We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday evening stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5597 S. 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    190
    42
    11
    6
See reviews for
260
138
53
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I now ask for a handicap room because I have arthritis and using a bathroom equipped with extra bars makes my shower experience easier. We also did not need a lot of luxury, just a clean, quiet room with a good bed. We got that and more. The bathroom has a roll in shower. If you use a wheelchair (I don't) you could wheel straight into the shower. There is a padded seat as well which I used and that was a very nice luxury.
The beds were slightly softer than others I have slept in, but comfortable and I got a nice nap and night's sleep without a problem. We were on the 1st floor which I thought was going to be a problem because of noise - but the room was in the back of the motel and it was very quiet.
The decor in our room was a medium dark brown with beige accents - very restful.
The room has a very large TV with HBO for no charge. We only related to the night clerk briefly but he seemed professional and easily found our reservation.
I am giving it a 4 because the bathroom needs a shelf for personal items.
Also the lights in the room are too bright and the glare can hurt the eyes. I would suggest some sort of dimmer switch.

Room Tip: If you want a handicap room you have to call the hotel directly, but they do have 3 choices dependin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! We are pleased that you found our accessible room accommodating. They are more spacious and easier to get around in. We are currently in the process of ordering some shelving for the bathrooms, so on your next visit, it should not be a concern. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First off the hotel was very clean. It was newer and service was very good. At the time, not much selection for breakfast, but the staff stated more was to come. The room was small but efficient. I can't stress how small but efficient the room was. Maybe the wave of the future for budget travelers? No perks, but was not looking for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! Yes, we have added Jimmy Dean Sausage Biscuits, hard boiled eggs, and a waffle maker! Mmmm! Come back and see us again and try one of our spacious suites. You are sure to love the breakfast additions and a different room type!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel! It was only given two stars so we were a little skeptical. Personally, I think this hotel is more like three or three and a half stars. It's brand new with all the amenities you could ask for in a budget hotel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean and modern. The location is also great - you're right off of the highway so you can easily drive anywhere you want to go in the area. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: Book on hotels.com or call the hotel directly for a better rate. The hotel's web site gives hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! Keeping our guests happy is our number one priority. A clean and comfortable hotel is a must and our staff works very hard to keep it that way. Thanks again for the great review, and we hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND BLANC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our room was very clean and spacious. High tech radio alarm clock, and TV. Excellent lighting for reading crocheting in bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! Ensuring that each guest is 100% satisfied is very important to us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a great place to stay while visiting Kalamazoo College. The breakfast was a bit lacking in hot dishes and the use of styrofoam plates and plastic tableware was very annoying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our team is dedicated to 100% guest satisfaction and we pride ourselves on achieving just that! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the second time I stayed at this location. Great location, suburban, quiet. I used this Microtel for a stop over going and coming back from a trip out west. ALL, the staff were very accommodating friendly and helpful.I would like to thank Betty the nice lady looking after breakfast, she was very helpful and friendly and polite. This hotel is new, clean, and smoke free. I was amazed and pleased with the quality of the fixtures and most of all the bedding.The bed was comfortable and I had a great night sleep. Some of the higher end hotels I stayed in had much poorer quality sheeting and bedding. Breakfast was the usual continental hotel breakfast, but again better, and the area cleaner, than other hotels in my travels. Yes the room is a little on the small side, but for a stop over I would really rather have the quality and a good night sleep. If I had a longer stay, I would get a suite The wifi coverage was excellent, the television was great with many channels. I LOVED the widow seat. There was also complimentary laundry. This hotel surprised and amazed me most. Yes I would stay, here again, if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites Kalamazoo! Guest service is one of the many things we strive to achieve here. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, both times, and can't wait to see you again! On your next visit, try to make a little time to see some of Kalamazoo's many attractions, such as the Air or Car Museum. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo

Address: 5597 S. 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy modern comfort at an affordable rate at the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham of Kalamazoo! Just off the I-94 and 131 interchange, our location is ideal for both business and leisure travelers in the Kalamazoo area. Comfortable guest rooms showcase pillowtop mattresses, in-room coffee makers, lighted work desks and flat screen HDTV's. Wake up to our expanded continental breakfast steps away from your room and connect to our free WiFi to plan your day in beautiful Kalamazoo. Lodging includes free parking, a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary guest laundry facilities, a business center as well as free calls within the continental United States. Our deluxe suite rooms offer all of the comforts of our standard rooms with the added luxury of a comfortable sleeper sofas, kitchenettes and separate areas for working and relaxing. Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham - Designed for a better hotel stay. **Handicap-accessible rooms available** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.