We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My birthday weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center to your Saves list
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My birthday weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for my 21st birthday so I could experience the bars located in the hotel and not have to worry about driving. The pool is amazing, the hot tub is wonderful, zazzios inside is great, the room is beautiful, the view is lovely!!! I can't say enough how great this place was!!! It's a little pricey but it's worth it for a romantic experience. We will be staying here the night of our wedding as well!! Molly at the front desk was so friendly and sweet and made my birthday feel important. I love this hotel and can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Sarah,

Happy birthday and thank you for choosing to celebrate with us! I am happy to hear that you had a great night and enjoyed your stay enough to trust us with a night as special as your wedding.

Best of luck in the coming months of decision making- here's to calm and uneventful wedding planning! See you soon.

Thank you,
Michelle and The Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    149
    44
    31
    11
See reviews for
107
113
23
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, MI
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a very beautiful hotel in downtown Kalamazoo. The public areas are awesome. The restaurant Old Burdick's was great. The rooms were very modern and clean. The staff was supportive, but we had an issue with our keys but they handled it smoothly. Radisson should be very proud of this property!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello,

Wow, thank you for the awesome compliments! We are so happy that you enjoyed our renovations and even more, got to experience the service that we work hard to provide to each guest. We are preparing for a complete key system upgrade before August. The new system uses RFID technology instead of the antiquated magnetic technology. The RFID system is much more stable and will all but eradicate key issues.

Again, thank you for the kind words and for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to your return.

All the best,
The entire Kalamazoo Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a large group meeting this past week in KZ. The Radisson Plaza was a perfect location and with great services from top to bottom. Comfortable rooms, well appointed meeting rooms, wonderful on site meal options and walking distance to numerous great restaurants. An added plus is one of the best, hotel based work out centers I have seen.
One point for improvement is the internal wireless system. The system worked inconsistently in the meeting rooms and very poorly in the sleeping rooms. I understand from the hotel management team they are making a change to the system and the service provider in Q2 2013 which will take away the only reason they do not deserve a 5 rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Lisa,

We are so happy that you had a great week in Kalamazoo and we were able to help make that happen!

You are correct. Improving the consistency of our wireless internet is and has been top priority. Within the last two months, we made a large upgrade to the infrastructure. Throughout the coming months will be working with our providers to best utilize the equipment and in turn, provide a stable connection to our guests. I apologize for the inconvenience on you during your stay but appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we could have improved your stay.

Thank you for your visit and the time you spent sharing your experience with others; we appreciate both.

Sincerely,
The Kalamazoo Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Our family visited this hotel as my wife a work conference there in April 2013. My family is three girls between 18 months and 7 years old. First on their mind was - of course -the pool. The fitness area was very nice. Lots of machines, and great staff. The pool area was very nice. The pool had a good balance of height areas and a waterfall. The challenge was it was FRIGID. Maybe I am soft but I want a heated pool and this one was quite cold. They did have a huge hot tub which was a nice alternative. They also had a life guard floating around which is a bonus.

The rooms were nice. They had a fridge but ours did not work - although we did not call about it. The beds were comfy. The hotel brought us a pack and play which is a huge bonus over the rickety cribs. We had plenty of room to make us all comfy.

Right next to the hotel was a nice free museum. There were many hands on exhibits which entertained each kid but it was not like a big toy store like some children's museums. There was also a Greek American restaurant only a couple of blocks away called Theo and Stacy's which had great breakfasts (American) at a much better price than the hotel.

Parking was not free but was part of the conference so I don't know the rates.

Overall this was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello,

We are so happy that you got to travel together for the conference and enjoy some time family time!

Our apologies that the pool was not as warm as you would have liked. We keep it at a constant of 82 degrees as our attempt at a medium between those that use it as a lap pool and those that enjoy it for recreation. Also, very sorry to hear about the issue with the refrigerator. In the future, please don't hesitate to let us know when something is not exactly what you need. It is very important to us that your stay goes beyond your expectations. Especially, when families get the rare time to travel together, we want to make sure everything we offer goes above your needs.

We are hoping that you will return in the future. When you do, be sure to try out the Crow's Nest for breakfast- they have a few amazing signature dishes that you will definitely rave about.

Thank you for sharing the details of your experience at our hotel, we appreciate your visit and the time you spent helping us get better.

All the best,
The Radisson Plaza Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here numerous times in the past. They are now finished with the extensive renovation that happened last year. I hardly recognized the place this year! Rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The staff is well informed and helpful. The restaurants are very good, but if you like there is a pedestrian mall a block away that has numerous restaurants and stores for shopping. Parking is either valet or self park in the enclosed parking structure across the street with a covered walkway to the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello Jeff,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We always appreciate hearing what our guests have to say.

We love offering food/restaurant suggestion so when you return, please be sure to pick our brains. As always, don't be afraid to give us a challenge, we look forward to them.

Again, we appreciate the time that you took to share the good news about our renovations, team and outlets. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Travel safe,
The Kalamazoo Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was here for the NACADA conference April 3-5. I very much enjoyed my stay here. While my bathroom seemed small the room was very comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed a good nights sleep in the very comfortable bed! I wish I had checked to see what kind of bed it was as I would like to have one! Checkout and valet services were seamless. The staff were attentive and whe extra chairs were needed they were there within minutes. The catering staff were friendly and the food was very good. I was impressed!
The close by restaurant Burdicks was awesome too! Had dinner there one night and it was very good and quite reasonable. I loved the 1/2 price wine they offered on Thursday evening. Made it for a nice respite between a long day conferencing and evening events.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I did not ask but those that did seemed to get an upgrade just for asking. Being a Club Carlson memb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello,

Our entire team is grateful that you took the time to write about your recent stay with us. Thank you.

While our standard bathrooms are definitely not huge, we renovated the decor and upgraded the lighting and amenities to provide a better bathroom for our guests. Next time you visit, please be sure to ask about our rooms with upgraded bathrooms- they are larger and offer separate tub and shower. We will happy to see that you experience a stay in one!

Unfortunately, 'fine print' does not allow us to post the mattress type that we use in our rooms. If you ever want, please call and we can provide you with all of that information- (269)343-3333.

I am happy to hear that you got to visit Webster's during a half off wine time! Webster's also has Wine Down Wednesdays (half off wine), live music on Wednesdays and Fridays plus Hoppy Hours throughout the week (half off beer). Hopefully, we will see you relaxing and enjoying Webster's again in the near future!

Happy Spring! (or if you are in the same zone as us- Happy extended winter!)
The Radisson Team in Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had a great two night stay. Very nice hotel for reasonable price. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Staff was over-the-top accomodating and helpful. Shuttle available for local excursions. Music festivals in the summer. I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: 9th floor has it's own lounge, breakfast and reception in early evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello Ralph,

We certainly can't ask for a much better guest recommendation than "Stay Here!". Thank you very much for letting others know about our hotel. It makes us very happy when our hard work means people enjoyed their stay enough to suggest us to others.

We hope to see you back soon- maybe a festival this summer, Bob Dylan or Art Hop?

Gratefully,
The entire team at the Kalamazoo Radisson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Address: 100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#2 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Plaza Hotel & Suites of Kalamazoo-winner of the Radisson Hotel of the Year award for 2013! Our highest priority is the comfort of our guests. We deliver the highest quality in lodging, dining, shopping, fitness and spa. We want create an amazing experience and be your "10"! Please let us know how we can best host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Hotel At Kalamazoo Kalamazoo
Radisson Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Radisson
Radisson Plaza Hotel Kalamazoo Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.