We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Save Saved
You added Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 20%
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Perfect hotel for what it's designed to be. Price is probably a bit much for the demographic in the surrounding area though. Very spacious and very clean, beautiful rooms. Great decor throughout the hotel. Great service and atmosphere. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the compliments! We are glad to hear that you are happy with the renovations and enjoyed the new guestrooms. Have a safe and happy holiday season.

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Michelle and the Kalamazoo Radisson team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    73
    20
    15
    6
See reviews for
39
43
12
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

No complaints at this very nice hotel in Kalamazoo. It is the nicest hotel in Kalamazoo with an indoor pool and nice workout area. The hotel has a number of nice restaurants and a bar. The only issue is price which can be high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for awarding us as the nicest hotel in Kalamazoo! We are happy to hear your thoughts, especially as someone who as tried other hotels in Kalamazoo.

We are running lots of specials and promotional rates for this season. Please call us and we can always work with you to get you the best stay possible!

Thanks for your time,
Michelle and the downtown Kalamazoo Radisson team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The room once inside was fine but... We had to go to the front desk 5 times to get our card key recoded because we could not get in our room. Front desk staff kept trying to blame us saying we must have had it next to a credit card or phone. We did neither. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and never been treated with such accusatory disregard. To add to this our "validated" parking did not work either so we paid $20 to get out if the lot the night we registered. Told the desk & they did not reimburse or correct problem. We gave them 2nd parking slip to validate & no surprise to us it did not work either. Another $20 parking fee. We do not recommend this hotel. You would get better treatment at Super 8.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello,

I am sincerely sorry that we did not give you the experience that you deserved while staying with us. I understand that you feel you have already spent too much time dealing with the difficulties at the hotel. If you could give a few more minutes and speak with me, I am confident that we can find a way to make this right for you.

I look forward to hearing from you. Please call 269-343-3333.

Thank you,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Catching up on some reviews, was here a couple of weeks back to conduct some business in town.

Arrival: Lobby gives you the sense of upscale and trendy. Note that valet parking is available, cost was $20 a day if you select. Self parking in the adjacent parking garage was $15. Covered walkway from the garage to the hotel going above the street. Front desk staff were helpful and knowledgeable, Allison was able to explain the logistics of the hotel clearly for me upon arrival and also Josh provided some helpful dining options around the downtown.

Room: Selected a business suite as I do a lot of work at night and sometimes bring takeout to my room. Kitchenette with single burner and full size refrigerator. Mini coffee maker, sink, dishwasher and plates/silverware. Bathroom spacious, double vanity separate from shower/toilet area, shower quite large with an area to sit in the stall, dual shower heads independently controlled, one fixed and one with a wand. Water was plenty hot, pressure could have been higher. My only complaint was the wireless (is free BTW), it seems to come and go at times, I contacted the front desk and they said they would report it to IT. Maybe it was because I was at the end of the building, but not sure. Once I was aware of it, then I was able to deal with it, watching when I sent things. Would be nice to have wired connection as an option.

Fitness center. One of the better ones that I have seen, half a dozen treadmills, about the same for ellipticals and about 3 bikes. A complete module of Nautilus, as well as free weights. Also a room for fitness classes. Pool area attached with hot tub as well, was well maintained. Locker room is outstanding with showers. Lockers to secure your items and a sauna as well. Plenty of towels, and even a machine to wring the water out of your swim trunks.

Dining: I am not a breakfast person but I am told the buffet is top notch, I took advantage of the apples at the front desk. I frequented the Rio in the mornings for coffee, Starbucks brands served. They have lattes, espressos and such, and also brewed coffee at a kiosk where you can serve yourself. Flavored creams are comp. Chose to take dinner at other locations but have heard well about the options in the hotel.

I dont frequent Kalamazoo for my business travel but if I were to return, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello!

We appreciate that you took the time to share information and opinions about your recent visit with us- thanks! I hope that you got time to enjoy the view from the large windows in the business class suites and that the room suited your needs for working at night.

Our apologies regarding the wireless connection. Within the last few weeks, we have significantly upgraded the infrastructure and you should expect much better connections on your future stays. With our switch to completely free wireless for all guests in the hotel, we had to increase our output ability.

Have a wonderful holiday weekend!
Thank you,
Michelle and the entire Radisson team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here as a family for 3 nights while Househunting to relocate to the area. Loved being in the heart of the downtown area. Nice and clean hotel with a modern/contemporary feel. The room is a bit tight for a family... Not a lot of space to maneuver. I also noticed more noise than I would have liked overnight. But overall, a good, well located, clean choice for business or family travel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good morning!

I hope that you got the chance to stay in one of our larger suites but it sounds like maybe you in were in a standard room. If your trip to Kalamazoo did not result in a successful home hunt, please be sure to mention your needs for space. We will be sure to get you in the room that fits your family best!

Hopefully, you found the perfect home for you family and will just be visiting us on 'stay-cations' and relaxing nights away.


Welcome to Kalamazoo! Please let us know if we can help you with anything.

Thanks,
Michelle and all of the Radisson Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful lobby, 5star gym (unique) where the pool is big with a waterfall! Starbucks is located up the escalator, great rooms cool views, great breakfast restaurant too! Buffet is only $14 and comes with a made to order omelette bar, fresh fruit. Yogurt the whole 9 yards! The hotel also has a sports bar, steakhouse and spa!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good Morning Paul,

Coming from North Carolina, we consider you quite the expert on great views. Therefore, we are very flattered that you commented on our "great rooms, cool views". Thank you for sharing your visit with others and for letting us know what stands out to you.

Please be sure to come back and make use of the awesome group classes that our guest can join (complimentary). I promise you will work up a huge appetite and then be able to get even more enjoyment out of the awesome buffet, start off with an everything omelette made to order by Brandon and then work your way around. Did you get a chance to try the cinnamon swirl french toast?

Thank you for your visit, your time and your thoughts! We appreciate it all.

Sincerely,
Michelle and the Radisson Plaza at Downtown Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have held our Annual Convention here 3 times in the last 12 years and it is one of the best around. They have recently gone through a remodel of their rooms and meeting space. This is really a jewel in the Kalamazoo area. We have had delegates come from around the world and remark, with appreciation, about this facility. The staff is second to none and the service level always exceeds expectations. Yes...there really is a Kalamazoo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for such wonderful compliments! We love being a part of downtown Kalamazoo and all the great things that the city offers. It means a lot that you trust us to take care of your important guests and they leave the hotel with positive thoughts.

Above everything, we are pleased that you receive the service that you expect and deserve. From the moment someone joins the application process, we look for desire and passion about caring for people. It is great to know that you are seeing this in your interactions with our team and we appreciate you taking the time to share with others.

Have a happy and safe holiday season! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Michelle and the Radisson Plaza Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Address: 100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kalamazoo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#2 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Plaza Hotel & Suites of Kalamazoo-winner of the Radisson Hotel of the Year award for 2013! Our highest priority is the comfort of our guests. We deliver the highest quality in lodging, dining, shopping, fitness and spa. We want create an amazing experience and be your "10"! Please let us know how we can best host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Hotel At Kalamazoo Kalamazoo
Radisson Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Radisson
Radisson Plaza Hotel Kalamazoo Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.