We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalamazoo tennis tourny stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5683 South 9th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kalamazoo tennis tourny stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Thogh Locatedjust off I-94, the room was quite. Size of the room was small but comfortable with a full size frig and a cooktop. Staff was pleasant and there were no problems checking out a day early even though the checkout time had passed. Breakfast area was clean and the food what one would expect. Beds were comfortable. Location was good with easy access to tennis sites. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
11
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kalamazoo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

the hotel was very clean, service was awesome, every one that worked there was very nice and helpful

Room Tip: the room we had was nice kitchen area, bed room plus a seprate living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at the TownePlace Suites because we were attending a graduation at the local university. We expected the prices to be increased over the graduation weekend, but instead we were pleasantly surprised when we were given a $20 discount per room per night because we were there for that very event. We stayed in a studio suite, which was very roomy and clean. The kitchen was complete with a full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave, plenty of cabinet space, and all of the basic dishes, pots, and pans. The table comfortably sat four people, which is unusual. There were two large, comfy chair and a flat screen TV in the sitting area. The beds were very comfortable, and there were two, large closets. There was a sink area outside of the bathroom, so that someone could shower and get ready at the same time. The only thing that was a bit odd about the room was the full-length mirror on the wall directly across from the toilet in the bathroom - slightly akward!! The rooms were not yet wireless, but there was a wired port, and wireless internet was coming soon. Continental breakfast was served, offering a good variety of food. There was also a fitness area and indoor pool. All in all, TownePlace Suites was a very comfortable, homey place to stay at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed there for a weekend. Had a spacious, clean room. The do-it-yourself breakfast is minimal but sufficient - cold cereal and juice, muffins and toast available, and some microwaveable sandwiches in the fridge. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, no complaints. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here in January 2012 for a few days. Hotel is very clean and maintained, rooms are very cozy, but furniture is very worn down and could be replaced. Housekeeping is very warming and friendly but only a couple housekeepers were, other housekeepers were hard to interact with and understand. Management was very cold and not friendly, even though they might of been helpful, they were not friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Sara M,

I’m Gary, General Manager at this hotel. I would like to thank you for offering this feedback about your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that you did not receive exceptional customer service during your stay; I assure you this is not the norm. We strive for our staff to be courteous to all and this concern will be discussed with our staff. Thank you for complimenting the cleanliness of our rooms, housekeeping takes pride in their work and we appreciate you noticing. I hope that you’ll stay with us on your next visit so we can make this up to you. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel at (269) 353-1500.

Sincerely,
Gary Sabbagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on a recent trip to Kalamazoo. We normally stay at one of the hotels at 1-94 & Portage Rd or I-94 & Cork St., all of which are getting a little threadbare. Based on the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to try the TownePlace Suites. The hotel is clean and well maintained. We stayed in a King Suite which was more than adequate for us. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard fare - bagels, cereal, fruit, etc. No problem there but they close it at 9 am on both weekdays and weekends which is too early. There was a boys hockey tournament in Kalamazoo over the weekend so there were kids everywhere running up and down the halls - very noisy. Management stuck me as cold and impersonal. Overall, I'd rate the hotel as adequate, but nothing special or memorable.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

So I stayed here on a business trip once before and was satisfied so I made a return trip only to find that their standards have gone downhill.

Poor housekeeping - hairs all over the bathroom

Maintenance in need - both the tub and the sink were backed up and took forever to drain, ever heard of Drano??? or Liquid Plumber???!!! How does someone in housekeeping not notice this? Also the water feels very slimy as if they need to add water softener. Anyone who regularly works in housekeeping should notice this if they're actually doing their job - which they're NOT!

Amenities - No wireless internet in the rooms.

Overall - still a newer hotel than the other Marriott properties in Kalamazoo but very disappointing, next time I will stay in Grand Rapids and do the daily drive to my meetings.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo

Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Kalamazoo Hotel
Towneplace Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Address: 5683 South 9th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott offers extended stay travelers a comfortable home away from home, with features like full stainless kitchens, seperate bedrooms, 24 hour exercise facilities , 24 hour convenience mart, the Marriott Bed package, indoor heated pool, and deluxe continental breakfast. We are right on interstate 1-94 at exit 72 on the west side of Kalamazoo and recently opened 10/07. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.