We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch What They Charge You And Don' TakeThe Room Under The Stairway #1 Loud!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1912 East Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Watch What They Charge You And Don' TakeThe Room Under The Stairway #1 Loud!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The Best ThIng About This Hotel Was The Breakfast Food And Breakfast Room. The Pool Was Chilly The First Room Sucked...Under The Stairway Room #1 Loud!!! They Put To Much On Hold With My Bank Then Told Me One Price And Charged Me Another..Only In America :-( Not Pleased At All With The Charges But Was Happy With The Second Room They Have Us!!!! That Weekend My Grandson Took State In Wrestling That Made It Worth It All !!!!! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    15
    12
    11
See reviews for
30
8
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been updated. We had two rooms for our family of five. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable with quality linens. We were offered freshly baked cookies as we checked in. The lobby has a fireplace and two story entrance. The front desk workers were very pleasant. We did not eat breakfast at this hotel, but it looked like all the complimentary breakfasts at other hotels of this caliber (waffle station, bacon, eggs, pastries, cereals, juices, coffee). We spent some time in the evenings hanging out in the breakfast area, playing games with family. The hotel was relatively cold, but the rooms warmed up when the heat was turned up or on. With the breakfast room being away from the lobby (unlike many hotels), we were able to have some privacy. We will stay at this hotel again. One of our rooms was the very first on on the first floor, by the staircase. We could hear people coming downstairs in the morning, so if you want to sleep in, ask for a room away from the lobby area. I would say that this hotel is not as nice as Hampton Inns, but is close.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from lobby so you don't hear people tromping up and down the stairs in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good rate using Priceline. The breakfast room was cheery and clean. The pool looked inviting however the spa was not working. Internet worked . Helpful person at checking in and checking out. Room 108 was very large and could have easily accommodated a crib and rollaway if necessary

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Was in town for a funeral. From the moment we walked in to the moment of check out we had no problems. Very clean and friendly staff. Much better than our privious stay at a different country inn. Next to the airport but could not hear any noise from air plaines. Could have been in the country for lack of noise. Breakfast was very well stocked and of great quality. If in the area in the future we will stay again!

Room Tip: Right next to the airport but did not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had to stay at this hotel for work in the Kalamazoo area in August 2012. I got to my room around 6pm and the first thing I noticed beside the fact that the entire place smelled old and musty, was white crusty stains on the comforter!! I found one of the maids (rooms were still being cleaned) and showed it to her. She took the duvet cover off, but said she would ask if she could get a replacement. I walked down the hall a few minutes later and could see that as they cleaned the rooms, they did not remove the duvet covers to be washed between guests. I went out to get bleach wipes and when I returned I had a duvet cover that was not visibly dirty.
It was down hill from there:
I wiped down all counters, sinks, tables, etc. and got visible dirt from all surfaces. 2 spiders in the bathroom on the first day. Next am.: waffle maker broken, fruit was extremely old, yogurt served in a big tub with a spoon shoved in it, milk served in a jug sitting out on the counter with no ice, almost no choices for pastries--one was hostess type chocolate covered donuts which were stale!!
The final straw was the second night when a silverfish bug crawled across my foot while I was working at the desk...checked out as soon as I could get another room (the town was booked due to several events).
I spend 30-40 nights per year in hotels...this was by far the first time I was this grossed out!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fhdavidson, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
As the manager of the Country Inn and Suites, I feel compelled to respond to certain reviews posted on TripAdvisor. We strive daily to meet and exceed our guests expectations, whether it concerns product or service.

I sincerely apologize for your experience. We are, this week, with a new Housekeeping Consultant, re-training all housekeeping staff to ensure we meet and exceed expectations.

We have recently completed enhancements of both guest common areas and guest rooms, with each guestroom having new carpeting, new window treatment, new beds and bed coverings, new guest room furniture and flat screen televisions. Both our Front Desk and Housekeeping staff have undergone additional training and all have new uniforms.

Our “Be Our Guest” breakfast marks a year in existence with a greater variety of options and a rotating menu, including eggs, meats, breakfast potatoes and waffles, as well as our new HighRidge Country Reserve coffee.

Recent Guest Satisfaction Scores are among the highest we have seen in over a year.
We value guest feedback and appreciate the opportunity to address their concerns.

Most sincerely,

Franklin Davidson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here twice in the last two weeks while getting our son moved into WMU. The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was fairly decent. The front desk people are exceptional. Every one of them was so friendly and accommodating to any request we had. We did an advance purchase so got a great deal. This is a great place to stay for the value we paid.
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A decent hotel, but for the money we certainly expected more. it is showing its age, expecially in the bathroom. And it wasnt as clean as could be expected. Breakfast area was standard but not bad and the hotel is convenient to the highways. Good sized rooms though but that didnt make up for its cleanliness. Bigger rooms means there is more to clean. I think we would look elsewhere before coming back. But we wont cross it off our list.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo

Address: 1912 East Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Kalamazoo we try to provide all the comforts and conveniences of home. In-room coffee brewers, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, free wireless Internet, and a newspaper to start your day, we have all the little things you need, just right for you. All of our guests receive a Complimentary Continental Breakfast. Our breakfast offers an array of items including but not limited to hot items such as; Belgium waffles, breakfast meats, eggs, french toast, biscuits and gravy and oatmeal. We also provide a spread of served cold items that are enjoyable even while on the go. This includes; fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, muffins, doughnuts, bagels and cream cheese. Cold beverages such as juice and milk are available during breakfast hours only while hot items such as coffee and assorted teas are available to guests around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.