We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good stay at this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a good stay at this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. It has a great restaurant/lounge attached to it with very high quality food and delicious beverages. Your stay will start with the most friendly, bubbly front desk person in the industry, Kailee Bogus. She will get you all set up and do it all with a great big smile on her face. The rooms are very comfortable and they have a great pool area. There is a managers reception during the week by the pool with apps and kid or adult beverages, all complimentary. We always have a conference room for business while we are there and it is always great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    45
    21
    16
    12
See reviews for
57
20
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo MI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

During the figure skating competition we decided to have team lunch at the Old Budrick's restaurant. This was FRIDAY afternoon around 2PM... maybe 10 people in the whole restaurant.
We were TOLD to take team order and send the food order day before. This was done,
and the order form was divided into separate rectangles stating each family and their order.
Simple RIGHT??
When we arrived, the head waitress had everything written down on a single sheet of paper
and had no clue who ordered what? This might be management's fault for the screw up,
so no blame on waitress. One of the parents had the original order form, and we resolved that problem.
I ordered a beer... 25 minutes later as I was eating my lunch, I was told they did not have it anymore.... 25 minutes?
As we were getting our food orders delivered, we had to ask for water, since the drinks were not coming. Really, there were 4 to 5 waitresses, what are you doing in the kitchen?

Food service good, everything else poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear R G,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of your restaurant experience. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

service was outstanding. Everyone was very accommodating. I would say they went above and beyond. I came with an entire ice skating club and they really went out of their way for us. I would highly recommend for families

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I thought it was not what we expected. The pool and Hot tub was very dirty. Didn't have a good time. At quite time there was more children playing the games so the adults couldn't.
We had breakfast at the rest. and my eggs were green. Very unhappy!!!

Room Tip: Clean clean pool and hot tub. Check the pool water before you let your family and friends go in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Diane S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience the overall cleanliness of our pool and breakfast choices may have caused you. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. we appreciate your bringing this matter to our attention as this is our best resource in improving guests satisfaction.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here with our skating team, and had an excellent experience. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The service was really fantastic. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us...even creating a last minute dinner for more than 60 people! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Kalamazoo area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here with four other collegues for two nights. My room was exceptionally clean, neat, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've had in a hotel. The staff was always helpful and courteious. The Wine and Cheese tasting was a lot of fun and great idea they have.

The included breakfast each morning was simply delicious. The selection was good and food came hot and fresh. I need my morning coffee, and theirs was just great. I did't get the use the pool, but I liked to decor around it, and it was a nice, roomy pool, not the bathtub sized pools some place have. It has nice dresing room/lockers right next to it which are a convenient plus in my book!

Room Tip: Try to keep a bit a distance from the elevator, vending areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very comfortable stay. Execllent location just off the highway.
Had a chance to use both the pool and the hot tub.
Clean room with all the amenities at a reasonable price.
Reconized me as a priority club member, and was able to claim extra points.
Room was very close to the elevator but was very quiet.
The heating system worked very well and was very quiet. Booked in advance to take advantage of a dscounted price which was a great value. Usually visite relatives in Kalamazoo once a year and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdonaldson2747, Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn West in Kalamazoo, MI. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad that you were able to receive some extra perks for being a Priority Club member. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the holidays and spend that time with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Address: 2747 South 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.