We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just opened! Rooms are beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5597 S. 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just opened! Rooms are beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

The staff said the hotel just opened two months ago so everything is very new. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. This is Microtel though so rooms are SMALL. Fine for sleeping and showering but it'd be cramped to share with kids or more than two adults. Not much room around the bed to move around. I think they did a nice job for the amount of space. Location is nice too- looks safe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you visit, try one of our double queen rooms, or a spacious suite! Yes, our singles may be a little small, but for the price, it's tough to beat! Thank you for your wonderful reveiw. Next time you're in Kalamazoo, stop in and ask for me, Jason. I enjoy meeting each and every one of my guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    190
    42
    11
    6
See reviews for
260
138
53
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very clean, still looks new, even though it has been a year plus since the opening. Enjoyed the LCD TV. Breakfast is limited; Cracker Barrel is within walking distance. Land use in the area is very tight, so the entrance and exit to Microtel are somewhat confusing after a long day on the road; however, it is very well marked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and actually, we are new! :) We've been open three months, and are really proud of our new home. Please come visit us on your next trip through town. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Not much to say but the experience was very positive. We forgot a razor and a toothbrush and they were able to give us replacements for free. The facility was clean and so was the room. The breakfast on Thursday was limited to a selection of cold foods and cereals but was very nice. Interesting that they offer use of laundry facility too. Only glitch was they forgot to program the phone so I was scrambling to get it working to dial in for a meeting at work but it all worked out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, although I sincerely apologize for the issue with your phone. I will certainly relay to my staff how imperative it is that they not forget to do that upon check in. We work on a daily basis to ensure that every guest's needs are fully met. Thank you again, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a new microtel inn so it is in tip top shape. Nice LCD TV's and everything clean to perfection. Our stay consisted of only one night which was disappointing because I could have slept in that comfortable bed for a week. The bonus is there is a Cracker Barrel right beside of it! These rooms are so clean and nice you don't want to mess anything up. This place is a deal and I would stay here again if passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, Kalamazoo! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our entire team has worked very hard to make this a clean, comfortable place to stay. We will continue this effort so it is just as nice on your return visit! Enjoy the rest of your summer, and come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I have never stayed in a Microtel before but the positive reviews in Trip Advisor encouraged us to give this place a try. This is a new facility and is sparkling clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit spare but very comfortable with nice linens and a large, flat-screen TV. The breakfast offerings were perhaps a bit more limited than some other places but what was there was of good quality -- my wife appreciated having real cream available for her coffee and I liked having the pre-made breakfast sandwiches available rather than the crock-pot mystery eggs offered in many similar places. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn & Suites, Kalamazoo! We are very happy that you and your wife enjoyed your stay. We hope you had time to enjoy some of the many great attractions in our town, and welcome you to visit us again anytime. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just returned from Kalamazoo, MI for a soccer tournament this past weekend. After scrambling for last minute hotel reservations, we found this Microtel. So new I had a hard time find the phone number online! But I spoke to Jason, the hotel manager, who confirmed this hotel was legit and brand new, only been opened a month. Every other hotel in the area either looked like a dump online or was run down and desperately needed some renovating! We even had one family end up at the Microtel because upon arrival to the hotel they originally booked, the hotel manager was outside picking his feet - YES, picking at his feet! Anyway, more than half of our team ended up at this hotel and it was perfect. The rooms were brand new. The rooms are small, but perfect for sports tournaments, where you don't spend much time at hotel anyway. There are only 2 small downsides I have: first, there are no king beds in the hotel, only single queen or double queen. BUT, there was a cute cushion area by the window which was the perfect size for my 7 yr old to sleep on and she got a kick out of being able to sleep there. So if you have small children, it is great! Other downside is there is no pool. That would have been nice. (Maybe it is in the budget for next year!) They have free continental breakfast, free wifi AND FREE LAUNDRY!! Although there was only one washer/dryer unit for entire hotel on 2nd flr, it was still nice to have playing 2-3 games a day in the heat and being able to wash uniforms in between games. The hotel even provides the laundry soap!! Amazing! I have to say, I normally don't fill out things like this, but I definitely think they've earned a great rating for their first month open! Please keep up the property so it always looks this good (and doesn't look like your competition) and we definitely plan to be back next year if we are at the KISS tournament! Thank you so much for a great stay!

Room Tip: Everything was excellent! But if you want to be close to the washing machine, stay on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn & Suites, Kalamazoo! Thank you so much for review. My entire staff takes great pride in the hard work and dedication they put forth to clean, organize, and open this brand new property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will definitely keep working hard so we are just as nice for your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsville, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Seen this hotel advertised on a billboard heading east on the interstate and since I had stayed at microtels before decided that is where we would stop...boy, was I ever impressed!! Was so easy to find as was straight ahead from the off ramp, and looked brand new or totally renovated...one or the other. I could still smell the paint when I walked inside to see if there was anything available. Very affordable, beautifully decorated, gorgeous rooms and bathrooms. Great wi fi access that is free and had better speed and consistency than any other hotel I have been to that offered wi fi...was even better than hotels where I had PAID for the wi fi!! Great lighhting options in the room, some of the nicest towels and linens that I have come across in hotels in a long time. Loved the free breakfast offered in the morning and definitely appreciated that before heading out for many more hours of driving. Location was also great for supper the night before as there is a cracker barrel in short walking distance right behind the hotel. The staff was great too, as we were in contact with the girl at the front desk as well as the lady looking after the breakfast...very friendly and helpful. The place is spotless. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn & Suites, Kalamazoo! We opened May eighth after several months of hard work and long hours. The brand new staff became a close family during the opening process, working as a team on whatever challenge was presented. This clearly shows in their outgoing personalities and eagerness to be helpful. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo

Address: 5597 S. 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy modern comfort at an affordable rate at the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham of Kalamazoo! Just off the I-94 and 131 interchange, our location is ideal for both business and leisure travelers in the Kalamazoo area. Comfortable guest rooms showcase pillowtop mattresses, in-room coffee makers, lighted work desks and flat screen HDTV's. Wake up to our expanded continental breakfast steps away from your room and connect to our free WiFi to plan your day in beautiful Kalamazoo. Lodging includes free parking, a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary guest laundry facilities, a business center as well as free calls within the continental United States. Our deluxe suite rooms offer all of the comforts of our standard rooms with the added luxury of a comfortable sleeper sofas, kitchenettes and separate areas for working and relaxing. Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham - Designed for a better hotel stay. **Handicap-accessible rooms available** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.