We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a 2 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
STANTON
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great place for a 2 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here in Nov 2010 for a girls weekend. Great staff, good continental breakfast. Rooms were plenty clean. Anyone expecting a 4 star hotel will be disappointed. We have decided to return to Kalamazoo again this year for our getaway and will be staying here again. We also pricelined in and got it for $38.00. Can't beat that! If you are expecting a 2 star hotel you will be pleasantly suprised. Bennucci's across the street is a great restaurant with live entertainment on weekends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    17
    22
    28
See reviews for
32
22
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

I was not pleased at all with this hotel. You can hear highway noise everywhere in the hotel. Outdoor hallways, you can hear everyone walking by and no matter how you adjust the curtains, the room is lighted by the hall light.

The rooms were old. The outlets were all overloaded...some with 4 items plugged in. I could only find one open plug in the room. The toilet made a loud noise every 20 minutes. I talked to the front desk about this right away...they did absolutely nothing about it.

The fitted sheets did not fit. I got a great view of a mattress covered in hair. Ick. The tub was patched (this must have been the "renovation"). The sound on the tv was either too loud or too low to be heard.

Breakfast selections looked ok...too bad everything was empty at 8 am tues morning. I will note the attendant was trying to keep up and was very nice as she was trying to refill the items.

Marriott...be ashamed...be very ashamed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip to Kalamazoo. I frequent Marriott properties; Fairfields especially. This is an older hotel with external entrances for the rooms. If you've never stayed at a hotel where the door to the room is on the outside of the building then you may find the accommodations a little different than you may be accustomed to. The room I had was simple with all the standard amenities. I don't know why I noticed this but the carpet is not standard issue Fairfield; gold squares overlayed gold squares on a royal blue. The room could stand to be renovated with new carpet, wallpaper, and the bath entirely. The king size bed dominated the room making it feel somewhat small. The small cushioned chair and foot stool were crammed between the bed and the airconditioner. This made the entrance into the room quite small. Also, there isn't much room to set up your baggage. The airconditioner works just fine and very loudly. The breakfast is more than what is usually offered with hot items available! Very Nice!! All in all not a bad choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

First this is a cheap motel coverted to a Fairfield. It does not have the expexted Fairfield design features such as interior hallways and hot tub. The rooms are smaller and more sparse than expected from the brand.

Checkin took an extended amount of time even though there was no line. The first room offered to me faced the highway and had been previously crow barred open. Not ok. I got a different room on the third floor. Otherwise nothing interesting to report.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The web site for this property states that the rooms have been renovated. This is NOT true. We stayed in a room that was so substandard that I am shocked that they allowed guests to stay in it. The carpets were torn, the bathroom walls had black mold growing on them, the bathroom vent was completely clogged with dirt/dust, the mattress was like sleeping on a bed of nails. I asked to be moved to a renovated room, per the web site photo gallery, but was told that although some rooms had newer TVs, none has been renovated. Oh, if you need an outlet for a cell phone or lap top, you will have to crawl around on the floor to find one, or unplug the TV.
I was told that Marriott is re-branding Fairfield Inns and the new ones are REALLY nice. But the old ones are still under contract with Marriott and there is not much they can do about it. This property is far below the Marriott standard.

Room Tip: Find out the age of the hotel and only stay in new properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We weren't sure what we had gotten ourselves into after seeing how small the room was. But we were pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the beds and pillows. It was very clean and the shower was nice. For a northern hotel it is odd that the only swimming pool is outdoor. The free breakfast was a step above the usual free breakfasts you get at hotels. And miles above the last one we had at a Michigan hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This hotel appears to be a hotel that was converted from something like a red roof inn or motel 6 into a Fairfield Inn. It is a poor representation for a Marriott.

The rooms open out to the parking lot. There is a large window in the front of each room that faces the sidewalk. You can see through the curtains of the rooms, so you need to use the drapes as well.

The doors to the rooms do not shut unless you pull them hard, so don't just let them swing shut.

The noise level in this hotel is high. You can hear people talking outside, you can hear through the walls and ceiling, etc.

The floor of the rooms was damp. I'm not sure if it was humidity, or a leak, but every room that I was in had a damp floor, as well as the rest of the rooms were just generally wet feeling.

The sheets on the bed do not fit properly. They come off of the top of the mattress very easily, which leaves you sleeping in a pile of sheets at the end of the night. Just another indication of the sloppiness of this hotel.

The breakfast area is usually extremely crowded during all hours of the morning with very large families abusing the continental breakfast. There is never enough food and the food quality is less than great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East

Address: 3800 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Fairfield Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.