We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Value, Tremendously Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5425 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coopersburg PA USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb Value, Tremendously Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Just a note, to say that I've stayed often (most recently, about 20 days over the past 5 months) at this Red Roof, and have not only gotten terrific value (room: spotlessly clean; good furnishings and equipment) -- but the best part is the staff: Real People! Universally friendly and helpful. Professional, and more friendly and polite than the staff I have constantly encountered in my vast traveling experience in staying in hotels up to many times the price of Red Roof.

Especially halpfull to me with various travel issues is a man named CRAIG, often
researching travel-related questions that I have. Thanks, especially, Craig!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the quality of our rooms.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Your comments about our hospitality were much appreciated as we strive to make our guests feel at home.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    69
    16
    10
    14
See reviews for
58
31
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great place, convenient to my destination. Plenty of restaurants in the vicinity; close to Western Michigan University. Wi-Fi in each room is a great amenity.
Craig H. is always friendly and personable, interested in our comfort and well-being. Reservations are easy to come by, and they have given me the accommodations I request.

Room Tip: Ground floor is my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have been staying at this property for many years---I keep coming back because of the excellent helpful staff-like Craig, great wi-fi, convenience to highway and good night's sleep! A resonably priced good hotel is out there and this is it!

Room Tip: ask for quiet room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your gracious comments regarding your stay at the Kalamazoo West Red Roof Inn.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of the team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service.

Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I initially booked a room with motel 6 off of sprinkle road... (never stay there, it was horendously filthy, smelled, poop on the front door mat, huge gap in door where the dead bolt was crackerd, tv was bad with static, and there wifi didn't work at All)...

I changed my reservation to red roof inn Kalamazoo west, and for $5.00 more then what I paid at motel 6 I got piece of mind, clean spacious room, smelled good, clean shower, friendly service at the front desk, friendly maid, and clean walk ways and all around I felt safe...

After all the taxes were added my nightly stay for a night was ($56.52) believe me that's a steal... Love it love it love it... Trust me it is worth staying here... I will every time I am in town!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Kalamazoo West Red Roof Inn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our rooms.

Feedback from our guest is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service.

Thank you again for being our guest and for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The staff were very friendly. The room was clean, with plenty of room. The bathroom was small, but functional. The beds were okay, and the bedding was clean, even though there were a few stains on it. The mattresses were not the best I've slept on, but they weren't the worst either. We were just looking for a room to sleep in, and it fulfilled our needs. I would stay here again, should I be in the area. Be sure to let them know if you don't use the safe, as there is an automatic charge for it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Great place for quiet, ease of access to major highway, across from a fitness club, restaurants not too far away. Good internet and TV availability, friendly staff, clean room/bathroom with decent temperature control, felt safe with deadbolt lock. Thank you!

Room Tip: Second floor, away from highway, although still quiet everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creve Coeur, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My fiance and I travel to the Kalamazoo area every couple of months, and this hotel has never disappointed us. The room is always clean, free of odors, and quiet. It is in a good location with very little noise and not seedy in the least bit, in my opinion. While there is no free breakfast, there is a great little diner, Rykse's, about 2 blocks away. The internet connection and TV work fine, at least every time I have stayed here. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in the Kalamazoo area. Great price, great employees, and overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#6 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.