We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and close to restaurants and bars downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center to your Saves list
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and close to restaurants and bars downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for WMU commencement and was really pleased with the hotel and it's staff. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The only reason I didn't give an excellent was the bathroom was tiny! It's close to where we went for dinner, so no driving needed which makes it very nice and safer. We would certainly suggest this hotel for a stay in Kalamazoo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Congratulations on your recent Western Graduate!

I am sorry to hear that the bathroom was not up to your standards. We hope that you will return soon and we can have the opportunity to upgrade you to one of our suites with larger bathrooms.

Thank you for suggesting us to others!

Sincerely,
Michelle and the entire Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    115
    38
    27
    10
See reviews for
75
82
22
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed 4 days and was coming in at very late hours and sleeping until the afternoons and had total quiet and comfortable surroundings in my room and throughout the hotel. An awesome lobby with inside shops, bars and restaurants. Everything I needed was close by. The staff was always helpful, courteous, and treated me like the "guest" that i was. I will happily return.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor and the curtains were able to close and block out the sunlight enough so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

We know your time is important and valuable- thank you for using it to talk about how hotel with others. We are very happy to hear that we succeeded at offering the basic service, quality sleep. Guest relationships are important to us and a constant focus in our culture. We love to hear about guests that we 'get it right' for and are made to feel appreciated. Thanks for sharing!

Sincerely,
The Radisson Plaza, KalamazooTeam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Beautiful renovations since last visit, but still poorly staffed. We were attending a meeting and hotel was sold out. No surprise that they would be busy. Only one person at front desk, and two very busy bellman trying to keep up with retrieving luggage and cars. The club floor was a huge disappointment as a continental breakfast was whisked away at 8 am. Not everyone there had to be at meetings by 8 am. No fruit and cold oatmeal that was so thick, you didn't need a bowl since none was provided anyway. 2 drink limit per room which is totally fine, but offer higher end beverages! Club floor NOT worth the up charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Pamela,

Thank you for the feedback, we value it very much. I would love to speak with you directly and get more information on what type of beverages you would like to see offered in 100 West. Currently, we offer top-shelf liquors, standard American lagers and seasonal micro brews from local breweries. We are always open to suggestions and more than happy to get your drink of choice on an individual basis. If you decide to visit us again (which we hope you will), please do not hesitate to ask- we love to fulfill needs and exceed expectations!

Thank you,
Michelle M
269-343-3333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is just blocks from the train station and conveniently located near the better shops and restaurants. It's an upscale hotel with reasonable prices, very pleasant decor, and good service. The best part of the hotel is the boutique called "Sydney" on the ground floor, which has really lovely men's and women's clothing for a fraction of what they would cost on the coasts.
The only negative is the breakfast service in the hotel restaurant, where the staff is overwhelmed and the wait too long.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for sharing your stay and shopping experience with others! Sydney carries brands from all over the world and our Retail Director is constantly travelling to be sure that we have original and upscale fashions overflowing from the store. I am glad that you got a chance to shop there, it is definitely a great experience.

I apologize that your breakfast experience was not up to standard. Your review has been sent along to the Food and Beverage Director as well as the Burdick's for Breakfast Managers to be addressed and corrected. Your feedback is appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon.

Gratefully,
The team at Radisson Plaza, Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

For someone who is on the road weekly, the Kalamazoo in the Radisson is a bit like coming home. It is inviting in so many ways: the staff are fantastic - I'd like to give a special shout out to Nick, one of the valets who had the best attitude of anyone I've met in a long while. He seemed to delight in taking care of his customers. The rooms are decorated with character. It is relatively quiet and yet there's a lot going on in the hotel, so you don't feel lonely. There are three restaurant options and everything is reasonably priced. I will stay here again :o)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and compliment our hotel so highly! Being "a bit like...home" is the highest compliment we can ask for and a goal that we strive for with every guest. We will be sure to celebrate Nick's attitude and impact throughout the company.

Looking forward to seeing you again!
The Kalamazoo Radisson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was my first stay at this Radisson in many years of travel to Kalamazoo. The hotel staff were polite and helpful, and the amenities were great. My room was very quiet, and the bed and pillows were really comfortable. I also appreciated having a safe in the room, and the wifi worked flawlessly. The only real issue I had was with housekeeping. I had to request maintenance on the tub drain and the toilet, issues which I thought should have been caught by the housekeeping staff (wouldn't they notice that the tub wasn't draining properly?). Also, when I moved in, I noticed a piece of food -- cereal or a nut or something -- on the floor in the sitting area in my room, and it was still there when I left four days later, as was the lint-like dust on the table. That was the only anomaly I noticed during my stay, which otherwise was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello,

We appreciate that you took the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. First, I am sorry about the poor housekeeping service that you were provided with. We pride ourselves on doing better. Our Executive Housekeeper has already received your comments and will review them with his team. Please give us a chance to show you that our Housekeeping team holds themselves to high standards and that the performance you saw is not the norm.

We are happy that you chose to stay with us on this trip to Kalamazoo and hope that the positive experiences with the wifi, quality of room/bedding and of course, our team will keep you coming back!

Thank you,
Michelle and the Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had reserved a "concierge" level room but were put in a regular, but large, room. When we realized the mistake, the hotel was willing to move us to a smaller room on the concierge level, but neglected to tell us what services were offered. We missed happy hour one night, breakfast the next morning, and the one breakfast we had was meager and inedible--they'd run out of coffee(!) and yogurt. The swimming pool smelled like a Clorox bottle. Although most of the guest were attending the same conference, there was virtually no information available about how to get there.

Room Tip: Both rooms we tried were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello,

Please accept our more sincere apologies that your visit with us did not meet or exceed your expectations. In regards to both the Concierge services and the conference schedule; there is no excuse for not giving you all the information available. Maps and shuttle schedules were created and intended to be made available to each guest. I apologize and will address our shortcomings with the team.

While we can't rewind time and give you back the time you have spent dealing with our shortcomings, we are anxious to find a resolution that satisfies you moving forward. Please contact the hotel directly at (269)343-3333 and ask for Michelle. I look forward to speaking with you.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We value all feedback and know that it is necessary to achieve our service goals.

Sincerely,
Michelle and the Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Address: 100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Plaza Hotel & Suites of Kalamazoo-winner of the Radisson Hotel of the Year award for 2013! Our highest priority is the comfort of our guests. We deliver the highest quality in lodging, dining, shopping, fitness and spa. We want create an amazing experience and be your "10"! Please let us know how we can best host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Hotel At Kalamazoo Kalamazoo
Radisson Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Radisson
Radisson Plaza Hotel Kalamazoo Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.