We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a family get-away.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dearborn, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a family get-away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nice hotel for a family get-away. A little pricey, but worth it if spending time on-site with children.

Front desk staff was very helpful. Hotel Restaurant was a pleasant surprise. Decent food, and not as overpriced as some hotel restaurants. We ate there twice for breakfast and twice for dinner. Priority Club members get one free breakfast per room per night. You can sign-up during check-in, if desired.

Kids loved the swimming pool. 3 feet in the shallow end, and floaties are allowed. But the pool temperature was a little cold for the adults. Not intolerable, but uncomfortable. Luckily, hot tub was nice and hot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
57
21
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We asked for early check in and were told to arrive after 1. We got there about 1:15 and the room wasn't ready so we decided to swim. The pool water was a murky green, the kids had goggles and counted 12 cigarette butts on the pool floor. There were also 4 band aids floating. After complaining twice someone did come and look, but didn't clean anything up. We decided to explore a little since at 3 our room STILL wasn't ready. There were dirty towels, empty bottles, and trash laying around. We decided not to stay, when we let them know we wanted to cancel there were no apologies, or offers to fix anything. So we left. If there had been tons of people and staff trying to keep up we'd understand. But it was calm and we saw no one cleaning at all. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Lizmomof3,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the best overall Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. While I was there for business, the family amenities (especially the Holidome) are second to none. The staff (especially Kailee Bogus) were outstanding and extremely helpful. Kailee was one of the most professional and courteous front desk associates I have ever encountered. She handled every situation with a smile and made everyone feel like a welcome guest.

The food at Old Budrick's was very good. It was very nice having a restaurant/lounge in the hotel. That is lost on most hotel chains these days.

The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Little things like providing both firm & soft pillows in each room make a big difference to experienced travelers.

We received about 5 inches of snow and they did an outstanding job of making sure the parking lot was constantly cleared and safe.

Room Tip: If you have children, ask for a room near the Holidome. If not, ask for one away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. It has a great restaurant/lounge attached to it with very high quality food and delicious beverages. Your stay will start with the most friendly, bubbly front desk person in the industry, Kailee Bogus. She will get you all set up and do it all with a great big smile on her face. The rooms are very comfortable and they have a great pool area. There is a managers reception during the week by the pool with apps and kid or adult beverages, all complimentary. We always have a conference room for business while we are there and it is always great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

During the figure skating competition we decided to have team lunch at the Old Budrick's restaurant. This was FRIDAY afternoon around 2PM... maybe 10 people in the whole restaurant.
We were TOLD to take team order and send the food order day before. This was done,
and the order form was divided into separate rectangles stating each family and their order.
Simple RIGHT??
When we arrived, the head waitress had everything written down on a single sheet of paper
and had no clue who ordered what? This might be management's fault for the screw up,
so no blame on waitress. One of the parents had the original order form, and we resolved that problem.
I ordered a beer... 25 minutes later as I was eating my lunch, I was told they did not have it anymore.... 25 minutes?
As we were getting our food orders delivered, we had to ask for water, since the drinks were not coming. Really, there were 4 to 5 waitresses, what are you doing in the kitchen?

Food service good, everything else poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear R G,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of your restaurant experience. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

service was outstanding. Everyone was very accommodating. I would say they went above and beyond. I came with an entire ice skating club and they really went out of their way for us. I would highly recommend for families

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I thought it was not what we expected. The pool and Hot tub was very dirty. Didn't have a good time. At quite time there was more children playing the games so the adults couldn't.
We had breakfast at the rest. and my eggs were green. Very unhappy!!!

Room Tip: Clean clean pool and hot tub. Check the pool water before you let your family and friends go in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Diane S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience the overall cleanliness of our pool and breakfast choices may have caused you. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. we appreciate your bringing this matter to our attention as this is our best resource in improving guests satisfaction.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Address: 2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.