We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with the friendliest staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Kalamazoo East to your Saves list
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 E Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice place with the friendliest staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We just completed a three week stay at this hotel and felt very welcomed. ALL staff were as nice as can be and very professional. Any one would be wise to hire these people as they know what the hospitality industry is about. No request was denied or went unfulfilled. The room was very large, well equipped and very comfortable and very clean. We felt like we were at home every day. The rooms are a bit tired with older furniture but still quite comfortible. We did not hear any road noise but one can hear people walking in the room above and water flushing. We had our two dogs with us and still felt welcomed. A reasonable pet fee is charged. There is a small pet relief area and the neighbourhood is good for dog walking. The location is very convenient to I94 and downtown Kalamazoo and a 3 minute drive to the airport. Breakfast is provided daily and on three nights of the week, a light but adequate dinner is provided in the lounge without charge. I stay over 150 nights per year in hotels and this one even though it is ageing is near the top. Stay here, you will like it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
44
18
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Calhoun, Nebraska
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here numerous times over the last 3 years. For me, I like the odler style RI's with the campus building layout versus the newer "hotel style" properties. These properties also have much larger rooms than the new designs. I've consistemtly had good front desk and staff interactions, and the full breakfast is in line with what I get at other RI properties. Having said that, it's time for a remodel. When you combine the space of the older RI rooms with fresh fixtures, bedding and flat screen TV's you've got a winning combination.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Since this hotel is aimed at long term stays, the rooms are very spacious, with a full kitchen, dishwasher, stove, microwave, etc. The staff was super friendly. The room we had needs a new carpet. The present one has stains. Other than that, there was nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: We used Priceline and got the room for $75. That's a bargain for the room we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

There are very few Pro's at this property but quite a few on Con's.

First, the front desk staff was friendly and polite upon arrival and made me feel welcome. I just wish the room I was assigned did the same.

The property is almost like an apartment complex like setup with several buildings with maybe 8 rooms per building. I was assigned a room in Building 13 which was a decent distance from the main office building. The first thing I noticed when entering the room was the smell of fried food that was cooked recently, it wasn't a good smell. After getting settled in a bit it was time for some work....well that didn't happen because there is limited wireless Internet at the property. I called the front desk and was told it was only available in certain buildings and in the main office building...not helpful for me!

I was surprised that the hotel didn't have wireless which had a known would have chose elsewhere since I work from a tablet and cannot just plug into the Internet.

Beyond the wireless Internet issues, the pillows and sheets had a musty smell, the toilet had a visible black mold ring around the rim and the room obviously wasn't cleaned very well from the previous several guest. Heavy soap scum and mold on the tiles in the shower, etc.

It is an older Residence Inn and once you stay in the updated versions it is very hard to go back to the old and having one this not clean on top of everything else was just a big turn off for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

EVerything was above expectations at this hotel. Service, decor and cleanliness was A1. The hotel room was immaculate and bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast offered as part of the room package at other hotels were sometimes just adequate but this breakfast had great choices and quality. The only thing that may not appealing is the pool is outside which was perfect for our time spent since it was incredibly hot but would be missed in cooler weather by not being enclosed. It was a very nice experience staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in August and highly recomemd this hotel. The staff goes out of their way by being extemely pleasant, helpful, and considerate to the guests. Our room was very clean and it was nice to have the dishes, glasses, fridge, microwave, and dishwasher to use (dishwasher soap is even available). When we arrived on Thursday, there was a very good complimentary meal which consisted of meat loaf, mashed potates, and salad. Carrie the manager even transported us to the event we were attending and picked us up afterwards. We highly recommend anyone traveling to Kalamazoo to stay here. We wish we could have this type of customer service EVERYWHERE we travel to. This was was one of the best experiences we have had in our travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed there 3 nights over the Labor Day 2012 weekend. The staff, including maids, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. But the property itself is not up to Marriott quality anymore. Perhaps the property owner should consider a remodel. The exterior needs repainting. One of the bedroom drapes was stuck in position; it moved with great difficulty and needs repair. Readers should consider the newer Fairfield Inn off of I-94 at Exit 80 (2 miles NE), until this property is remodeled.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Address: 1500 E Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#12 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kalamazoo East 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the “NEWLY RENOVATED” Residence Inn Kalamazoo, your home away from home. The newly renovated guest rooms achieve an extraordinary balance of comfort and function with the fully equipped Kitchen areas and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Ideal for families or VIPs, these newly restyled guest rooms offer the space and amenities you require when traveling for a long period of time or just a short trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.