We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

This was a great hotel to stay at during my business trip. The staff was very friendly and was there to answer all of my questions. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are brand new with flat screen tvs. I would recomend this hotel to any one who is staying in the Kalamazoo area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManager, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, April 10, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review describing your stay with us. We realize you have many hotel options in the Kalamazoo area and we truly appreciate your patronage. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Kalamazoo West, we look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
A. Teske
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    50
    24
    17
    14
See reviews for
59
21
13
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Well, what can I say. I also saw the horrid reviews. I chalked them up to angry travelers. I am here to tell you that everything you read is true without a doubt. My sons (7 and 4), wife and myself arrived in this area in anticipation for a tribute to Norman Rockwell illustration. The reviews ring true in that my children, wife and I , lie awake listening to a tremendous amount of noise coming from the pool area. Never have I seen a "animal house" like atmosphere in a hotel that advertises as a family escape. There was apparently a rental agreement for the pool with local folks for a great deal of our stay. The management was unable to control the chaos and offered us food in exchange for sleep. After a short stay we eventually moved to another location as this was not one intended for a family looking for a decent night sleep in a clean, organized facility.

  • Liked — The proximity to desirable locations
  • Disliked — Management, room, pool, common areas, food, everything
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

We had read the reviews and seen the horrible pictures in the past (bugs, bloody bathtub, mildew on door) and hoped for the best after a few reviews proved otherwise. After taking our daughter back to school late in the game this was our last choice available and now I know why. Our room smelled moldy, musty and like previous reviews we concur that the room that rooms attached to the atrium are loud, with several unsupervised small children screaming running around even after 11:00 PM. I agree with others in that this is THE LAST RESORT in Kalamazoo. We have fortunately secured rooms elsewhere for homecoming. This truly has been a band aid for poor management and maintenance.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed here for the 2008 Disc Golf World Championships in August 2008 and were thrilled with this hotel. The staff has the attitude of going above and beyond, the hotel amenities are wonderful, the grounds and pool are great - we have nothing bad to say about our stay.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Comfortable Beds, Flat Panel TV's, Indoor Pool and Hot Tub
  • Disliked — Noise from the pool table, basketball and ping pong tables.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

We recently returned from a stay here. All and all we enjoyed our tip. We stayed in a room on the first floor connected to the atrium area. The rooms were very clean with modern bedding and a flat screen TV's.

The pool area was nice. Only issue being that the buckets that dump water on the kids were not working. We enjoyed the hot tub.

There is a decent sized game room available as well as two pool tables. They also have a pop a shot basketball and a foosball table available for FREE. We thought that was a nice touch.

The restaurant/bar area was nice as well. Reasonable drink prices for a hotel (probably due to being in a college town). The kids eat free deal is great! Especially for their breakfast buffet.

Overall no real issues other than the water buckets not working to dump on the kids. I'd have no issues with staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

This hotel went through a rocky period during renovations, but now they're completed it's back up to full standard. Very pleasant, helpful young staff, comfortable rooms, and surprisingly good food. They provide helpful shuttle service for guests without cars, too. The standard of comfort and service provided for the money is really remarkable.

  • Liked — Comfort, service, good food.
  • Disliked — Like so many places now, pretty much in the middle of nowhere--but nice nowhere
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zmj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

My family of three loved it! The rooms have just been renovated. Dad loved the LG Flat Screen in the rooms and the beds are super comfortable. We have been staying at this HI over the past five years and we just love the new look. The Holidome is a great place for our group to visit and the adults can play cards when the kids retire for the evening.

Great freindly staff and love that kids eat free!

  • Liked — beds and LCD TV
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Address: 2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.