We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 East Cork Street, I-94 to Sprinkle Rd (Exit 80), Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our first room smelled like a dingy ashtray and second was only slightly better with cigarette burns and stains on the bathtub and wastebaskets. No breakfast although restaurants nearby were available. The whole place looked dingy and in need of an upgrade but you get what you pay for- a sorta half decent room, bed, wifi and air conditioner.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the rooms first and insist on a clean and well maintained room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLynnWard, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I would like to apologize for the experience that you had at our inn. We are working hard in an attempt to upgrade our rooms and facility. We try to exceed our guests expectations, and I am sorry if we failed to do so.

Feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated as we continually strive for improvement.


I hope that you might allow us to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    13
    10
    14
See reviews for
20
12
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kalamazoo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wow what a simple and clean place! My family was here for a funeral and I needed great rooms and a great price. I checked out several places(physically) can't be too careful! Red Roof gave me a great price for really great rooms, not fancy, but clean and fresh. I booked 3 rooms for my family, the only complaint was there was no iron in the rooms.

Room Tip: always ask friends and family about places they have stayed more than once
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLynnWard, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that we were able to provide for you.

I will make sure to share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome, and our staff looks forward to hearing from our guests.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I always hope that I reach Chelsea on the phone when I make my reservation. She projects optimism and has a great memory as she makes sure my accommodations match my needs.

The staff all know me, and its great to feel that you're welcome back each time.

It is convenient to move your belongings in and out of this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLynnWard, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for posting this review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your comments with Chelsea; I know that she will be pleased to hear that you appreciate her hospitality. Feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated as we continually strive for improvement.

Thank you for being a loyal guest and we look forward to seeing you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've stayed at this Red Roof annually for several years, when attending a nearby event. It's getting a little more seedy every year.
Back in early January I had reserved an accessible room for my May stay, as it was essential to have a ground floor room (knee injury). When I checked in I was assigned a second floor room. Fortunately this was changed when I told her I HAD to have a ground floor room, and showed my reservation printout, which plainly indicated my reservation for an accessible room, made nearly five months earlier. I still wanted an accessible room, but was told there were none available.
The air conditioner was not working properly when I checked in, and after several staff looked at it, I was told to report it if it still was not good in the morning. Of course it was not. I reported it, and was told it'd be fixed while I was away for the day. When I returned at the end of the day it wasn't even on. I turned it on and went out to dinner. When I came back it was off again, and I couldn't get it to come on this time. Called front desk again, the woman came down and removed the casing and pushed a button and it worked. Why couldn't anybody else figure this out for the first 24 hours? The first night, one staff member even suggested I put a gate across the doorway and leave my door open!
There are water stains on the walls and the door had a lot of marks on it, like somebody tried to kick it in once or something.
There seem to be a lot of long-term people living there.
The bed was never made, which is a pet peeve of mine.
On the plus side, the staff were all very nice, and this is an excellent location for my event, and there is a lot of nice grassy area to walk dogs.
I just wish they'd put a little money into spucing the place up a little, and replace those old air conditioners, which one of the staff did comment need replacing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLynnWard, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I would like to apologize for the experience that you had at our inn. We are working hard in an attempt to upgrade our rooms and facility. We try to exceed our guests expectations, and I am sorry if we failed to do so.

We appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to share your comments with my staff.

I hope that you might allow us to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Good location. Very worn. Lots of pets and families with small kids. Very noisy for a day sleeper. Room needs complete update, smelled like wet dog. Bed was clean although it needs a new mattress. Overall cleanliness was pretty good but overshadowed by worn carpet and fixtures. Water was not very hot. Skimpy towels but I guess you could ask for more. Bottom line is its a dated Red Roof with a friendly staff and good location off I-94.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLynnWard, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I would like to apologize for the condition of the room, please know that we are working hard in an attempt to upgrade our rooms and we appreciate your feedback on this matter. We appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to share your comments with my staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 1 night and that was enough, people right out in front of my window throwing F bombs right and left from 9:00pm untill midnight. You would think the saff would call the police of at least say something to the morons acting like idiot tuff guy Oh, I almost forgot, earlier in the day some guy came right up to me and wanted to buy a smoke and wouldn't go away for 10 minutes or so telling us his life story then came back later and wanted a ride to the bar, can you believe this? I was booked for 2 days but I checked out first thing in the morning. I told the person at the front desk about my redroof adventure and she replied have a nice day!! Way to loud, dirty rooms and poor staff!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLynnWard, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to apologize for the experience that you had at our inn. The safety and security of our guest is very important to us and if you felt uncomfortable in any way, I am extremely sorry.

We appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to share your comments with my staff. We try to exceed our guests expectations, and I am sorry that we were unable to do so in your case. I hope that you might allow us to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Writying this review for team member craig. Very nice room, staff is very friendly as well, night staff included. I normally stay in business king room and is always kept nice. Once in a while some idiot will be smoking in the room the night before and you can tell but housekeepers do good job overall. Stayed in a 2 bed room for about 6 weeks for a job and the experience was very good overall. thanks craig!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLynnWard, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for posting this review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig; I know that he will be pleased to hear that you appreciate his hospitality. We are very happy that you enjoyed your room as well.

Feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated as we continually strive for improvement.

Thank you for being a loyal guest and we look forward to seeing you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
7.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
#5 of 32 in Kalamazoo
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites - Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East

Address: 3701 East Cork Street, I-94 to Sprinkle Rd (Exit 80), Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4611
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.