We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5425 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Gobles, Michigan
1 review
“Customer services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

MY trip to Kalamazoo was made extra fun by your wonderfull staff. The cleark named Sharon was a very pleaseant person. Answered all our questions, even where to eat and how to naviagate in the area of Kalamazoo on your one way streets. The rooms were clean and pleaseant. The rate is very good. I will stay again when I come to Kalamazoo.
Thanks for such a pleasant stay and wonderful staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our staff.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed Sharon’s hospitality and I will make sure to share your comments with her and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
42
26
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed a night at the Red Roof Inn for a event. Sharon the clerk was very helpful giving me directions on where to go to eat and how to get to the event I enjoyed talking to her. the room was clean and upgraded. I will return to this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that Sharon was able to provide for you.

We are happy that you enjoyed our upgraded rooms and the cleanliness of our product.

I will make sure to share your comments with Sharon and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My son and I were visiting WMU and arrived very late after a 3 hour drive. The clerk at the desk was very nice and super fast check in. The beds were comfortable and room very clean. The location was perfect! Less than 10 minutes from campus

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that our front desk guest service representative was able to provide for you and your son.

We are happy that you enjoyed our location and that our proximity to WMU was of value to you.

I will make sure to share your comments with my team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Craig the manager has always been very helpful, polite and friendly. The room was very clean. The property is well taken care of. I have been staying here for years and will continue to go back when I am in the area. You can't beat the price. Yes, you are allowed to bring your dog, and they also have a special potty area for them!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that Craig was able to provide for you.

We are happy that we were able to make you and your pet feel welcome. We take great pride in maintaining our rooms and grounds and we are pleased that you noticed.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival to the establishment, we were humorously greeted by Craig. He was very accommodating with directions and condolences as we were there for a funeral. Apparently there is a funeral discount and Craig was more than willing to apply that to our bill.

The room was small but functional for just an overnight sleep. We enjoyed the personalization of the housekeeper on the comment card. The shower was clean and hot, the TV, phone, and thermostat had simple directions, and the desk chair was comfortable.

Even though the premises is old, everything was modernized (with the exception of the mural in the lobby that Craig pointed out to us) The bed smelled and felt clean and he made it possible for our group to stay close in rooms.

Craig definitely made this experience memorable. Number one factor. He was warm, welcoming, and accommodating. He even brought a hair dryer to our room since I forgot mine.

Thank you Craig and Red Roof Inn for making our unfortunate stay in Kalamazoo a bit easier.

Brent and Tracy Clark

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that Craig was able to provide for you, we are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations as well. We are happy that Craig and our staff were able to make you feel welcome at such a stressful time.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was very clean We spent one night in this Red Roof, we had great service from Craig...the rooms were little small but comfortable and tastefully decorated....Even the cleaning personal where kind and attentive....much better than many other Red Roofs

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that Craig and the rest of our team was able to provide for you and your party. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be attentive to your needs.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to improve the quality of our services.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We love that Red Roof Inn allows dogs and does not charge an extra fee. The grounds were large and had lots of space for a walk. After checking the reviews on TripAdvisor, we a superior king room and found it acceptable, but nothing special. The pillows and sheets had some brown staining on them, as did the floor of the shower area. Our biggest complaint, however, is that the walls were very thin! At 6:00 am, we could hear the alarm clock of the next room, as well as whatever they were watching on TV the night before. But for under $60 you can't really complain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy that you and you pets enjoyed our grounds and our pet policy in general. We pride ourselves in being pet friendly and we are very pleased when we receive positive feedback.

I will make sure to share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.