We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Kalamazoo

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Downtown but off of "Downtown" by a few blocks. Limited parking on site could be a problem for some. Rooms were typical Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
12
7
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed there during the Medieval Congress. Walking distance to campus, also good for downtown Kalamazoo. A colleague and I had no problems with our reservations, but other people in the queue had, their reservation was lost, although they produced the printout of the acknowledged booking. Room large, basic bathroom, beds and desk ok, breakfast inlcudied, again, ok, especially of you like waffles. Good basic accomodation, good value for money. But: One day no roomservice, very inefficient staff at reception.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airforce One
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

As a paralysied vet in a manual wheelchair I need often help.
This hotel took my reservation and then cancelled upon check in @ 11pm per Owner because
I had asked for common sense additions be made for the handicap room #123 a few weeks earlier.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010 via mobile

My brother stops in Kazoo, always stays at the Comfort Inn. He gets around in a wheelchair, so he knows a handicapper room when he sees one. He readily points out flaws in accomodations: everything is designed with able bodied people in mind.
1.Bed too high to transfer onto easily. 2. CHEAP rickety aluminum shower chair. 3. No soap dish. 4. Shower hose too short to rinse his groin. Handicappers deserve better! So, on Oct.10th, we roll up to the Comfort Inn. The timid girl at the counter eventually tells us: my boss called me and said not to rent a room to you "because you complain too much". So we wheeled to the Radisson: read: payed 183bucks, instead of 107. OUCH.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Was in town for Western's Homecoming, receptionist screamed at us to shut up the moment we walked into the lobby. We made some noise on our way to our room, at which point she screamed to the entire floor "the people making all the noise are in room 317, go ahead and knock on their door to yell at them". Then she called the cops, had us escorted out. While we were in the parking lot, trying to find another hotel, she called the cops again, and made us wait next to a very busy four lane street. The response from the hotel was "she had a job to do"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in May. We signed a contract for a friends and family discount. Which, was taken away from us. We had a U.S. military discount. Again, taken away from us. We also had a Fire/Police discount. You guessed it. And on top of it all, a $30 service charge was added to all 3 of our rooms for having only one noise complaint one of our rooms. The General Manage was rude from the second we arrived, questioning to our discounts. When greeting her with a "Good Morning." Her reply, "What's so good about it?" She must have something in her contract of hire not to smile... at all. Worst customer service i've ever recieved. The burger king across the street was more polite. Never again staying at the comfort inn again.. anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed at this Comfort Inn for 3 nights, and could not have been more happy with the experience. The room was clean, the parking lot well lit. The staff ware extreamly friendly and made it a point to speak when meeting you in the hall, etc.. The continental breakfast was fresh and ready every morning.
My only comlaint is that the wi-fi had a weak signal throughout the hotel, including the lobby. Using my laptop was a painful process. Oh well...
Overall though, a very good experience and great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kalamazoo

Address: 739 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Kalamazoo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kalamazoo's central business district, the Comfort Inn® hotel is within walking distance of Kalamazoo College. This Kalamazoo hotel is minutes from Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, the Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Waldo Stadium and the Kalamazoo Civic Theatre.Additional nearby points of interest include:•Gilmore Car Museum•Wings Stadium•Air Zoo•Timber Ridge ski area•Binder Park ZooSeveral golf courses are minutes away. The hotel is just seconds from many shops, restaurants, parks and entertainment options.The hotel has the ideal location for college visits, business or for experiencing the fun of Kalamazoo's legendary festivals. Beautiful downtown Kalamazoo and all its charm are just steps from the hotel.Guests of this Kalamazoo hotel will enjoy amenities and features like:•Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms•Free local calls•Exercise roomYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms have coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, hair dryers and cable television. In addition, some rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.The perfect location, excellent accommodations and affordable rates make the Comfort Inn hotel ideal for business and leisure travelers. Make us your home away from home when visiting the Kalamazoo area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.