We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Asked for and got a quiet room facing the parking area/bowling alley.
Check-in smooth and easy.
Beds were quite good, clean bath and floors.
Ice machine worked, food in Burdick's was good, night staff there accommodating.
HVAC was quiet and worked well. (Should be on the wall with a digital read on the temp.)
Desk staff was extremely competent and accommodating day and night. Especially great: Tom and Molly—hope I am getting the names right.
I don't take daily service with a 3-4 day trip, and the HI does not bug the H out of you about that. Thank goodness. They leave you alone, which is what the sign says. :)


To get there: from the AP (AZO) take the Stadium Drive exit, go back under the highway on Stadium Drive and turn left at the first light (11th street). You will pass a couple of businesses and a drive very quickly. Keep looking to the left for the small Holiday Inn sign. Turn quick. If you miss, go into the church drive and come around. It's not that hard, folks. Location is convenient to things and there is a good place (I think) to walk outside there, weather permitting.

The sad parts—
Morning coffee was full of grounds :( :(.
HD television channels never worked (four days) and I heard other guests say the same—must have been a cable thing, but it never got remedied.
Did not use the pool or game room.
Have waited all day for a call to clarify charges, but no return call. . . .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    55
    25
    18
    16
See reviews for
67
25
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

friendly staff, no breakfast pool was very dirty. room was fine i only stay here if i half too . i perfer express or staybridge location is right off 131 and it set back so you need to know were you are going to get there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Bruce G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am happy that you found our staff to be friendly. However, I sincerely apologize that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the pool during your visit. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'll start with the good. The rooms (we had two) were clean and nicely decorated. The Kids Suite was great, the bunk beds were separated from mom and dad's bed by a wall and they thought that was great! The kids loved the pool which was in the 'Holidome', that means that it was in the open with rooms that opened onto it instead of being off in an isolated cinder-block and stuffy room. It was open, airy, and as close as you can get to being outside in Michigan that early in the spring. Nice game room and workout room. The Holidome had a pool table and ping pong available as well as several tables you could use to play games or eat take out. A nice place to stay.

The bad. I reserved the 'Kid Suite' but didn't get it upon arrival. Apparently the family that was staying there before us decided they wanted to stay 2 extra nights so instead of disappointing them and telling them that the room was reserved by another family and that they would need to move to a different room, they let them stay and disappointed my family upon check-in. They did call and leave a message on my home phone, but we were driving in from Chicago and were gone by the time they called. We were stuck in a room with two double beds and I ended up sleeping on the floor because that just isn't enough room for my husband and I. We ended up extending our stay for an extra night just so the kids could stay in the kid suite like I had promised them and they loved it. The hotel did give us the room complimentary but it didn't make up for the disappointment at check-in. Also they didn't offer the comp, I had to ask for it. Apparently they don't offer anything, they ask what they can do to make you happy and I came up with the solution.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, don't stay pool-side. Family rooms pool-side are very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Stephanie P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate the kind remarks regarding the Kids Suite and pool. However, please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service during your stay particularly with the customer service and room accommodations received. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again for your candid review. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for a weeknight in April. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly. Ended up getting lots of perks due to being a Priority Club member and having a company rate: free breakfast, free drink, gift bag with snacks. Restaurant / bar atmosphere was nice and prices weren't out of line. Only negative is that I had a difficult time finding it before I knew where it was. It's set back off the street, and there's only a small sign right before you need to turn left.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice staff. Food was reasonably priced at Burdick's, where we ate dinner and breakfast. We had a room with free breakfast included, but be aware that the breakfast vouchers are actually for $10.00 and the breakfast buffet is $10.99, Also, sometimes the dining room charges your credit card and the charge also appears on your hotel final bill. One day the complimentary lobby coffee table was out of coffee and cream by 9am but a nice cleaning lady got me a cup of coffee from the kitchen and additional creams without me asking for any help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is ok but the staff is not very helpful or very efficient. They have charged my credit card 3 times for the same stay and it is taking days to get refunded correctly. This is not a hard task it is very simply actually. The pool was disgusting, the game room was dirty and the games are all broken. The ping pong and foosball tables are a joke = the hotel is loud, the rooms are small.
Kids everywhere . I would only recommend this hotel to people who are going with a large group. They seem to take over the pool area and everything else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear frostizzy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff, the pool and the poor facilities. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casco, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this hotel sight unseen at last minute via phone and was so happy with the results.
The staff was friendly, the location is great and the room was very clean. This is a holidome site so great for families. I would recommend this property!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
4.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
6.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Address: 2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.