We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Food Dance Cafe

Food Dance Cafe
401 E Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
(269) 382-1888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Food Dance Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 291 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pitcher St.
Description: For 20 years, Food Dance has been committed to building a thriving and sustainable local food system. We support artisans who practice craft food processes that have been around for generations-growing, raising, preserving, curing, aging, pickling, butchering and more. For Food Dance, it's about the connection with the people and places their food comes from-authentic people and authentic food that's true to its source. Serving breakfast, lunch or dinner-guests are served the freshest menu items in a casual and welcoming atmosphere. We offer private dining space for celebrations or larger groups as well as catering and delivery. We host cooking classes and special dinners throughout the year - aimed to introduce guests to new elements of the culinary and agricultural worlds. Our on-site market offers amazing ingredients sourced from their family of purveyors-from sustainable, humanely raised meats, sausages and artisan cheeses to fresh baked bread, pastries and savory baked goods.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
“below expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to this "farm to table" restaurant, and were completely underwhelmed by the fare offered. The prices were extremely high, and the food wasn't anything special. So disappointing.

And the service was terrible.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    76
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Trendy food, comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food Dance is an upscale bar/restaurant cafe that enjoys being up-to-date and fashionable--you go here for something a little different. It bills itself as emphasizing fresh and local items without calling itself "farm-to-table." I was here for dinner with a group, and I notice many of the reviews emphasize its great breakfasts, so I can't comment on that--just dinner.Does it live up to its billing? The atmosphere is attractive--a nicely restored old building with period wood interiors but a hip, contemporary feel. Everyone in our group enjoyed the food--tasty and properly cooked. A few warnings, though: "fresh and local" isn't exactly accurate when ocean seafood figures prominently on the menu, and most of the vegetables were (locally) out of season. There;s more than a touch of pretension in the air, with such accompaniments as "forbidden rice" and "wintered spinach" (say what?), though we found them humorous. Not all the accompaniments listed in the menu description actually arrive, and some shouldn't--something called "smashed broccoli" was in fact overcooked mush. So take it with a grain of salt--make that a bucket, we all noticed the food was unusually salty. Portions are uneven--mine was huge, others were decent though more modest. Enough criticism, though--as I said, we all enjoyed our entrees, ranging from fish, to pasta to chicken, and all in all, it was a very pleasant evening--and the addition of some humor, intended or not, wasn't a bad thing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh, local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food Dance is my absolute favorite restaurant for breakfast or lunch in Kalamazoo. It has an emphasis on locally sourced food, and the menu changes seasonally. It's a little pricier, but it's definitely worth it. The atmosphere is terrific, and the murals on the walls add great focal points.

Everything that I have ever had at Food Dance was delicious. I am getting married in a month, and they are doing a custom order for me to have three of their cakes as wedding cakes. Their professional staff are very courteous and wonderful to work with, as well as their waitstaff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natethegreat
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have eaten at Food Dance several times and have never been disappointed. They are very organic and healthy in their cooking and everything tastes incredible. They have a full bar and their service is great. They are on the pricier side for Kalamazoo restaurants but you should expect to pay for quality like this. I would suggest this for anyone who appreciates good food and is looking to eat in the downtown Kalamazoo area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, rather pricey though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good local and some organic options, love that they have seasonal menus and regularly change it up. Wanted to have my birthday dinner here, but was not very impressed with the choices that evening. Ended up with a $20 pasta dish as to not blow my boyfriends budget on something more costly.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Dance Cafe also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Food Dance Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food Dance Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.