We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel however pool area showing wear and tear” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5059 S. 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bittersweet Ski Package
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel however pool area showing wear and tear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Room was nice and very clean. The staff was very friendly. My only complaint was the pool and whirlpool area, which had some surprising wear and tear (chipped paint and concrete - see my uploaded picture) and definitely needs some updating. I opted not to swim, which was disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Michael S,

Thank you for providing TripAdvisor with a review of our property. I am very sorry you were unable to enjoy the pool facilities while you were with us. This is an area we are looking to improve once the busy summer has passed.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay aside from the minor issues. I hope that you will visit again once we have refinished the pool and hot tub.

Thank you again and have a wonderful day!

Warm regards,

Alexis Bolser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    47
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
53
23
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our room was so clean; it made me very happy! One of the cleanest hotel rooms I have stayed in this year! Staff was friendly. The breakfast area was large and welcoming. The complementary breakfast food was typical Hampton Inn fare. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello AnnieS04,

Thank you for reviewing and recommending our hotel. It means the world to us that you took time out of your day to share your experience and would recommend us to fellow travelers! I was very excited to share your review with our housekeeping team, they work very hard and it was a treat to show them they were recognized on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Kalamazoo!

-Alexis Bosler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northern most Key - Mil-wau-key
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As a Hilton Honors member, I try to stay at Hilton properties whenever possible. That usually means I get good accommodations, but sometimes the opposite can be true. In this particular case I got outstanding accommodations. Check in was smooth, the room was large, and the hotel was clean. The complementary breakfast was excellent. I got a great value, and I will stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello eyw-mke!

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience. We are truly humbled by the title of your response. We take a lot of pride in providing our guests with a top-notch experience and it is very nice to hear such kind words from one of our loyal Hilton Honors members.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you again,

Alexis Bosler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Having been let down with our holiday rental on the 4th of July, we travelled from South Haven almost giving up hope of finding a room for the night as every place we stopped at was full. It was getting very late into the night when we pulled up at the Hampton Inn at Kalamazoo, and were told by a very friendly and helpful Bonnie at the front desk that they could sort us out a room with a roll out bed for our children. They room was spacious, clean, comfortable beds and like a gift from above given the late hour and the despair we were all feeling. After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a great complementary breakfast of porridge, fresh fruit, freshly cooked waffles and nice coffee. The children had a swim in the pool, which was an added bonus. The room rate was exceptionally reasonable given the date and the fact we had already been quoted $400 by a rival hotel. Thank you to Bonnie and the rest of the staff for their help and kindness.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Elaine F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. I am very sorry your 4th of July did not go as planned. I am very happy to hear that Bonnie was able to place you and your family here at our property. Traveling can be very stressful when things don't go as planned and at Hampton we want you to feel at home when you walk through our doors.

I hope your family was able to enjoy the holiday together and we hope to see you again if in this area!

Sincerely,

Alexis Bosler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel, I travel extensively for work and I am often moving from Hotel to Hotel, my stay here was great, the front desk was very attentive, and I absolutely loved the Fitness Center! Great location right off the highway and very easy to find! I will be staying here again for sure when I am in the Kalamazoo area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi April B!

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am very pleased to hear you enjoy staying at our hotel. We do offer corporate discount for a number of local businesses, if you're not already set up please ask for me the next time you stay. I would love a chance to make you one of our valued accounts.

Thank you again April B and have a great day!

Alexis Bosler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel lives up to Hampton standards which makes it a nice place to stay in my opinion. The room was spacious, we booked a whirlpool, which worked quite well, and we enjoyed it. The pool and whirlpool in the hotel were a nice size, but think they have a bit of a hard water problem, looked a little like sediment in the hot tub.Noise was a bit of an issue, as our room was near the pool and outdoor lounge. But that was just kids having fun, so it didn't go on for late or anything.This hotel is a bit out of the way, mind you we didn't go "foot exploring" or anything, did see a couple of restaurants/coffee shops in the area.Overall staff were helpful and friendly too!!! They went the extra mile that's for sure!!!

Room Tip: If you can get a room away from that pool area, however whirlpool rooms are on the first floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Deb1956_15,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff gave you the service you deserve as our guest. I appreciate yor kind words and look forward to sharing them with my team. We hope to see you again soon Deb1956_15!

Warm regards,

Alexis Bosler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stopped at this hotel in route to a professional motocross race with my son. We were upgraded to a studio room since it was open. Overall this is a nice clean location and my son loved the pool. We will be coming back to this location if we ever need to stay in Kalamazoo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello Allen W,

Thank you for reviewing Hampton Inn & Suites here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at our property and were able to get in some relaxation before an exciting weekend at RedBud.

I hope the event went well for your son and we look forward to hosting you again.

-Alexis Bosler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo

Address: 5059 S. 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo Hotel Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.