We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy food presented in a gourmet style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Food Dance Cafe

Food Dance Cafe
401 E Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
(269) 382-1888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Food Dance Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 291 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pitcher St.
Description: For 20 years, Food Dance has been committed to building a thriving and sustainable local food system. We support artisans who practice craft food processes that have been around for generations-growing, raising, preserving, curing, aging, pickling, butchering and more. For Food Dance, it's about the connection with the people and places their food comes from-authentic people and authentic food that's true to its source. Serving breakfast, lunch or dinner-guests are served the freshest menu items in a casual and welcoming atmosphere. We offer private dining space for celebrations or larger groups as well as catering and delivery. We host cooking classes and special dinners throughout the year - aimed to introduce guests to new elements of the culinary and agricultural worlds. Our on-site market offers amazing ingredients sourced from their family of purveyors-from sustainable, humanely raised meats, sausages and artisan cheeses to fresh baked bread, pastries and savory baked goods.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Healthy food presented in a gourmet style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food is consistently good and fresh. The wait staff is attentive. The restaurant itself is a work of art. Great breakfast or brunch, too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    77
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“More excellence in Michigan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was a real surprise to find fantastic food in the downtown of Kalamozoo, party of four had very different meals off the menu, from salads, (the Ceaser with anchovies was great) full vegi choice and the pork chop was excellent. Help staff went out of their way to adjust and change choices to suit customers. A must for anybody visiting West Michigan. do book in advance as it is popular with the locals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh Flavors and Fun Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

FOOD DANCE provides an exceptional place for entertaining large groups, or for an intimate setting. If you like fresh, gourmet food from local suppliers (mostly) you can be sure that you will meet the best plate in downtown Kalamazoo for the wide variety of farm-to-table food served here!... I would not hesitate to go here and we have gone to FD more than a dozen times and each time it only gets better!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
1 review
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

For a college student, the price is expensive yet affordable for your swanky days. Food was excellent and wholesome (one of the few times i couldnt clean off my plate) and our server was amazing, I believe he name was Caitlyn. The hostess kept bugging us though, and that had to be the only downside. LET US EAT.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never a complaint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Each time I go to Food Dance I am even more amazed by how wonderful it is! The food is excellent and the service is fantastic. I had the chicken sandwich and the hot apple cider and they were both out of this world. The best hot cider I have ever had. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially if you are vegetarian or gluten free as their menu clearly marks which items are vegetarian or gluten free.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Dance Cafe also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Food Dance Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food Dance Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.