We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here often” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Burdicks Bar and Grill

Old Burdicks Bar and Grill
100 West Michigan Ave., Kalamazoo, MI 49007
269-226-3192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Burdicks Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 291 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rose St.
Transit: Old Burdick"s is 1 block from the bus and train station.
Description: Old Burdick's Bar & Grill has been a downtown Kalamazoo institution since 1991. There are also Old Burdick's in Holiday Inn West and the Icehouse at Wings Stadium. All three restaurant locations feature the best sandwiches, burgers, salads and entrees, as well as a great selection of cocktails, wines and beers.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Go here often”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We like this place and it is always hopping with lots of activity. Sitting at the bar to eat is great, or just one of the tables is also fine. Great service and excellent staff with good food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    41
    26
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paw Paw, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Waiter kept my coin change”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My bill was $11.44, but the waiter kept the $0.56 cents and gave me back $9.00. A similar event took place for others in our group. I called to talk to manager once I got home, but the man answering the phone, said the manager was busy, and could he help? Dave, the man on the phone, could only assume the change was part of his tip.

I can only assume that:
1) I will probably NOT be visiting Burdicks again.
2) Not returning all of my change is STEALING.
3) $ 2.79 is a bit much for a cup of coffee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa a, Manager at Old Burdicks Bar and Grill, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Good Afternoon Wappaw173,

I wanted to apologize for the recent experience you had at our restaurant. What you've described is completely unacceptable, and I'm very sorry about this. Please contact me at atipton@ghgkz.com so we can further discuss this situation, and what we can do to make it right.

Again, I am very sorry and look forward to hearing from you.

Thank You,

Alex Tipton
Old Burdick's
Restaurant Supervisor

atipton@ghgkz.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“quite decent... not easy to find... bowling alley restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were told this place was a decent place to grab a casual dinner. It is decent... broad range menu and the food and service is good... not great.. but good.

Reccomend going with your favorite burger... those in our party that order burgers were happy with their food choice.. those that ordered other items wished they had ordered burgers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Best Burger Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Busy down town restuarant, great burgers and finger food with fun drinks. Great party atmoshere and friendly staff

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“fun sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Huge screens take up an entire wall and display current sports events. The music isn't too loud and solo diners are as welcome as rowdy groups. The menu is typical burgers and chili con carne and nachos etc, dieters beware! But everything I had was fresh and tasty - including the edamame beans I'd ordered for myself to much sneering and the whole group ended up polishing off - moreish AND healthy! I'm told the fish and chips and the pulled pork sandwich are very good too. The atmosphere is convival but not too loud early in the evening outside of major sports events. Prices are very reasonable and service is good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Burdicks Bar and Grill also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Old Burdicks Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Burdicks Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.