We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first choice for future stays...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Kalamazoo

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Warren, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not my first choice for future stays...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

To qualify myself, I travel frequently for business, and stay in hotel rooms about 1/3 of the nights per year. My company booked me into this hotel out of default, because the normal hotel I stay at was booked up. My first impression was that this hotel is in a more run down part of town. There were some little oddities that I encountered here that I have never seen before that put me on edge. The type of things that if you live a large portion of your nights in hotels like I do, raised my eyebrows and made me go, "hmmmmm?". It is apparent that there is enough of an indigent problem in the area that they have to post "No Public Bathroom" signs on the front door (I have NEVER seen this at a nice hotel before), and they lock up the breakfast area to keep people from wandering in, presumably to forage for food, so if you need cutlery for anything, you have to take it out of a "pencil holder" at the front desk.

Another anomaly was the fact I had to put a "parking pass" (like if you were camping) on the dash of my car. I have never seen that before either. Troubles with unauthorized people parking in the lot?

If you are traveling for business and need a reliable internet connection, this is NOT the hotel for you. The wifi is TERRIBLE! It goes up and down every minute or two. Every time you log into the "free" wifi, you are either presented with a 30 second commercial or an online survey. If you do not click the right response, you are not taken to the Internet, but you are made to have to sit through ANOTHER commercial in most cases. With the net going up and down and up and down, you can expect to see a LOT of commercials on their "free" wifi.

When I complained at the desk, the response was "yeah, that's our internet. I can get you a network cable to wire in, though". I told him that did me no good with an iPad. I finally did get a CAT6 patch cable out of my car and hooked my laptop up. Their wired network is just as bad as their wifi, Good luck if you want to watch anything on NetFlix on any of your devices!

On the positive side, the room was sufficiently clean, and in good repair. The hallways and lobby are also in good condition. There is coffee available in the lobby almost all of the time. The staff seems pleasant enough. The breakfast in the morning is OK. The same basic stuff served by all mediocre hotel chains.

One other minor complaint... I have back problems and like to soak it in a hot tub for pain relief. The tubs are TINY...not even wide enough to accommodate the breadth of my shoulders. I am 6'2", 250lbs... not a giant, but a big ol' strapping farm boy. If I cannot fit, someone of considerable size would never make it in and out of the tub.

I guess It is an OK place to stay if you just need a bed for the night, and nothing else is available but I would not use it as a destination getaway. Like I said, the questionable neighborhood was enough to make me pause, since I have had my car broken into at hotels in MUCH nicer areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
8
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SUDBURY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed two nights while visiting the University. It is in close proximity to the University which is helpful but the area is fairly sketchy and we did not feel safe walking around.
We had no issues with the staff and they were helpful directing us to where we needed to go.
Breakfast is included and we felt we paid a fair rate for the room. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but we went to the bar and grill next door and it was good.
We probably won't stay here again as we like to be able to walk around and just didn't feel comfortable doing that here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

After reading many of the reviews on this board, I had some trepidation about staying at this hotel. I was pleased, therefore, to have a very different experience. If found the hotel staff to be very friendly and accomodating. I was given a whirlpool tub room at the regular room price, as they were sold out of the latter.

The room was spacious with a refrigerator and microwave. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was nice. The WiFi was excellent throughout the hotel (ask for the pass code). As others have mentioned, this hotel has a very nice sports bar (Up and Under) next door and a lovely Italian restaurant across the street. There were other places within easy walking distance to eat and a convenience store a block or so away to buy some things to stock the refrigerator.

The included breakfast was nice each morning with a nice mix of breads, sausage, bacon, scrambled egg patties, yogurt, and the like. It was a nice way to start each morning.

Overall, I had a very nice experience at a very good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

When my husband booked this hotel for his weekend business trip I was quite hesitant to tag along after reading the prior reviews. We were also bringing our 1 year old son with us.

The young gentleman who checked us in was pleasant. We had no issues with the staff. The elevator was out of service for a few hours that day and the young gentleman actually offered to help my husband and I with our son's stroller up the stairs. Our room was your average Comfort Inn room and true to the pictures on the website. The room was clean. It was spacious and the microwave came in handy for warming bottles. The crib we requested was already set up in the room with a clean crib sheet. I appreciated this since I have had problems at other hotels in the past with having the crib delivered.

When parking in the hotel lot you must put a piece of paper in your car windshield that the hotel staff gives you otherwise you may get towed. The hotel is near train tracks. I only heard one train in the early evening hours. The hotel is quite a few blocks from the Kalamazoo mall area but there are a few restaurants within walking distance.

The only complaint I have is that the toilet doesn't have a toilet seat cover. I had to keep the bathroom door shut the entire time I was in the room with my son so he wouldn't put his hands in the toilet.

I did smell smoke at one point while we were in our room. We are non-smokers. I remembered the prior reviews regarding the smoking charges. We did not encounter a problem with this.

A continental breakfast is served in the morning. Juice, coffee, cereal, eggs, sausage, muffins, yogurt and make your waffles were available. It's nothing special taste wise but it was convenient.

No pool but it does have an exercise room with a few machines.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel is run by the worst customer service that I have ever experienced in my life. I was overcharged for my room, which according to the reviews here is not the first time. My room was $166, I was charged $174 plus another charge of $150. I called and spoke to Whitney, she said it was a mistake and that she would correct it. Instead, she charged me $150 TWO more times. This makes $624 that they have tied up from my account which then caused NSF fees from my bank. When I called to point this out and to get some restitution, Whitney was EXTREMELY rude and said the additional charges were for smoking in the room which I did not do. She insists that I did, I insist I did not, so she told me I had to call the NEXT day to talk to the GM. When I finally got Janice, the GM, on the phone, I can see where Whitney got her deplorable customer service training. The GM Janice was even more rude, completely condescending, called me a "liar" over the smoking accusation, told me to "stop speaking before I hang up" and that if indeed they had made an error "then that's what you get for smoking in my room."

I have never had such poor customer service in my life. I called the Choice Hotels Customer Relations and they were just as much of a joke; they cant do anything but refer the complaint back to the hotel GM - and if that is not good enough for you and you want to go above the GM then you need to contact the city Chamber of Commerce to find out who owns the hotel because Customer Relations doesn't know! And this was a Choice Hotels Customer Relations SUPERVISOR telling me this! Are your serious!?

As of right now, two of the $150 charges have been returned but GM Janice refuses to drop the third $150 charge, refuses to pay me the $62 dollars in NSF fees that I incurred from THEIR mistake, and refuses to comp my room cost for all of the trouble that this has been for me. I had better customer services at the Burger King across the street. I gave it a 1 out of 5 only because I cant score this place any lower.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book somewhere else. The Customer Service here is beyond deplorable and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

About 6 blocks from downtown with easy access. Also near Western Michigan University. We stayed overnight because we were seeing a Broadway show at Miller Auditorium. Sports bar next door and a good Italian restaurant across the street. Hotel is in an older neighborhood. No pool, but an exercise room if you want to work out. Great breakfast with waffles, eggs, sausage and bacon plus a big variety of cold items. Food was restocked as needed. Rooms clean. Staff friendly. Had everything we needed for a one night get away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Checked out of a disgusting hotel and went to this Comfort Inn. There was only one room available and we grabbed it. Staff was very friendly, hotel clean and comfortable and they have a great continental breakfast. If you are ever in Kalamazoo, pay the extra money and stay there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kalamazoo

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo Hotel
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Comfort Inn
Address: 739 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Kalamazoo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kalamazoo's central business district, the Comfort Inn® hotel is within walking distance of Kalamazoo College. This Kalamazoo hotel is minutes from Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, the Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Waldo Stadium and the Kalamazoo Civic Theatre.Additional nearby points of interest include:•Gilmore Car Museum•Wings Stadium•Air Zoo•Timber Ridge ski area•Binder Park ZooSeveral golf courses are minutes away. The hotel is just seconds from many shops, restaurants, parks and entertainment options.The hotel has the ideal location for college visits, business or for experiencing the fun of Kalamazoo's legendary festivals. Beautiful downtown Kalamazoo and all its charm are just steps from the hotel.Guests of this Kalamazoo hotel will enjoy amenities and features like:•Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms•Free local calls•Exercise roomYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms have coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, hair dryers and cable television. In addition, some rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.The perfect location, excellent accommodations and affordable rates make the Comfort Inn hotel ideal for business and leisure travelers. Make us your home away from home when visiting the Kalamazoo area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.