We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, quiet, and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Lake Eastbrook Boulevard SE, Kentwood, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kentwood
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable, quiet, and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent a weekend here in August 2013. Was in town for a friend's wedding and 6 of us (groomsmen) split a two-bedroom suite. Enjoyed the breakfast--decent selection of hot and cold items. We used the fitness center, which is tiny and has one weight machine, one treadmill, and one bike--all are outdated machines, really in poor shape. The pool is small, but a good size hot tub and patio area. Got a great rate on the room. Good location, close to the airport.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices616, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Srbrim, Thank you for the review! We are so glad to know you enjoyed your stay with the other groomsmen. As a hotel we are continuously updating and improving in various ways and appreciate hearing the positive feedback. We will continue to aim for excellence and love hearing any further suggestions for the future. We hope to see you all back and are glad to know that your overall stay was positive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
10
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Staybridge Suites in Grand Rapids, Michigan from Friday, August 2 - Sunday August 4, 2013.

Unfortunately our experience with this property was negative in that we did not receive the accommodation we had reserved and paid for.

Our online reservation read: "We have reserved for you the following accommodations: Non-Smoking One Bedroom with Two Double Bed Suite."

Upon arrival however, we were given a Non-Smoking One Bedroom with a King Bed. As non-cohabitating adults of the same gender, we did not want to share a King Bed. When we returned to the desk to ask for the two double beds we had reserved, we were told that no room fitting our reservation description was available and that we should use the pullout in the living room as our second bed. This pullout "bed" was in deplorable condition (the mattress thin and worn, the metal frame so crooked that the mattress was on a 25 degree angle). One of us had to sleep with cushions under the frame to hold the "bed" level and with our feet propped up against the entertainment center. Every slight movement or pillow fluff triggered the sound of squeaking springs. We found the difference between a "double bed" and this sofa "bed" to be a good night's sleep.

Upon arrival, the woman at the front desk was very apologetic and referred us to the manager, Mitch Spence, to obtain a partial refund after our stay. Mr. Spence was, however, unwilling to partially refund us for the inconvenience of two sleepless nights on a contraption that in no way resembled a "bed." He maintained in a confusing email reply that as we had "made the reservation online" "room types are subject to change" that the "reservation was fulfilled." He referred us to the "rhetoric" of room descriptions and stated that "corporate" would not permit us a partial refund for not fulfilling our reservation. We respectfully disagree, and would like to warn other travelers to beware that the Staybridge Suite Grand Rapids may not honor the type of accommodation reserved. You'll want to avoid the sofa "bed" at all cost. Pack an air mattress just in case.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay. Upon review of your reservation it is clear that a specific room type was not reserved for your stay. We are dedicated to customer service and would have been more than happy to find accommodations elsewhere that were more satisfactory for your needs as we were sold out and had limited room type availability. A deluxe suite is based on that availability of rooms and without a specific room request it is difficult to know what is needed. We apologize for this inconvenience and only ask that rooms be booked specifically as needed online or through the hotel’s front desk staff as they are the most capable of handling requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent 3 weeks here in summer '13.
For what it offers and is, this is a good property.
Even though its close to the airport, it never seemed like an "airport hotel".
Many good eating places, some even close enough to walk (Its a safe area...no residential)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have mixed emotions about my stay at the Staybridge Grand Rapids/Kentwood.

At first I was impressed with the professional friendly young man who greeted me when I arrived. He told me I did not get the room I originally booked, but I had been "upgraded" to a room with two queen beds instead of the king I requested. When I asked him about putting me in the original room, a mysterious voice from behind the wall said they had to upgrade me as a matter of inventory. (As a Platinum PC member I was surprised to know a loyal customer was considered simply "inventory.") Anyway, after I asked again I was assigned a different room with the size bed I had originally booked. When I went to this room and looked at it, it was on the first floor, next to an exterior door with the bedroom window adjacent to the front parking lot. I went back to the desk and said No thanks. I'll take the upgraded room on a higher floor.

The room I received had several things in a state of disrepair.The kitchen area had cracked tiles, and the cooktop had not been cleaned around the burners. The light on the cooktop was always on, too. On my stove at home, the red light is a warning that the cooktop is on and the burner is hot. Perhaps this one was different, but it seemed wrong. Other areas of the room had some issues as well. In the bathroom the base of the tub was either very dirty or discolored from mildew. There were some sort of seeds on the carpet, so I assume it had not been carefully vacuumed. But, the bed linens were fresh and the pillows were comfortable so I was able to sleep.

In the hotel great room the food serving area is very tiny, and could be cramped when busy. During my mid-week stay the other guests were very polite and waited to take turns. I imagine it can get very crazy on the weekends, however. There is also no ice for the beverages. The host was very pleasant and gladly got it for me when I asked. The food was adequate and plentiful. I had to smile though when I went to place my dishes in the bus tub. There was a note posted to put food scraps and trash in the trash bin before placing the dishes in the tub. It reminded me of high school. (Of course I did it. I didn't want the cafeteria lady to come get me!)

Some general notes on the property: The location is good. The staff were very friendly and professional. (Except the mysterious voice behind the wall.) There are many restaurant choices nearby, but none of them are within comfortable walking distance. The hotel is in a quiet area set back from main road, and my GPS was right on the money.

As for my general thoughts... I slept okay, but I think I will be looking elsewhere on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear AnotherNiteOnTheRoad,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with the location of our hotel and our friendly and professional staff. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations with our facilities. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We value your comments and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I called after very rude treatment during check-in at the Hawthorne Suites (see that review). Danielle (I think), was very pleasant and helped making the reservation before a drove over. Check-in was very smooth. The suite was very clean and had everything you would ever need. The beds were comfortable, breakfast was excellent. They will get all my furture grand rapids business. Could not reccomend more.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went to visit our daughter who lives in Kentwood. We had our dog with us so we were concerned if we were going to get good service. The service was great. The one-bedroom suite with kitchen suited our needs. We were named Guest of the Day when we arrived, so we had breakfast delivered the next morning. The room was very comfortable and we were able to spread out since we were staying for a couple of days. Our dog's crate was next to our bed so he felt comfortable as well. All the people were very friendly and we will use this place again when we come back to Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Staybridge for visiting the Holland Tulip Festival. It was a short 35 minute drive. There were 2 couples and the 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms gave everyone enough space to relax. The traditional Staybridge amenities-Great Breakfast, Good Coffee, Fitness center, Free wifi and the evening meals all added to a great time. This was also very close to Meijer Gardens which is a must visit. Will be staying here on our next visit to Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are glad to be of convenience for you while visiting the area. There are always so many wonderful things to do in West Michigan in the spring, I am glad you had an opportunity to experience two of the best ones. Please visit us next time you are in the area and we will do our best to make it a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood

Address: 3000 Lake Eastbrook Boulevard SE, Kentwood, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Kentwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Michigan's West Coast! The Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids Airport hotel is only 3 miles from the Gerald R Ford International Airport! We are walking distance to dining, shopping at Woodland Mall & Centerpointe Mall, and entertainment at Celebration Cinema. This Grand Rapids hotel is only 10 minutes from downtown, where you'll find Van Andel Arena and Devos Place convention center. Our hotel is located near the ever beautiful Frederik Meijer Gardens. Staybridge guests enjoy a choice of three suite types: King Studio Suites, King One bedroom Suites, and we also have our 2 bedroom/2 bath Suites. All suites feature fully appointed kitchens, a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, and dishwasher. A complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet that features freshly-made golden malted waffles. We also provide a complimentary evening Sundowner reception Tuesday-Thursday, which includes different dinners with many of our other guests. Corporate travelers may also enjoy separate living and work areas complete with Free Wireless Internet, direct dial phone numbers, and voice mail. Get Comfortable at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids Airport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood Hotel Grand Rapids
Staybridge Suites Kentwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.