We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the sweet roll - go for the bread pudding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Restaurant

Hilltop Restaurant
16181 Us Highway 41, L'Anse, MI 49946
906-524-7858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in L'Anse
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bakeries
Restaurant details
Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Forget the sweet roll - go for the bread pudding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Everybody talks about the sweet roll but the bread pudding is even better. It starts with the incredible sweet roll and is topped with a bourbon glaze. Very delicious! Note to vegetarians- they have a veggies burger. You can order it in place of any of the beef burger options. It was really good topped with the crispy onion tanglers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“o yea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

huge cinnamon rolls I always get the cinnamon roll French toast with custard wow it is delicious stop in and try one

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mio, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great home cooked type meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Large rolls served with your meal "HOT" with lots of butter. Great salad bar to complement meal. Large cinnamon rolls can take to go, because meals will fill you fast. Comfortable family setting to relax with your meal. A 10 on my list !!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Everyone stops at the Hilltop for their famous cinnamon rolls. One cinnamon roll is equal to an entire loaf of bread. A dinner roll is large enough to serve 4. We have always had good meals at the Hilltop and stop there often. The don't have a bar but they do serve alcohol. It's nice that you can have a drink before dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“All Around Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had relatives who shared pictures of the giant cinnamon rolls here. I swear they were 5” tall and as big around as my kid’s head. I definitely wanted one, so imagine my delight when I realized our travels would deposit us right on their doorstep! The cinnamon rolls were fresh and delicious and did not disappoint in any way. We even got a few to go. The breakfast also didn’t disappoint – fast delivery, hot, fresh, and just like the cinnamon rolls - huge. A good way to start a day of traveling! Great service and excellent prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltop Restaurant also viewed

L'Anse, Upper Peninsula
L'Anse, Upper Peninsula
 
L'Anse, Upper Peninsula
L'Anse, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Hilltop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.