballroom are lovely. LOVED the wonderful rocker-lined expanse of a porch.

The steps down to the beach are just the tiniest bit precarious. We have no problem with them, but my father-in-law cannot take the stairs. They are just too steep for him.

Be aware, there is quiet time after 11 p.m., so if you plan to get rowdy, go elsewhere.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet. Also, there are no televisions in the rooms, but we were fine. It was raining, so we enjoyed the free wi-fi and watched Netflix instant streaming. Overall, we were happy with our stay and will most likely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I bid and won a "donated" certificate at an out of state function. It had limited usability, and when I called and spoke to the manager, she was less than friendly. Flying in from out of state, I explained that it would be hard to keep my reservation. I offered to pay the the difference between the low season rate and the high season rate if I could postpone my trip. The manager was not friendly, not helpful and refused to try to accomodate my request. Not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place is different than the quaint Inns of the area. For us, that was a good thing. It's gorgeous old woodwork and Arts & Crafts decor is charming and feels like an escape that normally would take 5 hours or a flight from Chicago. It's not for everyone, as it has some older fixtures and is not an all-new renovation. But it is a place that provides a charming woodsy charm to it. The front porch is fantastic, with porch swings and rocking chairs, and the cool breeze from the lake. The common areas have large fireplaces and are cozy on cool evenings. We'd recommend this hotel to some friends but not all. But for those who appreciate some of the things this place offers, it's a very special place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The fact that this place is still in business and actually fills up during the summer has everything to do with its location, and nothing to do with comfort, amenities or value. I'm sure that there are a few people who get a kick out of staying in old, threadbare hotels and like paying way too much money for the opportunity to peek at the past. They must find creaky floors, paper thin walls, tiny rooms, shabby furnishings, poor ventilation, and 1920 plumbing charming. Add a little nursing home smell to the bathroom, and you start getting the picture. The south shore of Lake Michigan in the Union Pier-New Buffalo area is a fun place. The beaches are the best in the Great Lakes and there are lots of places to stay. We made the mistake of trying to get a room at the last minute for the Labor Day weekend. All of our favorite places were booked as were others we might have chosen. So we took what was left. My advise. If everything else is full, bring a tent rather than stay at this place. You'll be more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We were travelling to Lakeside as a group and a member of pur party, a friend who has stayed there many times made the arrangements, so we did not question them. All we know is tahat is was a registered state historic landmark and fairly well located.
On the positive side, it is well located, fairly clean and the bed was comfortable . The food in the cafe was decent, although expensive for what you got.. The rooms had hardwood floors and not carpeting, which to us was a plus. We heard how thin the walls were, but did not experience any noise problems and the place appeared to be pretty full.
On the less than positive side, the rooms seem a drearly due to a lack of natural light and the window sizes as a result of the age of the building. The blinds were boken and could not be opened and when we opened a window to let in fresh air, the interior sash was loaded with cob webs. The AC unit was loud and the fins on the directional vent were broken and as a result rattled. The furniture is old and worn - under the guise of being "antique'. The bathroom lighting is poor as well as the lack of any amenities other than soap. The lavatory was old and stained, but clean and we did not see any mold in the bathroom as others had. We requested an iron and iron board one morning while heading to breakfast and when we returned it had been delivered. That was great to see, however, the iron was left on the dresser and leaked all over it, getting our books and magazines wet. Furthermore, it and the ironing board pad were dirty and as a result, soiled the clothing.
Any "charm" of the place was overwhelmed by platic signs in the rooms posted on the walls reminded guest of all the rules such as quiet hours, plumbing use, NO late check outs, fines, etc. This made it feel more like a sleazy hotel than family resort.
I guess our biggest problem with the place was paying $150 a night for no amenities. Not that we were going there to watch TV or listen to music, however we have stayed in much nicer places with more to offer for the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

there was a very rude housekeeper when i asked where the pop and ice was. After she told me and as a walked away she said stupid [--] becuase i
didn't know where it was a place like that dont need some one like that because it is such a nice place to relax plus she went looking for a tip before we left our room for cleaning !!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 15281 Lakeshore Rd, Lakeside, MI 49116
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Lakeside
Lakeside Inn Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.