We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Service at the Best Hotel in K'zoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center to your Saves list
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicagoland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service at the Best Hotel in K'zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Once again it was my pleasure to bring my Senior Citizens Motorcoach Tour to the Radisson Hotel in Kalamazoo. This is our hotel of choice whenever I do a tour to the Kalamazoo area. Derrick Ricca, the Sales Manager, and the entire staff at this property came through for us once again with impeccable service in every area. The hotel is beautiful - great downtown location, and our rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the hotel's dining room, Zazio's, before leaving for the concert at the Miller Auditorium. They knew our schedule was tight from arrival that afternoon to departure for the theatre, and the dining room was ready for us, our dinner was served on time, and the food was wonderful. I can't say enough good things about this hotel . . . they consistently meet and exceed the high standards that I set for my King of the Road tours. Thank you, Derrick, and everyone at the Radisson Hotel in Kalamazoo . . . we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBader, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2009
I just wanted you to know that we truly enjoyed you being our guest and feel honored that you have chosen the Radisson Plaza Hotel & Suites. We look forward to serving you for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    149
    44
    31
    11
See reviews for
106
112
23
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lansing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Just had my son's wedding and used the Radisson as our base of operations, out of town rooms and for the rehearsal dinner etc etc. The GM is Nick Ambroselli and he was a master of customer service. In a world lacking service to the customer they have been able to instill extra effort in every employee we came in contact. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Helpful staff and loved the downtown location. Large hotel with lots of restaurants and shops in the main lobby. Clean room with sleep number bed was great! Housekeeping staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBader, Quality Service Manager at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! Please come again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

This is a very good hotel, with remarkably friendly, attentive service in all departments--the reception desk, the bell desk, the restaurants, and the rooms. The two best restaurants, Webster's and Zazio's are tip-top. The only complaint--a minor one--is with the bed linen. To make this a real luxury hotel, they should really have cotton sheets and pillow cases, also softer pillows. I've been staying here once a year for some time, and always been pleased, but found it especially good this year. The negative reviews are describing a different hotel in a different town--especially the one complaining about bums lying around in the streets. Boston and New York yes. Kalamazoo, no.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo mi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We live in Kalamazoo. We also travel extensively as a family. We sometimes choose a night at the Radisson just for a getaway without the hassle of leaving town. It's a gem. We always leave with another set of happy memories.
My husband brought me Valentine's Day, 2007 for a surprise. We had a wonderful time, as usual. We ate dinner in Burdicks (our favorite for the causal atmosphere and wonderful food) and had a whirlpool room.
I got on-line to book a room for New Year's Eve and noticed some of the not-so glowing reviews. I was shocked and had to take the time to write one.

  • Liked — The food/restaurants. The flower shop, Sofia's, and other shopping is fun. THe aquarium down at the pool is wonderful .
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

I try to like things in Kalamazoo, but even the best things in Kalamazoo seem to disappoint. The hotel and the staff were both nice, but the valet was the slowest I've ever experienced. The restaurants are terribly overpriced for the quality of the food. The food prices are equivalent to what one would pay in Chicago, at maybe half as good.

The entire hotel is non-smoking now, but apparently the room I had was a former smoking room b/c it still smelled. It's really aggravating to pay regular rates for a non-smoking room that smells like smoke.

They also need a better snack/gift shop. I just wanted a bag of Dorito's!

  • Liked — Idun spa
  • Disliked — smoke-smelling rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Terrible mattress - sagging beyond belief
lumpy pillows
scratchy sheets
threadbare towels
bought coffee from Rio in lobby - was cold and at premium price
felt unsafe with lots of men wandering aimlessly in the immediate neighborhood of the hotel

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Address: 100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#2 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Plaza Hotel & Suites of Kalamazoo-winner of the Radisson Hotel of the Year award for 2013! Our highest priority is the comfort of our guests. We deliver the highest quality in lodging, dining, shopping, fitness and spa. We want create an amazing experience and be your "10"! Please let us know how we can best host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Hotel At Kalamazoo Kalamazoo
Radisson Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Radisson
Radisson Plaza Hotel Kalamazoo Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.