We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6420 Cracker Barrel Drive, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

No major issues. Rooms are a little small but ok or a short stay. Ice machine is only on the ground floor which is a bit of a nuisance. Kids enjoyed the pool and the staff were courteous. Continental breakfast was what you would expect. Overall would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
29
13
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel is near the Interstate, but it quiet and comfortable. It is also very clean and inexpensive. If you are going to the Kalamazoo area, I'd recommend this establishment.
Breakfast is slim, however. So, if you are used to eggs and bacon for breakfast, you will not get that here. Bakery, bagels and fruit --- that's it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Just experienced the WORST night's sleep ever in a Marriott property. Felt like I was sleeping on a table and trucks speeding by all night at 70+ mph was another nice touch. AVOID this hotel...too many other choices in K'zoo. Future in-laws live here so will return to the area but NEVER to this hotel. First room smelled and beds weren't on the frame so moved to another room...should have been my first clue to find another hotel in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Staff was very welcoming. Check in was easy. They gave us a room that ajoined another room. We thought that they should have asked us about that first. Within a few hours, my wife noticed a couple of ants in our room. (Not due to food.) The next day, there were bunches of them. Called the front desk. Their response was, "Yeah, it's been raining and when it rains, they really come out." Funny this doesn't happen at my home. I asked if this was a problem on any other floor and the answer was that they had complaints from ALL FLOORS.. They moved us to the third floor at the back. The room was handicapable, which surprised me. A handicapable room on the third floor? Anyway, the internet on the third floor stunk. It took a day to get it right and within another day, the problem was back. Plus, the internet speed was pretty slow. The third day a storm blew in and took a shingle off the roof and dropped it in the parking lot. Three days later, it was still there. Not in the back of the parking lot, but in the front. In fact, it was in front of the entrance. I would think that one employee would have seen it and taken care of it. Lastly, the beds were horrific. Very stiff and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Sorry Fairfield Inn, but your beds are WAY too hard for me. Ice machine did not produce ice, and for the prices of hotels these days I expect microwaves and/or fridges in my room. I arrived late and tired or I would have left after feeling the rock hard bed.
On the plus side....There is a CrackerBarrel just a few feet away, and I ordered a pizza from Hungry Howies, and it was awesome!
This hotel is in a nice location just outside of the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We hesitated to book a room here, given the comments. The room and bathroom were extremely spacious. Although we were on the highway side (second floor), it wasn't loud. The beds were not too hard or uncomfortable -- Just firm. We didn't hear anyone through the walls, and had a good, restful sleep. However, while in the hallway waiting for the elevator, we could hear voices through closed doors. Breakfast was good and well-tended. Front desk staff was very good and responsive. We were there for a lacrosse tournament, and the hotel was full. The staff was proactive in talking to parents about keeping the teens and their noise under control. Only cleanliness issue: hair on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We just slept and ate bfast here but were happy with the location, cleanliness, room features and breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West

Address: 6420 Cracker Barrel Drive, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Fairfield Inn you can count on a friendly welcome, a clean and comfortable room, great features, amenities and service that will make you want to return. And we'll help you get started each day with a free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Fairfield Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.