We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Burger Special (Tuesdays) but SLOW” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Union

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Union
125 South Kalamazoo Mall, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
(269) 384-6756
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 296 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious Burger Special (Tuesdays) but SLOW”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

On a business lunch, in the business district, one would expect faster service. When we ordered just before 1 pm in a nearly empty restaurant, it still was nearly 1:30 before our burgers arrived. They were however, DELICIOUS! My burger was tender, juicy, topped with tomato, guacamole, bacon and cheese. Not sure how it gets any better. Companions had salmon burgers which were nice slabs of salmon ~ all for the discounted price.

This is probably my 10th time eating here. This contemporary urban restaurant serves it's niche, but I wonder if they take it for granted? Our table had a SIGNIFICANT warp in the vinyl cover... to the point where we had to move our beverages for fear the iced tea would fall over. Our server was nonplussed showing no concern. Management needs to inspect the facility with a closer eye for detail.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    17
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Still love the Monterey burger. Unfortuntately I had to go to see a live play so I couldn't stay this time for the live music.

Any table is great to hear the live music as the stage is in the center.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Attentive Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fantastic, eclectic menu and well-trained, friendly servers. Check out the gumbo. It's to die for. My wife loves the barbeque and the live music just adds to the experience. A very pleasant surprise in Kalamazoo.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, but who runs the kitchen?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to The Union for dinner, and as far as the food and service go, both were good. Our server did and excellent job and we enjoyed sitting in her section very much. The brisket I had was very tender and good. The issue that arose was with the side dish. Asparagus was originally offered, and it sounded good, so I ordered that as my side, as did three others in our group. When the food came out, corn was on the side. The server was visibly disturbed by this. She had no idea that the kitchen had run out of asparagus and pulled the switch without letting anyone know or letting the customers know so they can order a different side if they wanted. We had a party of six, and four of us sent the sides back. Our server got us different sides, so she did what she could to save the situation. It wasn't her fault. The fact that the kitchen just decided what to send out is unacceptable on every level. The manager stopping by the table would have been nice. I have no idea who runs the kitchen, but the fact that they changed the orders of the patrons on their own means they are out of control. Someone need to reign this in!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Upscale Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stopped in for lunch with my daughter on her return trip from spring break. Students weren't back yet so the place wasn't busy and it gave us a chance to really look at the menu. We went with the burgers (beef and a veggie) and loved them both. Good portions, great homemade veggie burger and sides. Limited parking in the Kzoo Mall area but we'll be back for sure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Union also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to The Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.