We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare Mimimum Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marquette, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bare Mimimum Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

This bare minimum hotel is not a good value for the price. Our tiny room had postage stamp sized beds and no heat in the bathroom. After staying one night, we moved to the Best Western Suites and stayed in a room with that was three times the size and was half the price! Our room had a refrigerator, microwave, table and chairs, two king sized beds and free breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    50
    24
    17
    14
See reviews for
59
21
13
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mi.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We came home from a vacation at the Grand hotel on Mackinac Island to find our home had flooded. Because of the repair, we needed a place to stay. We packed up our two dogs and went to the Holiday Inn West. We were tired and stressed and we could not have chosen a better home away from home.

The staff was warm, friendly and understanding from the moment we walked in. Every single staff member we passed greeted and smiled at us during our stay, even those who were obviously on break. The staff of the hotel restaurant, Burdick's, was equally friendly. We were greeted each and every time with warmth and enthusiasm. Additionally, the food was delicious!! The restaurant was clean and the food was delivered in a very timely manner :).

Back to the hotel: we found the room very clean and very nice. It had a larger TV than home, which we really enjoyed since TV was about all we were up to. The beds were more comfortable than any hotel we had been in. We slept so well!

The location was near to our home, which turned out to be good since we checked out a couple times, thinking the work at home was done and we could return there. Each check out (and in again) was very friendly and warm. Additionally, they managed to find us a room so we could stay there even when the hotel was expected to be full and someone cancelled. They will never know how much we appreciated that!

We cannot not recommend this staff and this hotel enough. The sign on 11th street is a little small but it is well worth finding :). The whole experience was first class!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateske, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, October 31, 2009
Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn West as your home away from home!

I am so glad we were here for you while your house was being repaired. I hope everything is back to normal for you!

Please come visit us again soon! We are a great place for a winter getaway! Hope to see you again.

Amy Teske
Guest Services Mananger
269-375-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Very nice clean hotel. Jaycee (sp) very helpful. Desk people very helpful and friendly. Great smiles. Great food. What can I say the beer, lovely.Thanks so much for making our first visit to Michigan a great one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateske, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
Thank you so much for the great feedback! We pride ourselves on great guest service. Please come back and see us again soon. You should come when there's snow on the ground- it's magical!

Amy Teske
Guest Services Manager
269-375-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUBA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

From the check-in staff to the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff - the service was above and beyond. We were with a group of WWII vets, and we were all pleased with the staff and decided to return next year for another reunion.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateske, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
We are so glad your group had such a nice time at the Holiday Inn.
Your group was truly a fun loving bunch of people! I hope you enjoyed your visit to the Air Zoo too!
We look forward to seeing all of you again next year.

Amy Teske
269-375-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I just got home from a weekend stay at this hotel. We had several rooms booked for a wedding. The staff was amazing, rooms were great, excellent bar. Very good experience and I would gladly come back again! Thanks for your great hospitality...you should be proud of your staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We were at this hotel for a baseball tournament, but we will definitely go back for a great weekend getaway. We even stayed an extra night after the rest of our group left!

We got one of the three kids' suites and loved it!! It had a partitioned space for the kids, in which there were bunk beds, a TV, and a PS2 game system (which can also play DVDs). The front desk had a good selection of games and DVDs to borrow, all at no charge. Others from our large group were envious when they saw our room! The baseball players were busy with the games, but there were a lot of siblings who would have appreciated the perks of the kids' suite. Another thing I loved about the kids' suite was that it was on the main floor, right off the common area. It was easy to keep tabs on my four kids. I propped our door open, opened the curtains, and it was easy to see them as they played in the common area.

There was not a lot of floor space in any of the rooms, but with such a great common area, it was not a problem. We have four children, so we fit a crib and a twin blow-up mattress in our room. It was tight, but we had safe paths to the bathroom and exits, so we were fine. All the boys slept comfortably.

Again, space in the rooms was not an issue because there was SO MUCH to do just outside our door...ping pong, swimming, hot tub, pool, foosball, basketball (single shot, not a whole court), picnic tables, and arcade made this a great place to be. It would be a great place to go in the winter when the cabin fever sets in and the kids need a break from being stuck inside.

In spite of the kid-friendly and fun atmosphere, noise was never a problem. The staff was kind yet firm about the curfew for the children (10:30), with parents allowed in the pool until 11:30 and in the common area until about midnight.

The restaurant was okay, nothing special, but with the kids eating for free, I didn't really care it wasn't gourmet. The breakfast buffet was not good at all, but the menu items were good. I love the veggie skillet and my kids loved the cinnamon French toast and pancakes.

The staff was the best, as others have reported. They were very friendly and helpful. The front desk got us signed up with the Priority Club, which gave us important perks like a later check-out and a card that saved us $9 per day on breakfast.

No one wanted to leave when Monday came around. Even at home Monday night, my kids were still talking about what a great hotel it was and how they missed it.

The only down-side for Chicago-area guests is that we have to travel I-80. In spite of that, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateske, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
Thank you so much for the review. It means a lot to myself and the rest of the staff to know that people enjoy our hotel and look to us for sports weekends/weekend getaways.
The kids suites are a great room for a family. I am glad it worked out so well for you.
Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your future winter getaway and I will make sure you get set up in a kids suite again.
Thanks again!

Amy Teske
Guest Services Manager
269-375-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This hotel is PERFECT for kids and parents who want to have some fun. The pool and arcade area are FUN and easy to supervise. The pool deck was clean and there were plenty of places to congregate. The bar is right next to the pool (with windows looking onto the pool area) but it's quiet.

Our room was very clean and felt new. I looked for the yucky things previous reviewers mentioned and found nothing.

The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast buffet was $9 for adults and free for kids under 12. It was just what we needed, better than the free breakfasts you get other places - it included hot eggs, bacon, french toast, potatoes, etc.

I don't think I need to say this but I would NOT recommend this hotel to a business traveler who needs a quiet place. This hotel is probably filled with groups of kids all year because it's REALLY fun. The hotel made a valiant, concerted effort to keep the kids from disturbing other guests but there's only so much they can do.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ateske, Management at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, July 8, 2009
Thank you so much for you response! Your positive feedback is truly appreciated and we’re glad you had such a nice time staying with us. Our Holidome is a great family retreat- and with our onsite restaurant, Old Burdick's West, I am sure it was perfect for your family.

We do host several different weekend groups of all ages. However, during most weekdays, we serve business travelers regularly. We are conveniently located for business traveler’s right off interstates 131 and 94. Our hotel is really multifaceted in that way- mostly business travelers during the week, and family’s and leisure groups on the weekends.

Thank you again for your great feedback. We hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn West. If you have any questions or are interested in booking a future stay with us, please call 269-375-6000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Address: 2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.