We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chihuly exhibit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalamazoo Institute of Arts

Kalamazoo Institute of Arts
314 S Park St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
269-349-7775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Paw Paw, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chihuly exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was amazed at the extent of pieces which were on exhibit during this time. The pieces were displayed in a situation where you could really see every aspect and thus enjoy the workmanship. It is nice that they do have a piece in the permanent collection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Must-see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

KIA is a gem, featuring classes in all sorts of painting genres along with photography taught by experienced professionals. There's even a gift shop with wonderfully eclectic merchandise by local artisans.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Art Institute for a city of this size!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The art institute always has something - a program, an exhibit, great classes - to offer its guests. The gift shop alone is a fun place to stop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a great little gem of an art collection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Place has been a great addition to my list of Art collections to show off to visitors that visit me form out of state/country! Not only does it have a great Modern permanent collection! It has Great and I mean GREAT on going visiting collections! And as for gift shops, This one ROCKS! Most Museums have crap that has nothing to do with their own collection but this one caters to on going shows along with their permanent works!
Well done KIA!!! Oh yeah, and it is Free!? But please make sure you give at least a few bucks to keep this going! Its totally worth a ten'er!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a few hours to spare before meeting some friends for dinner. The KIA was a great way to spend the afternoon. Admission to the museum is a $5 suggested donation, we were thrilled that we did not have to spend a lot. The KIA offers a lot of different art exhibits. We took our time wandering through the exhibits and we were able to see each one. I liked the atmosphere of the museum because it wasn't too crowded. It was a great place to spend the afternoon!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamazoo Institute of Arts also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Kalamazoo Institute of Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.