We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have made some nice improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3630 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Have made some nice improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at this holiday inn express for business , 2 nights . It's been over a year since I visited this location. I was pleasantly surprised with the new carpet and furniture in rooms. Bathroom had new fixtures and lighting which was a complaint before. Breakfast was ok, typical for HIX. People were friendly and gave a complimentary up grade room for gold member status which was a nice amenitiy. Close to shops and restaurants , would recommend and will come again !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our improvements of our property. We appreciate your loyalty as a Gold Priority Club Member and being a returning guest, we look forward to having you back the next time you are in Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
13
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temperance, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed the recent 2 nights in the hotel. The room was particularly quiet, roomy and comfortable. The service was attentive and efficient. The free breakfast was largely similar to all others of the same type and quite acceptable. The road in was somewhat hard to find but turned out to be quite worth the hunt. The resturant accross the parking lot was, as recommended by the staff, quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank You kindly for your review, we are pleased to hear that it was worth the hunt. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again the next time you are in Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is not bad but overpriced for what you get.
The room was clean, but the beds were so low that I felt like a giant (@ 5'6"). They weren't all that comfortable either.
My biggest complaint is breakfast. First, it ends at 9:30 on a Sunday which I find ridiculously early. Second, when we went down at 9:00 almost everything was empty. After waiting quite a while, only a few things were replenished. It was a big disappointment.
The location was perfect since we were going to Wings Stadium, but next time we will try a different hotel in that area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We do apologize about your last stay with us and have submitted your review to management, we are considering modifying our breakfast times on the weekends. We do hope you will give us another try next time you are in Kalamazoo and Thank you sincerely for your feedback it has been taken into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel right after a major snow storm, but had no trouble with area roads or the parking lot. The third floor room was roomy and very clean, with good water pressure and temperature. We could hear the highway noises (just the trucks), but it was very faint and didn't bother us at all. The front desk clerk was very friendly when we checked in. The breakfast buffet the next morning was great (especially the cinnamon rolls!), and the area was kept clean and filled. Our child loved the fresh pancakes, and I enjoyed the large windows over-looking the clean, fresh snow. The sun coming in was refreshing in February! Check out was quick and friendly. We would stay here again when in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are pleased to know we could accommodate you and your family so comfortably, that is our goal. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay, our staff and our facilites, we look forward to being able to accomodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I booked the hotel late in the day, and was not able to get a room facing away from the noisy I94 highway. My mistake; even with the heater fan on hi, I could hear the non stop traffic on the third floor. It would have been a nice stay if I was on the other side of the hotel. The staff was nice and suggested a place to eat. The breakfast area was very nice and had an above average selection.
I'll find a quieter place next time.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to compliment our staff, I do apologize we were not able to accommodate you to the opposite side of the highway. We hope next time you are in kalamazoo you will stay with us again and request opposite side of highway when booking, Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stay in Kalamazoo 2-3 times a year and tried this hotel for our latest visit. We had a nice experience from beginning to end. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly. Our room was ready early, but it was facing the highway and next to the elevator. The front desk immediately moved us to another available room - thanks, Jennifer!

The room was a good size for a family of three, clean and the water pressure good. The hotel was in the middle of switching out furniture - the 3rd floor was completely done, so no problem for us.

The indoor pool was, by far, the warmest we have experienced. The pool is small and only goes to 5 feet, but it was still great for us.

The breakfast was what you expect with HIExpress: good options, both hot and cold. The eating area was spacious and very clean.

We will stay here again on our next trip to Kalamazoo/WMU. Go Broncos!

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor, opposite side of the highway - quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review in regards to your stay with us. We are pleased to know that we were able to accommodate you so comfortably. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future, Let's hear it for WMU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed at this location several times and always receive the best service. The staff is always very friendly, and helpful...especially Angel and Abbey. The rooms are in pretty good condition for an older location. The breakfast area is always kept clean and the breakfast is good. I travel a lot for business (2 to 4 nights per week) so I stay in a lot of hotels to compare it to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Many thanks for boasting about us on TripAdvisor! The staff here really do work hard to go above and beyond for every guest every day. We take pride in what we do and your review is truly appreciated more than you may know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo

Address: 3630 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#7 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the smoke free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo. We are located off Interstate 94, exit 80 followed by a left turn onto Cork Street. We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center & Fairground, as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot'. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, one sizzling meat selection, and our trademark, mouth watering cinnamon rolls.Our spacious guest rooms feature access to our Charter Cable with over 70 channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as access to our business center.Businesses near hotel: Eatons, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, and Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers.Attractions near hotel: Battle Creek s newest attraction, The Firekeeper s Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The CrossRoads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.