We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Kalamazoo East to your Saves list
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 E Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Loud”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Normally, we have much success at Residence Inns, however, this experience was less than ideal. My husband was running a marathon in Kalamazoo, so quiet for a good night of sleep was a necessity. In past experience, we have found Residence Inn's to be mostly business travelers, and therefore, very quiet. When we arrived back at our hotel from dinner, our "neighbors" (this hotel is set up more like an apartment complex than a hotel) had about 15 people in their room and were yelling and banging against the walls. Eventually, they stopped, but we found the noise from the road distracting as well. Not our best night sleep. The rooms, like most Residence Inns are fully stocked and fairly large. The outside definitely needs updating. In hindsight, I wished we had chosen a more typical hotel for our needs on this trip, but for those of you who have similar expectations of Residence Inns, please note this one is atypical. The hotel location is also very odd, so pay close attention to your directions as you arrive.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the road. This will most likely put you on the side of the parking lot, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I understand that your trip was not what you have come to expect from a Residence Inn and can only imagine how frustrating it was to deal with the noise from another guest room. I would like to apologize for the lack of rest that you had during such an important event. When you experience a loud guest at our hotel or any hotel please know that the hotel staff will call or go to the room to make sure they are staying quite so that all guest can enjoy a peaceful night. We will stay on top of it and take all necessary actions to make sure that the disturbance is eliminated so everyone can enjoy their stay. I hope you will try our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
44
18
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My first time staying at a residence inn was a pleasant one. The staff were always friendly and helpful in showing us the facilities. Breakfast did provide a nice variety for being included in the cost of the room. The evening meals that are also provided in the cost were nice and varied - I only ate in the Inn twice and was pleased with what was served.

The room itself was rather big! I was in the main building that serves breakfast and dinner, and apparently these rooms had just been redecorated. The walk through dresser was a surprise, and the bathroom and kitchen immaculately clean.

I didn't have a chance to use the gym facilities however they looked sufficient for 4 or 5 people to be in there at any one time. I did use the laundry facilities and found the waiting area a little dated with nowhere to really sit, but otherwise no nasty surprises like shrunk clothes was had!

One of the downsides is it being a bit out of town, especially if you want to go somewhere else for dinner. There are a few restaurants nearby, but a bigger variety lies across town which is a 15 minute drive away.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building that serve dinner and breakfast are apparently slightly bigger and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Kalamazoo. We appreciate the wonderful things you had to say about the staff. Customer service is our number one priority and it is something we all love to do! We are located on the outskirts of the busy area to keep that apartment / at home feeling. We do have several restaurants within 5 miles of the hotel on Westnedge ave. However the downtown Kalamazoo area is about a 10 minute drive but well worth the extra time, it is such a cute area. I hope you will come to Kalamazoo again soon and we can give you some closer options for dining in Kalamazoo. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked this hotel because of it's reasonable price and location close to my son's university, but we were very pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and quality of the furnishings. I miss their fluffy pillows! The free breakfast was good, and everything was enhanced by the friendliness of the staff. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the stairs are exterior, and even with salt, felt scary after it snowed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Residence Inn. Your kind words are much appreciated. We are so happy the snow is gone also. I hope we see you again maybe for a swim in the summertime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Overall the room and price were great but the outside is definitely in need of maintenance. Our children were afraid to walk up the stairs and having to walk outside to get to breakfast in Michigan in winter/early spring can be very cold and wet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review on the Residence Inn. I understand your comments on the exterior of the property. This long winter has been very harsh on the exterior of the property and we are working every dry day to have us looking fresh for the spring. I hope you will return later this spring or summer so you can see the improvements. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend while covering call at Bronson hospital. I found the staff to be very pleasant, if informal (kept calling me Sabina, but that may have been because they couldn't pronounce my last name!)!
The Facility was very nice... i was very impressed at how clean the rooms were on the inside (the exterior leaves something to be desired, but then its michigan in the winter... everything is rusty and worn!)

Unfortunately, right next to 94... if you can't sleep through traffic noise... this is not a good place for you to rest.

Room Tip: sits along the highway... traffic noise is inevitable in everyroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. Michigan winters are tough and we appreciate that you recognize that. We are in the process of a sprig grounds clean up this week. I hope you will stay with us again when you are in Kalamazoo so you can see the progress. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was amazed at how spotless this place was!! Awesome housekeeping for sure, even leaving a personal note for the guests in each room!! Nice touch!! The Front Desk clerk was friendly and receptive, providing great service, bringing extra pillows and towels to our room, which was in a detached building, while it was raining!! Breakfast area was spotless, provided HOT and FRESH food, with a vast selection. Kitchen staff was the friendliest I've ever experienced. She deserves to be recognized, as she promtly catered to every guest on a busy Saturday morning, clearing dishes, offering to re-fill juices and provided extra napkins. Kudos to this Management Team for an amazing selection of staff, who easily provided such kind and professional service!! Great TEAMWORK!!!!

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and perfect for short or long stays. Great option for families too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. I appreciate the time you took from your day to let others know about your experience at the Residence Inn Kalamazoo. I will share your feedback with Amanda our Breakfast clerk. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend for business. My coworker and I had a 2 bedroom suite, we each had our own room and our own bathroom. The room was spotless! Our housekeeper even wrote us a note to enjoy our weekend and stay. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was delicious. Would stay here again if I had to come back to Kalamazoo!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Kalamazoo East was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Address: 1500 E Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#11 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kalamazoo East 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the “NEWLY RENOVATED” Residence Inn Kalamazoo, your home away from home. The newly renovated guest rooms achieve an extraordinary balance of comfort and function with the fully equipped Kitchen areas and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Ideal for families or VIPs, these newly restyled guest rooms offer the space and amenities you require when traveling for a long period of time or just a short trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.