We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2203 South 11th, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Bremen, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

for the price, the room was good. it did smell like smoke, and upon check-out I informed them so that I wouldn't get blamed, and was given a 20% discount. The staff was very friendly, and actually for the hotel being booked, it was VERY QUIET!

Room Tip: book through priceline and quote your price! got the room for $45.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    113
    84
    51
    23
See reviews for
157
48
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Baymont on 11th Ave. for the first time this weekend. I usually pick a little higher end hotel when we travel to Kalmazoo ( which we do frequently as our daughter is in school there - Go Western!). Because it was the WMU vs. CMU game this past weekend everyone was pretty full so I went with Baymont.
I wasn't expecting too much as the previous reviews were spotty but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was quiet, clean and very comfortable. Even though we were on the first floor and opened the window overnight for a little fresh air, the parking lot, hotel and patrons were quiet. I was expecting some noise as it is traditionally such a party weekend - but nothing. We did not have the breakfast, though lots of people were there when I went to get coffee, so I cannot comment on that. Overall, it was a very good experience and would definitely consider adding this hotel to my short list of good places to stay in Kalamazoo!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Booked this hotel at the last minute while traveling through MI as we weren't sure how far we'd drive that day. Thought it had a pool but it didn't-my fault for not checking closely. Stayed one night. Room was small but adequate. Was clean and bed comfortable. The desk lamp had an outlet on it for plugging in a computer. Only after my battery was nearly drained was it apparent that that outlet didn't work. To plug in the computer one had to unplug the lamp to use the wall outlet-not so great after dark. Ice machine on our floor also did not work. Free breakfast-opened jam packet and it was like congealed glue-yuk! Tub drained slowly.

All issues were told to management when we checked out. He did not seem to be surprised about the desk lamp. The "repair" to the ice machine was an "out of order" sign. Said the jam was freshly delivered (then he's getting a bum deal from his supplier!).

Stay wasn't awful but won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel is decent, with not too much to really like, but not too much to dislike either. The room was quiet, despite being filled with high school kids for a field hockey tournament. The bed was good and the bathroom good, though the sink is outside the main bathroom, something I really dislike.
Two squabbles: there were two large "waves" in the carpet due to very sloppy installation, and there was a a Skittles wrapper and a napkin stuck behind the nightstand; found that little surprise when I dropped some change back there. Room comes with a mini-fridge, which is a nice touch. Free internet.
This hotel does not have a fitness room, but being a guest there allows you access to a an excellent and very large fitness center literally next door, free of charge.
There is a complimentary breakfast, but the small area was so cramped with people in the morning - and no place to sit - that I passed.
I paid $56 for this room on Hotwire, which seems kind of high for a hotel of this caliber on Hotwire, especially for Kalamazoo, which I don't think of as a hotbed tourist destination: perhaps that is WHY it is expensive.
You could do worse. Or you could do better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed at this same hotel two years ago. At that time I stated that though the rooms were in good repair, the lobby was very sad and worn out. I won this hotel on Priceline, just as I had 2 years ago, for a 2 night stay on business.

This time, I am happy to report that the property has undergone a complete renovation. The lobby is now new looking, cheerful, and well maintained. Unlike before, each room now has a microwave and refrigerator. I found my room to be spacious, well decorated, and all elements in good condition. The bathroom had a very large granite countertop, with ample room. The entire hotel is now non-smoking.

Breakfast contained 4 hot items (eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and waffles) as well as the usual cold selections, like cereals and breads.

Staff were pleasant and efficient. At some chains Priceline customers are treated with disdain. Not here. I was treated respectfully by all the staff I encountered. I had absolutely no complaints about my stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The manager was very easy to talk to and gave a great monthly rate . The desk attendants were friendly and helpful with maps and information about the local area. It was a pleasant stay. I would stay again without a second thought.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We booked the Baymont Inn and Suites as a stopover for 1 night en route to Chicago. We did our booking through Priceline and received a good rate.

We arrived around midnight and were assigned room 420 which is a room with 2 double beds. The room looked seemingly clean and comfortable. We had a quick shower and went to bed.

I awoke in the early morning with a very itchy neck. I looked in the mirror and saw 2 red bumps. I went back to bed thinking nothing of it. The next day around noon, I had full blown bites on my shoulders, arms and hands. They were extremely itchy and puffy. The bite patterns seemed consistent with bed bug bites.

I'm a seasoned traveller so I wasn't too concerned about the bites. I just didn't want to transport any of those nasty buggers home with me. My travel partner who slept in the other bed was fine. No bugs in his bed!

Aside from the bed bugs, the bed really wasn't all that comfortable. The pillows were very soft and flat.

The hotel does provide a free breakfast in the morning which is a nice consolation since I had been a meal for bed bugs the previous night. Breakfast is not too fancy - cold cereals, make your own waffles, scrambled "eggs" and sausage, hot coffee, juices and tea.

Wished I would have bid a little higher on Priceline to get a different hotel. I had a very itchy, scratchy weekend in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay1200311, General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
I would like to apologize to this guest for the experience they encountered. We did take all the proper steps to check this room for bed bugs and nothing was found in the room. I am not saying this was a false accusation but when we checked the room there were no signs of bed bugs. We have a very efficient pest control program in place and we do take every accusation of pest problems very seriously and we will continue to monitor this room to make sure no further problems occur. Thank you for your input on our hotel and I would ask that you give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Jay Gladstone
General Manager Baymont Inn Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo

Address: 2203 South 11th, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites - Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Baymont Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.