We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5059 S. 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very good Hampton Inn. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and quiet and the free breakfast was more than adequate. Just a short drive to the airport, Western Michigan University and downtown Kalamazoo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    43
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
44
20
6
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I like this Hampton Inn. I've stayed here a number of times over the years. I'll admit - I'm influenced by Hilton HHonors points...but I had nothing wrong at all with my stay. It's Hampton Inn..so good breakfast choices/clean room/comfortable bed/friendly front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Average Hampton Inn but with an above average price. If another hotel moves in nearby, they will need to adjust pricing or make sure they continue to make improvements to the rooms. The breakfast area has been updated and is nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were in town for a funeral. Our rooms were clean and quiet. The mattresses are SO comfortable! The breakfast was great with lots of choices - just wish it would go to 11 am instead of 10 am! Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I was upgraded to a nice sized suite with a roomy seating area, and a small kitchenette with fridge, sink, and microwave. (And thanks for the popcorn in the room!)

My room was clean, as was the entire facility. At one point I walked down to the lobby and didn't put my shoes on. When I got back to my room my white socks were still very clean. The staff was incredibly helpful and made my stay very nice. I was able to extend my stay by a night at the last minute and the housekeeping staff was polite and welcoming.

The location is great and I thought it was a pretty quiet area. I stayed on the first floor and didn't think the noise from other rooms was bad at all. The exercise room was clean and in service, but the pool was out of service while I was there (for maintenance).

My only complaint (which is probably more of a corporate issue) is the small convenience store at the property. I admit I had a craving for chocolate, but $2.50 for a candy bar and $4.50 for an ice cream bar seems like highway robbery. Please, just put in a vending machine!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites this weekend. I have a very mixed review. While the customer service, lobby, breakfast and pool were all great, the rooms were not. We checked in and our room smelled very damp/musty. We opened the window and then left. When we came back it was just as bad and we noticed a large stain on the carpet (like something had spilled and then just dried/was never cleaned up). They were very accomodating and gave us a new room. Other than the smell, both rooms appeared very clean. We were very tired and went straight to bed (after a quick bathroom/bed inspection) The next morning, we realized that the air condition was full of mouse droppings. By this time, we were already packing and checking out. So while the staff was nice and everything "appeared" clean, maybe more attention to detail is needed. For the amount we paid for a standard queen room, it wasn't worth it. If I'm going to pay $169/night, I expect more than we got. This was more like a $89/night place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn for a business trip. They have apparently just renovated their first floor and it looks clean and updated. The staff is very nice, courteous and helpful. My chief complaint is that the walls are very thin and I cannot fall asleep at night because I can hear my neighbors talking as late as 1130 pm. I called the reception and told them about the problem. The problem was fixed.
My second recommendation is for them to have microwave and a small fridge in the room. I will not come back here because other local hotels have these features and their walls are thicker.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate the feedback. I would like to let you know that our property does have rooms with microwaves and mini refrigerators. These rooms are our suites; you must selected a standard room for your stay. I do apologize that the other guests kept you up. Thank you for noticing our recent upgrades, we are excited about the change. If you choose to stay with us, we can see if you can reserve you a suite on a floor less crowded. Safe Travels.

Sincerely,
Gary Sabbagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo

Address: 5059 S. 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo Hotel Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn And Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.