We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalamazoo Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hall House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalamazoo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hall House
Save
You added Hall House to your Saves list
106 Thompson Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49006   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kalamazoo Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts across this country and in Canada. We rate this B&B among the best. For starters, the Inn is very clean and conveniently located across the street from Kalamazoo College. We did not meet David Griffith, but Cathy Griffith, the innkeeper, was extremely congenial. We found her to be a great conversationalist and helpful without being intrusive. Our breakfast, although billed as continental plus, was anything but merely continental. We enjoyed a hot entreé with fresh fruit, muffins, juice and coffee. Everything was delicious. We were even offered seconds although the first go-round had already filled us up. We have already put this on our must-return-to list and highly recommend this B&B to anyone in need of quiet and superb accommodations in Kalamazoo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
41
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have stayed 2-3x/year for the last 4 years. Kathy is a wonderful host who makes you feel welcome.

Reservations are easy, Kathy has always answered the phone and attentive to your needs. Remember there are times when things are busy at K College next door or WMU down the street, so book well in advance for those busy times.

Nice location, convenient to the colleges and downtown.

The house is beautiful and quiet. Rooms, linens and common areas spotless. Good wifi.

Breakfast is wonderful, there is usually a daily special along with lots of cold cereal, fruit, breads.

I'll miss staying here when my daughter graduates in May.

Room Tip: Talk to the host about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatfield, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were blown away by this beautiful house! You could see that no expense was spared in the building of this house in 1923, as this house is mostly original, and in wonderful repair. Add to this beautiful home some tasteful decor and genuine hospitality, and you have a "don't miss" place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful home, great innkeeper, blueberry pancakes were fantastic, innkeeper even made some without blueberries for our son. Very attentive. Room was comfortable and clean. Very friendly for our son and quiet for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our second stay at the spectacular Hall House Bed and Breakfast in Kalamazoo, and we can't wait to go back! Cathy is a delightful Innkeeper and the house itself is truly a work of art! They don't build 'em like this this anymore folks! Cathy's warm hospitality and scrumptious breakfast make this a great get away - loved it!

Room Tip: They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for a great bed & breakfast to stay at in the Kalamazoo, Michigan area I highly recommend Hall House, which is located across the street from Kalamazoo College. It is pretty centerally located to all points of interest. The Inn Keepers are very friendly and dedicated to making your stay with them most enjoyable. The breakfasts are always very good. I highly recommend the experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay here for one night in July 2012. We wished we could have stayed longer. The house is a beautiful old home--and is a national heritage site. The room was very victorian in style, large and comfortable with a queen size bed; and the bathroom had the original tiles. The sink was the largest pedestal sink I have ever seen. Cathy is a wonderful person and served us fresh fruit, home-made muffins and scrambled eggs made with peppers, potatoes and tomatoes -- it was wonderful!! We are vegetarians so this was a perfect breakfast for us. We toured a bit of the college to pass the time and since the Hall House is right across the street, it was a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall House

Address: 106 Thompson Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49006
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive city inn; A 1923 Georgian Revival home. Five tastefully appointed guest rooms. Two w/fireplace, one romantic jaccuzzi suite w/king bed and gas fireplace. All with private bath, DIRECTV, phones. Free high speed wireless access available. Smoke free. Across the street from Kalamazoo College, near Western Michigan University, downtown, theaters, restaurants, museums. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.