We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs updating, but comfortable and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo to your Saves list
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 E. Kilgore Rd., Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Lansing, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hotel needs updating, but comfortable and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were in town for a lacrosse tournament and I think I got the last hotel room in the Kalamzoo area. It was by fluke that I ended up BACK at this hotel's website...they must not have been showing availability the first time. I believe this is an old Hampton Inn, as the layout and rooms looked as such. The staff was always friendly and accomodating, from when I called in advance with special room requests (the associate I spoke with "assigned" us to a specific room that faced the quieter back, on the third floor, and had always been a non-smoking room), to "welcoming" us back from our games, to having to cancel the un-needed (read, we lost our last game) second second night's stay. (When I made the reservation, interestingly the website only allowed me to book it for 2 consecuitve nights.) Rooms were very bland in their decor, but clean and comfortable. One major plus here (like most Hampton's, I think) was having 2 QUEEN beds, rather than doubles. My wife and I have a king bed, and once you're used to that kind of real estate, going to a double (when you've got the kids with you in the other bed) is never comfortable. At least with a queen bed, we can still have our own space! Complimentary breakfast buffet was as expected quality-wise, but it was plentiful and offered a lot of choices, hot and cold--even cottage cheese, which I don't think you usually find in these types of free breakfasts. The kids always like it anyway (esp the waffle maker); I just like that it's included, that it's right there, and that I can grab some cereal and milk, a piece of fruit, and a cup of coffee. Indoor pool was fine for the kids too. Overall, a fair rate (about ($90 with AAA) for a very pleasant stay at a well-run hotel.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, the front faces busy I94. Reqeust a room facing the back for a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    47
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
20
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here at the end of June for two nights while attending a graduation party. The rooms were nice. It was advertised as a grand opening special rate but the hotel wasn't new. Still it was clean and we were satisfied with the rate. I thought the breakfast was nice. Waffles are always a favorite with my son. Nice selection of pastries fruit and cereals. The hotel isn't very sound proof. My sister had a room over the lobby area and could hear the employees sitting outside on a bench talking all night. When she told her husband where the noise was coming from they turned on the bench and looked up at her room. Windows were closed and she wasn't speaking loudly. All in all it was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We got a package deal for the hotel and Air Zoo at a wonderful price. We where a bit hesitant to stay because of some of the reviews. We where very happy that we did because the hotel was wonderful. The rooms where updated, and clean. The staff where over the top helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. A nice variety for being free. We would absolutely return AND recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Great customer service from time of reservation thru checkout. Stayed for a short night prior to soccer tourney at Loy Norrix. Super location for events there and very easy access from I-94. Rooms up to date, however thought bed was a bit soft for my liking and shower/tub seems smaller than average.. Breakfast was fair.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

I travel on business weekly. I enjoy the cleanliness and overall value offered by most Hampton Inns. This property however could benefit from being updated. It also is very noisy, with half of the rooms facing the highway.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The room was clean and updated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and had a variety to choose from. The only negative was the pool seemed to have too much clorine for us. Thanks for the nice stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is one of the older Hampton Inns and it might have been updated but it is still in need of some TLC. The bed is a little too soft for me-pretty much like a marshmallow-I woke up three mornings in a row with a backache. Relatively quiet and the hotel personnel are competent and do know the area to make some decent recommendations for restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay to the back side of the hotel to keep the interstate noise to a minimum-might still hear some b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 1550 E. Kilgore Rd., Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#11 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.