We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Night Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take a 20 minute trip to Kalamazoo and take the children swimming. We picked The Four Points and had the pool to ourselves.
Our room was a double queen, very clean and easy to move in to.
We stopped by the Lounge and had FREE barbecue, a Wednesday deal. The Bartender (Nate) was world class, styling and profiling. Kept busy by all the linemen for out of state, but never flustered and always on top of his Bar.
The lobby, lounge, pool, and room were all fresh and clean. It was well below zero outside but the indoor pool was steaming warm.
One setback was no coffee for the pot in our room, but that was solved with the big Coffee station in the Lobby.
We also saw the hotel is Pet Friendly!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsKalamazoo, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi DW,

Thank you for your kind words! I will make sure Nate knows about your glowing review. I’m glad you were able to enjoy our Wednesday night Manager’s Reception with complementary barbeque, beer, and wine. You are correct that we do allow dogs under 50 pounds at the hotel. Come back and see us again soon, and bring your furry friend!

Valerie
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
11
2
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Four Points while traveling on business. The important things were there: the staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable--in fact, it was one of the most comfortable beds I have experienced at this level of hotel. Since many hotels can't even get these things right, I feel I can give this property a 4-star review. However, several things rubbed me the wrong way: First, my room key was initially programmed incorrectly, requiring me to walk back with my luggage to the front desk and back to my room again (which was at the far end of the hotel). Second, the trim and the furniture showed signs of definite wear: many scuff marks and scratch marks. Finally, I did not appreciate the soap and shampoo being kept in a "dispenser" in the shower. I realize that Sheraton will probably contend that they are "saving the environment" by not providing individual bottles, however I was paying $70+ a night to shower in a hotel, not a gym locker room.

I was a bit nervous about staying at another Sheraton Four Points property after a negative experience I had at the Sheraton Four Points Lexington (Kentucky). That property is an unmitigated disaster (look it up on TripAdvisor to see some horror stories). I can now say that at least the Sheraton Four Points in Kalamazoo provided me with a comfortable room and a good night's sleep, for which I feel I received my money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Hotel is right off I-94 and easy to get to. The lobby has been re-done so it's bright and welcoming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The workout room is about what you would expect from a hotel... 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 1 stationary bike, 1 recumbent bike, a Roman chair, a rack of free weights, a couple of benches and a few yoga mats for stretching. All in all, very adequate for a hotel.

The wireless kept dropping and you would have to re-connect every 15 minutes or so. But it was free so maybe you get what you pay for!

Some rooms have a refrigerator and some do not and we never got a good answer as to why. We had 2 rooms at the same rate, one came with a frig the other did not and if we wanted one in that room it was an additional $10. That was a little odd.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel is right off of I-94. Very easy on/off location. The staff was friendly, and check in was quick and efficient. The hotel is a pet friendly hotel (if you have allergies - be aware of that). Beds were very comfortable, room was layed out well and had plenty of space. Interesting set up for the shower gel, shampoo and conditioner - attached to the wall and had a pump. This seemed like a cheap option for a Sheraton.

Room Tip: Rooms are very loud on the Interstate side of the building, ask to face the parking lot. Room was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsKalamazoo, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us here in Kalamazoo. Hearing that Location, Comfort, and Staff were the main factors in your satisfaction; brings a smile to our face as these are the three things that we love as well with our hotel.

The Starwood family is taking an active approach toward sustainability and minimizing our carbon footprint. The shower dispensers are one of the tools that we are using to achieve this. Thank you again for choosing the Four Points in Kalamazoo and look forward to welcoming you back!

Until then, Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Right off Interstate 94 this was a great "Pet Friendly" spot for our first night on a cross country trip. Reception staff friendly and very helpful. Large pet area close to building exit for our room. The room was clean and bright; the large indoor pool area had no hot tub and the exercise room was a bit small, but overall it was excellent value for the money. The hot breakfast buffet was a bonus!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsKalamazoo, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your experience. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you were able to stay for breakfast. When you are on your next adventure be sure to stop in and say hi! Until then, Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel was conveniently located, plenty of parking and nice reception upon arrival. Lobby was simple but nice...welcoming. Room was very nice..good layout, comfortable beds, nice decor, all the amenities. The wireless was spotty...need some help with this one. Too many choices to connect and some were terrible. Bathroom was clean, neat, nice towels and such. Overall, the room was very satisfactory. Was here for a conference. Rooms were easy to find and staff was very helpful and on top of their game. The fruit, vegetables and cheese was fine...fresh, cut properly and presented well. Prepared hot food was lacking. While they put out a nice looking buffet, the eggs were very plain, not very warm and were obviously powdered eggs...was plenty of bacon and sausage but needed to be kept warmer. There was no toaster to be found (even when requested) for bread or bagels. Pastry was more on the "store bought" side of the scale. The lunch meal of cold cuts, cheese, bread and make your own sandwiches was adequate. Nothing to write home about either way...just adequate. The dinner meal was one of the worst I can remember. The Prime Rib was overcooked, a very thin portion and came out lukewarm. The vegetables were green beans and were somewhere between cooked and wanting to be cooked. The potatoes were served mashed and were tasteless and dry...and barely warm. They need some help in the food department.
The staff in the lounge were most helpful. ALL the draft beer was Michigan micro-brewed. Several choices...not too many recognizable names...was wanting for a cold Sam Adams or a nice amber red like Killeans. The chicken quesadilla was warm, but the chicken was overcooked and the vegetables hard to find. Salsa was good...thank goodness!
Overall, the property was fine as a hotel and a conference facility. If the food was up to par it would have been a very good experience...it would be worhtwhile to scout out some local restaurants before checking in.

Room Tip: Only saw the room I was in...it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed here since they became a Starwood hotel. Really helps cut back on the fatigue when driving to Detroit. Clean hotel with nice indoor pool. Staff was very helpful with getting us a crib.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsKalamazoo, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your feedback!!! We are so glad that you enjoy our hotel and chose to stay with us when you travel between the cities. Next visit you will have to join us in Potter's and try a housemade desert or specialty cocktail.

Until then, Safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo

Address: 3600 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo offers spacious guest rooms conveniently located near Western Michigan University, Wings Stadium, the Bittersweet Ski Area, and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Clarion
Clarion Kalamazoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.