We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convivial bar, small plates are average-ish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bold Restaurant & Catering

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bold Restaurant & Catering
6915 West Q Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
269.375.8551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 284 restaurants in Kalamazoo
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Convivial bar, small plates are average-ish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

A busy place for a Monday night when the small plates are half-price, but the food was not really much and would be very overpriced on regular nights. However the bar was a very convivial place to have an Anchor Steam on tap and hang with people who are clearly regulars. Good place to drink, not so much to eat. I ordered Shrimp Tosada and the presentation was shrimp, cheese and lots of shredded lettuce on a tortilla. The seafood croquettes on special barely tasted of fish and were just heavy like a hushpuppy. Nothing was noteworthy tastewise. I can't figure out why this place is so popular on a Monday night. The place was packed. I won't be back to eat, but maybe to drink.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    24
    9
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattawan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We decided to try BOLD for my husband's birthday. He had the special - Antelope chops which were in a brown sauce = very tasty and tender (when we got the bill they were $45 and they weren't really worth that). I had small plates - Baked Goat Cheese -
Creamy goat cheese, six-pepper tomato sauce,fresh chives, toasted baguette and Roasted Corn & Crab Dip - Mozzarella, monterey jack, parmesan, roasted corn, chipotle peppers, lump crab, toasted baguette with a side cesar salad. The salad was wonderful. The goat chesse had more pepper sauce than goat cheese( which is what I was after) and the crab dip was so blended together that it was hard to define any corn or crab. We shared a bottle of Merlot and it was excellent. Since it was a birthday we also splurged on dessert ( my husband was still hungry after his antelope chops as the plate had no sides). I had my favorite - Crème BrÛlée Vanilla bean custard, caramelized sugar crust, whipped cream = delicious! My husband had BOLD Bananas - Banana-walnut-fudge ice cream, chocolate shell, brown sugar & rum glazed bananas, whipped cream = a very larger portion that he enjoyed. Overall we had a fine dining experience but we probably won't be back due to the price ( final bill over $126 for two) when there are other good dining options int he area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice place for dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Bold is a hard to notice, high-quality restaurant tucked away in the corner of a local shopping center. Once inside, the food makes the journey worth the discovery. The menu includes small plates and big plates, allowing you to eat tapas style or a full dinner. We combined soup, salad and a couple of small plates for an enjoyable meal. The steak & sausage flatbread is almost like a small pizza with fresh, powerful flavors. The wine menu is one of the best in the Kalamazoo area. Sometimes the enthusiastic young servers could use a little polish on their style, yet this is easily dismissed when the food arrives.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in Texas Township!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We enjoy dining out in the finest restaurants in the Kalamazoo area and we stumbled upon Bold! They have been open for about 2 years and do not advertise. Their business is built upon 'word of mouth'. They have a very nice menu of great food including some smaller items (tapas like).
The wine list is not extensive but the wines presented are very good. We went on a Wednesday when they have wine specials so we were able to enjoy a nice bottle of Pinot Noir for a good price.
The restaurant is in a 'strip mall' but once you are inside you will forget about it. It is comfortable, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.
We would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bold Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Bold Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bold Restaurant & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.