We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First solo trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Kalamazoo

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
AmericInn Kalamazoo
1550 E. Kilgore Rd., Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Andrews, IN
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First solo trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I chose this hotel based on prior reviews on Trip Advisor. It proved to be a good choice. While Kalamazoo is my hometown and I love to visit my recent trips have been due to the failing health of my sister. I normally stay at her house but she was at Bronson Hospital and I did not want to intrude on other family. Being my first hotel stay without the husband I was a bit apprehensive but upon my arrival the hotel staff put me at ease. The room was clean, bed super comfy and Sunday morning breakfast plentiful. My only concern was that my room was without a smoke detector, I mentioned it when checking out and was told they could not get it to stop beeping. While I appreciate that, surely another one could have been purchased and put in. This will not stop me from staying again as my overall experience was good. Just what I needed after a long, stressful day at the hospital.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalamazooAI_GM, General Manager at AmericInn Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello,
I would like to thank you for all of your feedback. You had several wonderful things to say about your visit with us, and I would like you to know your comments are very important! The staff will know what a wonderful job they did at making your stay with us pleasant. Planning a trip around extenuating circumstances are not always the easiest and our goal is always to take away never add to any stress factors that may be out there! As for the smoke detector - I must say - you did not receive the best answer there! You are correct a new one should have been installed or the room not sold until maintenance could correct the problem. Please be aware that there is a separate monitoring system in the hotel that will sense and alarm the property as well as a third party vendor of any dangerous situations. The response you were provided is being addressed with the staff and corrected immediately!
All in all it seems you enjoyed your stay - and I do hope that means we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
10
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Loved the rooms comfort all the way! Staff was great and breakfast was perfect! I felt like I was at a high class hotel, calls to check up on how we enjoyed our room, and was super surprised that I was picked as customer of the day! Thanks for the goodies!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband chose the best hotel to stay in. I enjoyed everything! Slept well! Classy decor in the bathroom, and a lot of space to put our things. We loved the breakfast including the pastries, fruits, etc..Close to everything you needed for a great time outside of the hotel, like restaurants and shopping. Thank you so much Americinn for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is in a great position very close to the highway and all the restaurants. It is new inside and very clean. The fron desk is very helpful. There is a computer available if you do not bring one. Breakfast is excellent (waffle, fresh fruit, eggs, bread etc.) and in the evening they offer excellent cookies, very soft and yummy, my kids loved them. We had planned 2 nights and were very happy to get a third one with Priceline in the same hotel. My only critique is that one of the bed was not hard enough for my back and I would have liked a second nightstand where to put glasses, book etc. We had 2 beds and we were three in the room; there was one nightstand in the middle of the two beds. For the two people sleeping on the second -or first- bed, that is an inconvenience. Aside from that, I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful... The room was very nice.. clean... and had everything we expected. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had when staying in a hotel. The location is close to the highway and to good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great hotel, new room furniture, classy decor, great breakfast, comfy bed, quiet room, very clean, close to highway. Only bad thing was pool was closed for repairs. Fresh cookies were delicious! We were in town for a one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

really nice stay. the front desk worker, drew, was very helpful. we called him various times and he was very helpful and recommended an awesome place to eat at. he even shoveled a path in the parking lot for me and my girlfriend!

Room Tip: room 301 call between 11pm and 7am because drew is so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Kalamazoo

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn
Address: 1550 E. Kilgore Rd., Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#10 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.