We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Kalamazoo East to your Saves list
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 E Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Orland Park, IL
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A very nice Residence Inn that has separate buildings rather than a large hotel with many floors. Outdoor pool, whirlpool, gas grill and fire pit to relax in the evenings. Terrific free breakfast that was always well prepared and tasty and kept filled by Amanda who always was smiling and friendly. Our room was spotless and large for a one room suite. Very close to shopping and restaurants in Portage, Mi. I would definitely return here again when in the Kalamazoo area. Only drawback is the lack of wireless access in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Residence Inn. Amanda is a treat and has a wonderful talent for the service she provides. Thank you so much for taking the time to express your satisfaction here on Trip Advisor. I truly appreciate the time you took to do so. I hope you find your way back to Residence Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
44
18
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Whenever we go to Kalamazoo, we always stay at the Residence Inn. The rooms are spacious and include a kitchen, desk and living room areas. The staff is always friendly and helpful. This might not be the newest of properties, but it is very well maintained and clean.

One of the days we spent by the pool & hot tub with the kids. They loved it.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you cannot carry luggage to the second floor, I would recommend gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

In town on biz. Made last minute reservation and had a good experience. Check in was quick friendly and efficient. Clerk made an effort to put me in a quiet room. Room was clean and efficient. Very comfortable. Would gladly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I chose the Residence Inn Kalamazoon East for the home base for my family reunion last year the first weekend in August. ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT I CHOSE THEM AGAIN FOR THE REUNION THIS YEAR!!!!!

The Suites were clean and updated and it had the feel that you were home. It was like having a timeshare with everything that was offered.

Everyone that worked there was very nice.

Now they have a free breakfast and it was not your doughnuts and fruit..It was a Wonderfull Spread of meat, bagels, waffles, eggs, fruit just about anything you could think of....

I can't wait for my reunion just to stay at this place...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is an older style of Residence Inn with the apartment style buildings and all rooms have exterior entrances. The room and kitchen area were clean and acceptable. The whole place is showing some age and needs updating. The carpet is worn. I had a hard time getting a consistent flow out of the shower head and there was grout or something falling from the wall where the shower head came out when I tried to adjust it. Breakfast buffet was typical except that one morning they offerred breakfast burritos which was something different and good. Desk staff were courteous and helpful. The outside steps going up to the 2nd floor are showing age just like the deck landing on the 2nd floor. I would probably try a different hotel if I were to come back to this area only because of the age of this property.

Room Tip: First floor rooms might have headlights shining in your windows. 2nd floor rooms you need to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was on a Business Trip and needed a place where I can cook as well have a hassel free stay. Residence Inn was the most preferred hotel based on the feedback i got from others. The staff are very friendly and take a moment out to greet you and ask your 'Status'.

The breakfast is complementary but I find it repeating and boring sometimes. But everything is fresh and clean. My room was just next to the road but the environment is peaceful. The hotel is very near to Miejer's, the grocery megastore. And there is a fitness center and laundary too!

Overall, a very nice and hassel free stay!

Room Tip: It always better to ask for a room on the ground floor as the stairs are narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We just completed a three week stay at this hotel and felt very welcomed. ALL staff were as nice as can be and very professional. Any one would be wise to hire these people as they know what the hospitality industry is about. No request was denied or went unfulfilled. The room was very large, well equipped and very comfortable and very clean. We felt like we were at home every day. The rooms are a bit tired with older furniture but still quite comfortible. We did not hear any road noise but one can hear people walking in the room above and water flushing. We had our two dogs with us and still felt welcomed. A reasonable pet fee is charged. There is a small pet relief area and the neighbourhood is good for dog walking. The location is very convenient to I94 and downtown Kalamazoo and a 3 minute drive to the airport. Breakfast is provided daily and on three nights of the week, a light but adequate dinner is provided in the lounge without charge. I stay over 150 nights per year in hotels and this one even though it is ageing is near the top. Stay here, you will like it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Address: 1500 E Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#12 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kalamazoo East 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the “NEWLY RENOVATED” Residence Inn Kalamazoo, your home away from home. The newly renovated guest rooms achieve an extraordinary balance of comfort and function with the fully equipped Kitchen areas and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Ideal for families or VIPs, these newly restyled guest rooms offer the space and amenities you require when traveling for a long period of time or just a short trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.