We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I expected more; as others noted, this looks like a former motel. Public areas could use a good cleaning, and the exterior is second rate. The room and bathroom was small but quite clean. Beds and pillows were comfy. The frig was a good size. Staff was attentive to needs except the breakfast team who left their area messy and poorly tended.

Room Tip: Choose a third floor room with interior hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    13
    22
    26
See reviews for
28
16
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It looks like it was formerly a motel. I was surprised that the bottom 2 floors of rooms were actually accessed from outside. The 3rd floor does have rooms that are accessed from the inside. But, it is a "nice" motel. The rooms were a little small and in the typical layout of motel rooms. But the furnishings were nice, everything was well maintained, and everything worked well. There was also a microwave and frig in the room. The frig was rather large for a motel room. Housekeeping did as good of a job as you will see at any good hotel.

The internet was decent. It was reliably available, but not as fast as I would have liked.

The staff was great. They were very helpful and courteous.

The breakfast was a little more than the average Fairfield. There were biscuits, sausage gravy, and sausage links every morning. That was in addition to the standard waffles, juices, coffee and bagels that you see in every Fairfield. What surprised me the most was dinner. On Monday through Friday they have dinner catered. I believe the schedule is Hooters on Monday, Lebanese (?) food on Tuesdays, italian on Wednesday and chinese on Thursdays. It was actually pretty good food.

Considering the rate was so good, it was way better than I expected. I would stay there again, especially if I was paying for it. The only reason I did not give the highest score is that it is a motel. I much prefer inside access to my room. Although the doors were very heavy and felt secure.

Room Tip: If you want inside access, get a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very nice,clean and friendly hotel. The staff was very nice upon arriving and helpful with all my questions, breakfast was great alot more than your normal continental breakfast. Bed was comfortable, and room was clean. I will stay here again the next time I am in Kalamazoo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Driving up to the hotel I thought, "Wow, there are still hotels with outside entrance-ways?" My initial impression was pretty negative, but I left pretty satisfied. I was on the second floor, and did not encounter any problems with noise. My room was cleaned every day, the bed was comfortable, shower, A/C, and appliances worked well, and the room was very clean in general. My only complaint was the ancient TV, but it still worked! The pool area was well kept and enjoyable, and the fitness room was surprisingly good and bigger than most I have seen. I did not utilize the free breakfast, but my parents did and said it was fine. Desk staff weren't overly friendly but were hospitable nonetheless. Location is pretty bad, with no real restaurants, bars, or even convenience stores within walking distance, although it is extremely accessible to the airport and highway. Overall I was happy with my stay, but wished there was a bit more to the surrounding area.

Room Tip: I imagine the rooms on the second floor are quieter than on the first floor due to cars driving up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My room is very small. It is an old Fairfield. It is not in the best area. There were 4 trucks outside my door last night changing tires in the parking lot. It is not up to Marriott standards.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place was a total disappointment. Very outdated decor. Outside corridors meant that there was constant traffic outside our door. Front desk staff was more interested in chatting than helping. They made a big deal on check-in that they had free Chinese food out in the lounge, but we found nothing except empty dishes. They told us they were sending out for pizzas, but we saw none. Breakfast was a free-for-all with no room to sit and dirty plates tumbling out of the garbage cans. We raced out for dinner so only quickly checked out the room, but when we returned from dinner we discovered dirty footprints all over the bathroom floor, which we cleaned up ourselves, since the front desk made no attempt to remedy, explaining that the maid probably walked over the damp floor after she cleaned it.Air conditioner not effective. We stayed for 2 nights (family visit), only because there were no other rooms to be had, and the 2nd day the bathroom was cleaner. There was a ton of furniture crammed into the room, which made it uncomfortable. It is not in a great area. Just not Marriott standard - felt like it was run by a bunch of kids with no training in hospitality.

Room Tip: High up, back from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

they charged twice for a movie when there equipment was having problems and they add 20 for an unknown charge.

The bed was lumpy.

I will never stay at this chain again or any of their sister sites. It is the honest thing. We stayed July 6th 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East

Address: 3800 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East)
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Fairfield Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.