We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic cookies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Kalamazoo

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Kalamazoo
1550 E. Kilgore Rd., Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic cookies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is in a great position very close to the highway and all the restaurants. It is new inside and very clean. The fron desk is very helpful. There is a computer available if you do not bring one. Breakfast is excellent (waffle, fresh fruit, eggs, bread etc.) and in the evening they offer excellent cookies, very soft and yummy, my kids loved them. We had planned 2 nights and were very happy to get a third one with Priceline in the same hotel. My only critique is that one of the bed was not hard enough for my back and I would have liked a second nightstand where to put glasses, book etc. We had 2 beds and we were three in the room; there was one nightstand in the middle of the two beds. For the two people sleeping on the second -or first- bed, that is an inconvenience. Aside from that, I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    9
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
11
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful... The room was very nice.. clean... and had everything we expected. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had when staying in a hotel. The location is close to the highway and to good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great hotel, new room furniture, classy decor, great breakfast, comfy bed, quiet room, very clean, close to highway. Only bad thing was pool was closed for repairs. Fresh cookies were delicious! We were in town for a one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

really nice stay. the front desk worker, drew, was very helpful. we called him various times and he was very helpful and recommended an awesome place to eat at. he even shoveled a path in the parking lot for me and my girlfriend!

Room Tip: room 301 call between 11pm and 7am because drew is so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Mi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 days for a conferance in downtown. The staff was very friendly and the hotel clean. The staff had fresh baked cookies in the lobby for guests to eat for free. They serve a breakfast in the morning that seemed to be enjoyed by others as I was not able to try it. My room was more updated then some of the pictures show. Other all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, In
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed three days in this hotel. There were a few dining options nearby. We ate at a place called Brewster's right down the road. A very good choice with an extensive menu. I didn't see any shopping.
There was a free breakfast bar across from the reception desk which was ok. The pool and hot tub was also by the front desk as you go into the hallway. One issue has nothing to do with the hotel itself has too do with the very confusing street signs. As your coming into the street (Kilgore) to get to the hotel there is a sigh with a turn symbol with a cross above it but right above that there is a one way arrow. You turn at the one way arrow, go about two blocks then turn into the hotel entrance.
If your leaving the hotel and going back on the main road (portage) you can take a left but its illegal. You have to take a right then make a u turn. I saw a number of people getting confused leaving.
Staff was friendly. Had free wi-fi and plenty of electric plugs. This was a very basic hotel but got the job done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalamazooAI_GM, Manager at AmericInn Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I appreciate the compliments given regarding our hotel. I understand the frustration with the access to our drive while navigating through our intersection. The, no left turns and right to go left are not convenient. While we do stay in a constant battle with MDOT to continue to add directional signs, we are very limited on our control over this. Please know we will not give up. I will review the breakfast menu and ensure that all items were up to standards. Our goal is to be outstanding in all areas, better than OK. Westnedge Ave is the main area for dinning and shopping, you will also find Cross Roads Mall; both are less than 2.5 miles from our hotel.
If you find yourself in the area again, we welcome you back!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked the room on booking.com and obtained a rate of $72 - an exceptional rate for a good quality room, breakfast, and all the amenities. Tim, the desk clerk, was most accommodating and steered us to Brewsters for dinner - a great choice. The room was spacious, VERY CLEAN with white bedding. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well-appointed. This hotel is a good choice for travelers who want easy access from Highway 69. All in all, a comfortable and enjoyable stop on our trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the side of the hotel opposite the highway. We received it - but it was direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Kalamazoo

Address: 1550 E. Kilgore Rd., Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#4 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.