We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing "Quality" about it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Kalamazoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3820 Sprinkle Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Nothing "Quality" about it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel this weekend with a large group. First off, the price was no value for this type of hotel. I had always heard the price for a group rate is cheaper than the regular rate. Not in this place. The poor desk help was by himself handling all the check ins, shoveling of snow, pool care, breakfast stocking, etc. While the halls did not smell bad, as other posters stated, I am not sure how " newly renovated it was". The bathroom was dirty, there was no hot water, they had a ridiculous amount of rules that we have never encountered as a group before. I do not recommend this hotel. Stay across the street at the Candlewood for about $20 more a night. It's a much nicer place.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant J, Manager at Quality Inn Kalamazoo, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
When we get inquiries for group rates, we look at if this group is commissionable or give rebates, (which usually equals $20.00 per room per night), # ppl in rooms, nights, etc. to determine rates, which is usually $10-$15 off regular rates per room BEFORE considering the commissions and rebates. Also, the rules as applied are to try to ensure that ALL guests, (since group members are not the ONLY ones usually staying in hotel at the time) enjoy their stay. When groups involve kids, the majority of times the parents go off to socialize amongst themselves, leaving their kids unattended. Since noone can say anything to the kids without the parents getting upset, one of the rules is that the kids be attended at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
3
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place looks like it hasn't been renovated since the 80s. I was here for the state tennis tournament and this hotel didn't contribute to the experience. The pool, although we didn't use it for this very reason, looked grimy. Who knows what else is nasty? The breakfast room, for sure. A mouse was found running around in there one night. If you didn't know, there's a great Raddison downtown. Stay there if you can.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant J, Manager at Quality Inn Kalamazoo, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
It is regreatable about the mouse situation. What happens is we have side entrance doors that guests always leave ajar with stones or such instead of using their room keys which allows bugs and critters to come in. Yes, for atleast $210 a night, the Radisson is located within a short distance. There all of their doors are equipped with alarms so as not to allow guests to leave ajar or open for a long period of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here on business. I had checked TripAdvisor first for reviews and noticed a lot of complaints about the smell of smoke. When I checked in, I advised the pleasant clerk that I don't like the smell of smoke. He gave me a room that was freshly painted with brand new carpet, drapes and bedding. My room was clean and fresh. I complimented the very nice maid in the hallway. They have a pool, I didn't use it. Breakfast comes with your stay. The breakfast area was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant J, Manager at Quality Inn Kalamazoo, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your comment. Our rooms were just newly renovated with all new bedding and room furniture when we became the Quality Inn from the Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Negative: Rude agent at the front desk, he wasn't helpful when I asked for restaurants, he mumbled and it was like you were putting him out. No hot water for morning shower and the bathroom was dirty. The pool is outdated and dirty with rusty doors. The hotel was the only one available and was expensive for what you get. Go down the street to a Marriot or Hampton Inn for $15 more.
Positive: There is a McDonalds across the parking lot for ok coffee and it is by the expressway for easy access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We were very happy that the hotel was easy to find and the air conditioner worked well after a hot days running! The service was friendly, the room was a nice size, and everything was clean and modern feeling. I would definitely highly recommend staying here!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orion, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I just read the review from the person that was charged for smoking when it was someone else on their floor.SAME THING HAPPENED TO US IN JANUARY! I, too, disputed the charge, and Cusotmer service would not remove the charge. Jacuzzi tub was grimy, and i found mold in the coffee urn in the room. When i mentioned the coffee urn, the front desk person brought the housekeeper out into the lobby to reprimand her - AWKWARD. I would never stay here again. It was horrible

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you smell smoking make sure you report it or you will end up being the persons charged.

I looked at my bank statement and was charged an extra 150 dollars.

During my stay I could smell smoking on our floor and nearby the whole time.

I ended up getting charged for it and had to call their customer service. They did nothing for me. Honesty is the best policy, sorry quality inn that is the last time you get my business.

Didn't replace the TP or empty the garbage cans in the room. Poor service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Kalamazoo

Address: 3820 Sprinkle Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor heated pool,complimentary breakfast,fitness room,wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalamazoo Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.