We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice... Updated hotel/ rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Kalamazoo

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com AmericInn.com
and 3 more sites!
AmericInn Kalamazoo
1550 E. Kilgore Rd., Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Davison, Mi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice... Updated hotel/ rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 days for a conferance in downtown. The staff was very friendly and the hotel clean. The staff had fresh baked cookies in the lobby for guests to eat for free. They serve a breakfast in the morning that seemed to be enjoyed by others as I was not able to try it. My room was more updated then some of the pictures show. Other all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
36
10
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granger, In
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed three days in this hotel. There were a few dining options nearby. We ate at a place called Brewster's right down the road. A very good choice with an extensive menu. I didn't see any shopping.
There was a free breakfast bar across from the reception desk which was ok. The pool and hot tub was also by the front desk as you go into the hallway. One issue has nothing to do with the hotel itself has too do with the very confusing street signs. As your coming into the street (Kilgore) to get to the hotel there is a sigh with a turn symbol with a cross above it but right above that there is a one way arrow. You turn at the one way arrow, go about two blocks then turn into the hotel entrance.
If your leaving the hotel and going back on the main road (portage) you can take a left but its illegal. You have to take a right then make a u turn. I saw a number of people getting confused leaving.
Staff was friendly. Had free wi-fi and plenty of electric plugs. This was a very basic hotel but got the job done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalamazooAI_GM, Manager at AmericInn Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I appreciate the compliments given regarding our hotel. I understand the frustration with the access to our drive while navigating through our intersection. The, no left turns and right to go left are not convenient. While we do stay in a constant battle with MDOT to continue to add directional signs, we are very limited on our control over this. Please know we will not give up. I will review the breakfast menu and ensure that all items were up to standards. Our goal is to be outstanding in all areas, better than OK. Westnedge Ave is the main area for dinning and shopping, you will also find Cross Roads Mall; both are less than 2.5 miles from our hotel.
If you find yourself in the area again, we welcome you back!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked the room on booking.com and obtained a rate of $72 - an exceptional rate for a good quality room, breakfast, and all the amenities. Tim, the desk clerk, was most accommodating and steered us to Brewsters for dinner - a great choice. The room was spacious, VERY CLEAN with white bedding. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well-appointed. This hotel is a good choice for travelers who want easy access from Highway 69. All in all, a comfortable and enjoyable stop on our trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the side of the hotel opposite the highway. We received it - but it was direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was with out a room when came across the splendid property it was late at night and the night auditor Tim helped me find the hotel when i arrived i was starving and he helped me not only get a delivery of food but also was able to have a bottle of wine brought to me it was a fine local pizza place called erbellis he was the best and the hotel felt warming and the rooms were more than i would have asked for...there is a free hot breakfast witch was perfect for that morning. my stay was amasing and i would like to let you know that Tim, Drew, and Tresa will take care of you if your ever in need!! they were the BEST!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the Highway if noise bothers you, i like it - it makes me feel like im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel had an opening that we desperately needed at the last minute. It was very clean - white bedding, bathrooms clean. Breakfast was nicely handled and was able to hold a number of people. The only area where I had difficulty was the height of the bed. One good jump and I could get up. Might be hard for someone older (I am 56) and not in the best of shape. We would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for my sister in laws wedding. We needed to get in the hotel early and they let us in at 11 am with no extra charge. At check in the employee advised us there was a car show this weekend and the hotel only had one room left, when we came back later that night there was still enough parking spots for us. The staff was super friendly and very helpful throughout our entire stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel rooms are big and clean.

Room Tip: We did 2 queen beds just to have a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lots of nice added touches. High quality beds, nice furniture in rooms and common areas, along with a nice breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, omelets). Fresh baked cookies around 6pm. For a mid-priced hotel, they go the extra mile. Certainly a step above the fairly nice hotel I was in last week for the same price. They also have a cash-back rewards program. Very good value.

For the price, it is well worth the 5 rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Kalamazoo

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn
Address: 1550 E. Kilgore Rd., Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#10 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.